We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet & friendly weekend stay”
Review of Heywood Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heywood Spa Hotel
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quiet & friendly weekend stay”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We booked in on a KGB 3 night deal, and stayed in a normal room. It was fine with small flat screen TV, and air con to take the chill out of the room. Had meals on Friday and Sunday, both were good and great value if you opt for the £22.00 deal. There was only 2 staff on and what we thought was the head waiter, was really friendly, and accomodating. My partner is a veggy, and the chef and waiter ensured her salmon dishes were top notch. She is really fussy, and to have the same meal on both nights shows how good it was! Couple of down sides, a bit far to walk to town in autumn/winter, and the bar was dead, seemed to be only a few residents using it. Saturday night was out as a wedding party took over.
Would we go back, yes if another good 3 night deal came up ,but not at full advertised price.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikonpictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    143
    51
    18
    17
See reviews for
150
364
12
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Yorks
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and myself stayed at Heywood Mount for 4 nights for my husband's 50th birthday. The staff were lovely and the food excellent. But, we upgraded to a four-poster room and this is where we were let down. The 'exclusive' toiletries that were promised were partly used when we arrived and not replaced during our stay there. The bathrobes promised with the upgrade were not existent and the bathroom had ha huge black damp patch on the ceiling. What disappointed us was that we had paid extra for a bit of luxury and did not get it. The spa was adequate when we were eventually able to use it. The pool apparently should be a constant temperature of 28 but it was no way near this. It was far too cold to even get in. On our last full day the pool eventually was warm enough to swim in and the jacuzzi was working.

Would I stay again? No, we paid ofr 4 star luxury but only got 3 star.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwendolina44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Lovely stay. Pleasant staff, great honeymoon suite - (try the whirlpool bath!) And if staying, make sure you have a meal here. Beautiful. Really made the stay. Didn't visit the Spa suite, but from what I saw it looked very adequate. On a summers day it would be a beautiful walk down into Tenby Town, where there is plenty for everyone.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

My fiance and myself stayed here for 2 nights and were very happy with everything especially the food. All the staff were warm and welcoming. We ate in the restaurant both nights and were not disappointed with anything the food was cooked to perfection and well worth £22 for 3 courses. The room was lovely very well cleaned and comfy.
The only negative thing we would say about this hotel was the state of the decor, it was nice but definitely needed redecorating, there were parts of the wall where the paper was starting to come away from the wall and in the bedroom there were marks on the wall where the door had been hitting the wall, but that was about it. On the whole it was a nice hotel and a really nice break.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We really enjoy our stays at the Heywood Mount Hotel. The whole place runs efficiently, without being too fussy. We stayed on the top floor in rooms 210 and 211 this year. Lovely big rooms with a small balcony area. The beds are huge and comfortable. The TV has the usual Freeview channels. WiFi needs a code for each device from reception. It is not the fastest browsing I have ever encountered, but it is free.

The breakfast at the hotel never disappoints. A good choice of hot meals including English Breakfast, Welsh Breakfast, fish dishes and some with bagels. No hot buffet here - all is brought fresh to the table. The staff work hard to make it an enjoyable time.

We ate in the hotel one evening too and the food was lovely, but we prefer to explore local restaurants in town.

We will be back next year no doubt!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Avery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
185 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in July and would highly recommend this hotel. The deluxe 4 poster suite was fabulous. A very decadent and impressive room, all furniture and fittings were top quality and it deserves its 4 star hotel rating. All the usual room extras including a double jacuzzi bath, large wide-screen TV and DVD (nice change from some of the portable sized TV's we've had elsewhere), fridge and bathrobes. Fab!
We love our hotel getaways, and try (when possible) to have a break once a month - this hotel is definitely the best we've stayed in this year - no contest!
Can't comment on the leisure suite as we didn't try it - tend to spend most of out time and about site-seeing when we go away obviously. but if the photos on the website are anything to go by its as lovely as the rest of the hotel.

We had a meal on the first night - amazing! As good as some fine dining places we've been to but at a fraction of the cost - if you reserve your table before 4pm its only £22 per person for a 3 course meal!!!
For starters hubby had mussels (£8) I had salmon (£6) and for main we had rack of lamb (£18) and Welsh beef (£16), puddings are between £5 and £8 each -so even before you have the desserts you've saved some pennies ;-) Unfortunately we'd eaten too much during the day in Tenby town so had no room for the puddings - which looked gorgeous by the way.

Had breakfast on both mornings. we fancied a change from the usual cooked brekkie- and glad we did. On the first morning I had the Welsh breakfast which consisted of Welsh bacon, laverbread & cockle patè, grilled tomato & eggs - delicious. On day two I had the toasted Welsh muffin topped with bacon & poached egg drizzled with hollandaise - again, really lovely.

Its a short walk into town, but not on the seafront so you won't get any sea-view rooms if that's what you're hoping for.
Tenby is a lovely seaside town, just a really nice place to visit - we ate at some great pubs, took a fun boat trip and thoroughly enjoyed our July break away! We had visited Torquay in June (don't bother!) and will not be returning but Tenby is a firm favourite and I can't wait to come back next summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Been here twice this year in July and August. Came down in July for a family birthday celebration and liked it so much we came back in August, very welcoming and relaxed. Close enough to the town to walk in and good facilities at the hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Timhud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenby
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.0 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.8 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
1.0 mi away
Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
2.5 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heywood Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood Spa Hotel

Property: Heywood Spa Hotel
Address: Heywood Lane, Tenby SA70 8DA, Wales (Formerly Heywood Mount)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
#7 Family Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Heywood Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Heywood Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heywood Mount Tenby
Heywood Mount Hotel Tenby
Heywood Spa Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing