We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tenby's Tops for a Warm Welsh Welcome!”
Review of Fourcroft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fourcroft Hotel
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tenby's Tops for a Warm Welsh Welcome!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

A little charm goes a long way. It is hard to stand at your floor-to-ceiling window at the Fourcroft and not be wowed by the spectacular views: whether to the Gower Peninsula on the horizon, or to Tenby's pretty harbour just below where the brightly-painted houses tumble down the cliffside to the sea. You can just imagine Beatrix Potter seeing the same view when she stayed a few doors down in 1900.

The rooms are well-appointed and are clean and comfortable but where owner Cath has really been clever is in the selection of the hotel's staff. The Peter Pan-like Nikki cannot do enough to help and her cohort, Jo, is just as friendly. Breakfast is good and hunky waiters Daniel and Paul readily serve a welcome portion of manly Welshness to go with your Weetabix. (Hands off, ladies, Paul is married to Jo on Reception and the queue for Daniel's number probably stretches all the way to Pembroke Dock…)

Tenby itself has been one of Wales's most popular seaside resorts since the nineteenth century. But visit the Tudor Merchant's House (National Trust members - free entry of course) and you will also be able to take a glimpse at the town's distant past when Tenby was a bustling seaport before the Spanish Armada cut its trade routes. Try and have a chat with custodian Alyson Bush: she is full of fascinating insights into the history of the house and, indeed, the town itself but she also has a rather unique link to the house in that her great-grandmother lived there in 1890.

TOP TIPS:
Try The Plantagenet for a hearty dinner in an atmospheric candlelit room with beamed ceilings and an open fire: the risotto is sublime but do not leave the premises without sampling the delicious braised red cabbage! Again, the service here is excellent and very friendly.

If you fancy a walk, turn left out of the Fourcroft and head towards the Park Hotel up on the cliff. The garden here boasts what is, arguably, the best view of Tenby harbour you are likely to find and if you are feeling adventurous navigate the cliff path from the garden down to the beach. It's steep and a little unpredictable and not for the faint-hearted but is well worth the effort. Walk back into town along North Beach - one of the cleanest beaches I have ever seen - and settle yourself down in Blueberry's with a nice mug of hot chocolate and the morning paper.

After strolling around Tenby's quaint little streets, it is a short walk back to the Fourcroft where Nikki and Jo (and maybe Daniel if you are lucky) will happily have the hot tub waiting for you. There is also an (outdoor) pool, a sauna and a games room so, even if it's raining, you will not be bored.

If you are very quick, you might still get in for for the festive season. I know one thing: the staff at the Fourcroft were so welcoming and friendly, I am toying with the idea of adding them all to my Christmas card list.

Room Tip: Seafront every time - who wants to overlook a car park when you are at the seaside?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    117
    51
    13
    11
See reviews for
126
143
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This hotel is ideally situated overlooking North Beach and on a non through road, within easy walking distance of the shopping centre. There is direct access to the beach down through the hotel's gardens.
Without exception, the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was plentiful with a very generous and well cooked Welsh breakfast and scrambled eggs with smoked salmon also recommended. The porridge was disappointing and only sampled once.
There was a good choice for each of the three courses for the evening meals, although there was quite a long wait between courses. This was particularly noticeable when some guests had arranged to come into the dining room early in order to attend the film club, held in the hotel usually on the 1st and 3rd Monday of each month, and just before 8 pm were still waiting for their desserts.
The games room on the lower ground floor has a very good table tennis table together with other games. The jacuzzi was warm rather than hot, but the sauna was fine. The outdoor children's equipment looked to be in very good condition, as did the little pool.

Our bedroom and shower room, although small, was clean and well furnished with an amazing sea view. The bed was comfortable and the window opened easily. There was a plentiful supply of tea, coffee and biscuits. Some back bedrooms overlooked the swimming pool, but others looked on to a vehicle yard.

We heard mention of bargain breaks during October at £69 for half board for two nights in a seafront room.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a bit extra for a seafront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Fourcroft Hotel is on the cliff top overlooking the north beach by Gosker Rock. From our room we could see Tenby harbour and the Lifeboat stations, all very picturesque. The room was comfortable, though not particularly spacious for a double, with a basic wardrobe and all the usual beverage tray, hairdryer, T.V. etc. The shower room was however very nicely finished and looked brand new, just a pity the hot water wasn't as hot as it should have been, lukewarm shower!
Adequate breakfast room with help yourself cereal/fruit juice area, the cooked breakfast is ordered at the table and was nothing special, neither was the Coffee!
The service I have to say was good and the intimate little bar has a cosy feel to it. The public areas are well cared for and the reception staff are helpful and efficient and the whole place is spotless. I do realise that historic buildings do not easily lend themselves to modern facilities but this I feel adds to the character, all in all a fairly decent hotel with good staff and convenient for the town centre.
Had the Coffee and cooked breakfast been better and the hot water hotter I might well have rated the hotel as excellent.

Room Tip: Must get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barby305Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmrysL, Owner at Fourcroft Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
We're sorry for the shower not being as hot as you would have liked. If you had told us at the time we could have checked out the controls in the shower; a couple of showers have had faulty discs and, where we have been told about them, we have replaced them. We appreciate it may not have been appropriate at the time!
We are also disappointed that you were disappointed with the breakfast and coffee. If you had mentioned that to one of our staff, we could have given you a fresh cup and perhaps made amends with another breakfast. All our breakfasts are made to order, we don't like the buffet system, and most consider the extra time taken as a truly worthwhile investment.
As for the coffee, we go to great lengths to ensure we serve good coffee, with multiple tastings and monitoring. If only you had asked for another cup, it would have impressed you, we're sure. Perhaps you might do us the honour of proving our coffee credentials.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife booked this hotel for a night away for our family ( of 4) , when we arrived staff seemed really friendly , clean rooms and our room had a lovely sea view. In the evening myself and the kids had a drink in the bar (only mine alcohol!!) and the waitress offered the kids crayons , sheets etc basically couldnt do enough for us.Beautiful breakfast in the morning , a great stay only 1 minor gripe - no parking BUT the North Beach car park isnt far . If your going to Tenby give the Fourcroft a try.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparky950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Having booked a weekend away unfortunately my father was rushed into hospital and sadly passed away on Sunday when I should have been away. Even though I explained this to hotel they still charged me late cancellation fee :( I have stayed before and couldn't fault the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boldwyn56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Just back from 2 nights in Tenby, stayed Fourcroft Hotel,. Over looking North beach, lovely views over the bay.You could pay lots more for this in some countries.

Good size room and up to date bathroom facilities.

The breakfast was lovely, good choice and very tasty.

The reception staff at this hotel, go out of their way to help with any enquiries regarding Tenby, and we were impressed with the service all round.

It was obviously a family run establishment who are very keen to please their cliental,. Some larger hotels would be advised to take note and follow suit.

Tenby itself is a lovely town, people very friendly and we will definately be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katy161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Had a weekend stay here at the four croft. Had a fantastic room with a view over North Beach. Staff were really welcoming and helpful. Breakfasts were also great! They also serve a welsh lager- Celtic Gold that went down a treat. the rooms were fairly big and clean with a tidy sized bathroom and shower.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.3 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.7 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fourcroft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fourcroft Hotel

Property: Fourcroft Hotel
Address: North Beach View The Croft, Tenby SA70 8AP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Tenby
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fourcroft Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Tenby's Blue Flag North Beach & old fishing harbour, Fourcroft Hotel has spectacular terraced gardens leading down to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fourcroft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fourcroft Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing