We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location, great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fourcroft Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fourcroft Hotel
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Ebbw Vale, Wales.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location, great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Had a really enjoyable short stay here. Firstly, I'm surprised to read some of the comments about parking, as you can reserve a place behind the hotel for the duration of your stay. Secondly, what a view! You must have a front room that looks out over Goscar Rock towards the harbour, castle and lifeboat station. The walk down to the beach, through the gardens, is stunning.

Breakfast was really good, beautifully cooked and plentiful, and the service was faultless.

Be aware that central heating is remotely controlled, so you may need to ask for a heater during colder times of the year as the room was fridge look whenwe arrived

Our room was clean, but is (over)due a make over as the carpet and furniture was quite tired. Wear and tear is inevitable, I know, but a bit of tlc+ is in order.

Room Tip: Sea view room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebbwboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    96
    41
    13
    11
See reviews for
113
117
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend the first week in February. What a lovely place this is. The rooms are very spacious and clean and the views over the beach are amazing! The staff simply couldn't do enough for you and the breakfast matched the dining room... Simply out of this world. A very, very fine place.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lurch45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great people, great location, great view. I stay here when I work in the Pembroke area. A chance to relax after a long day at the office. The Osbourn's have been operating the hotel of generations. My wife is gluten free, and was struggling with finding restaurants where she could eat. One of the receptionists was also gluten free, and she took my wife all over Tenby one afternoon showing her where and what she could eat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler94510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed on New Year's Eve 2012 and had a very good time . The staff were friendy , rooms comfortable and the special Gala Dinner very good . Everybody was in the centre of Tenby to celebrate the arrival of the New Year which was a fun experience . Breakfast the following morning was excellent .

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Lots of friendly staff looked after our small children. There is a great games room and the gardens are beautiful - leading all the way down to a huge beach with a great big rock to climb in the middle. Will be back.

Room Tip: worth paying for the sea view - It's right above the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed two nights with my parents and both rooms had sea view. We were pleased when booked over the phone to receive a discounted price compared the the website so it was a good start! Upon arriving we were pleasantly surprised at the decor as the hotel seemed a bit dated; we soon found out that it is and the foyer is the redecorated part!

The rooms were ok but as mentioned, very dated. The bathroom looks to be the most recent upgrade. The beds weren't that comfortable and had my father moaning each morning however the view made up for this and it certainly is lovely. Breakfast was ok but the service is very slow if there are a few tables occupied.

As with other reviews beware the parking! Yes it's available (at £4/night) but the spaces are very tight and if one person parks poorly the whole space is a mess.

Location wise - excellent. A short walk to town and the harbour and of course the views out to sea. If you're wanting a view then this is a good one but be prepared for old fashioned rooms and hard beds. With a bit of TLC this hotel has the potential to be as good as the view.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thejourneysofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The rooms with a sea view have exactly that, a great view of the sea. Lets start with the good, and there is plenty for the team at the Fourcroft to be proud of, equally there is plenty of room for improvement in some areas.

The room was clean with new bedroom furnture, but it was of a modest size. Plenty of tea and coffee on the brewing tray :-)) which makes apleasant change. The bathroom was of a good size and modern with plenty of hot water available 24/7. The breakfast which was included in the price was very good. However, the evening meal on the Wednesday was a different affair. Some extra customer care training would not go amiss for the waiting staff, not many smiles among them and when it came to being offered a menu we were provided with one for the two of us, just across the way was a stack of menus and it would have been nice to have been given one each rather than having to ask. The fish I ate, was good but the potatoes were not cooked properly and my betters half's scampi was less than great. Breakfast rates at a 7/10, but the chef's efforts in the evening only deserve a 4/10.

The Fourcroft has an outside swimming pool and indoor jacuzzi, however you would use these at your peril as they were looking rather grotty to say the least. Nothing a good clean and some regular maintenance wouldn't cure - on this occassion I didn't fancy take a dip with all the wee beasties that were visible never mind those that were not!!

The location of the hotel is perfect being just a short walk to the town centre and is also a stone's throw from the beach and cannot be faulted in this respect.

The position for parking is a lot more precarious. If you can secure one of the few parking spaces at the rear of the hotel, do so as parking is restricted at the front of the hotel and surrounding area. It must be borne in mind though that this hotel dates back to the Georgian period and there were not a lot of cars about in those days, so they make the best of the situation they find themselves in.

At £130 per night for the room with a sea view, I was hoping for more. Overall the Fourcroft was good value for money when compared to the competition in Tenby, especially if you take up their four nights for the price of three offer as we did. Without that discount it would not represent it would slide down the value for money stakes.

Room Tip: Make sure you can get a room with a sea view - stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isocamaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#10 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#5 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.4 mi away
The Clarence House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#8 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fourcroft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fourcroft Hotel

Property: Fourcroft Hotel
Address: North Beach View The Croft, Tenby SA70 8AP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Tenby
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fourcroft Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Tenby's Blue Flag North Beach & old fishing harbour, Fourcroft Hotel has spectacular terraced gardens leading down to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Fourcroft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fourcroft Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing