We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice attractive bar, good beer” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Normandie Bar

The Normandie Bar
Ranked #33 of 114 Restaurants in Tenby
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Normandie, can be found nestled between the Medieval Town Walls and Upper Frog Street in the picturesque seaside resort of Tenby, in Pembrokeshire, on the South West corner of Wales. Historically an old coaching inn, The Normandie, is now a vibrant, cosmopolitan bar and restaurant with rooms. It can be noisy at night, due to street noise and a late licence, so is more suited to singletons and couples who want to have fun rather than a quiet peaceful holiday. Here, the emphasis is on delicious food, fine wines and great beers, making 'The Normandie' a popular haunt with both locals and visitors alike. Looking for somewhere central to stay? Look no further - The Normandie, offers excellent en-suite accommodation in the heart of the town. So if you want to enjoy what Pembrokeshire has to offer, soak up the atmopshere, join in the fun, then, this is the place to be!
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice attractive bar, good beer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Some care and attention has been taken over the appearance of the pub which was nice and bright with some comfy sofas as well as some more formal eating areas.
We only had a drink here, but the Staropramen was excellent and the barman friendly.
Only observation is that the ladies is in need of renovation to meet the standards of the rest of the pub.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slugbreff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    130
    63
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Food average, service bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I decided to have an evening meal here. It was early and not many people in the bar.
I had cod and chips, wife had lasagna .Food came in reasonable time and looked good with a nice side salad. Unfortunately the lasagna was cold and I took it back. It was replaced with a fresh, hot lasagna and that was nice. Put on table by waiter with no hint of apology.
We thought of having a pudding but could not catch waiters eye as he was too busy chatting to his pals.
We left. I was going to mention that my glass was chipped but in the end I could not be bothered.
Such a pity.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Trafforddavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
122 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A lovely experience, great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We visited the Normandie as a group of four adults and one Infant after one of our party spotted it as we passed. We were pleasantly surprised.
We were greeted by a lovely waiter and were told that we could sit anywhere, so we chose a seat close to the open fire (with the little one tucked safely into a highchair). This was a welcome extra considering we visited on a very cold day in January.
The venue itself is spread over two levels but is accessible to everyone. We had no issue with getting the pram in and out. The decor is nice, modern and clean.
The menu is very extensive, with something to suit everyone. There is also a children's menu offering the usual x and chips or pastas and pizzas.
Those having alcohol said that the ale and wine were very good.
The restaurant was very quiet so the food did not take long to arrive but seemed to be freshly cooked and hot. It was obvious that a lot of effort has gone in to the presentation and flavours and everyone enjoyed their meal.
We were made to feel very welcome and everyone agreed that they would eat here again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank darceyhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Another mistake.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Again, as a family of four with an infant, we decided to try the Normandie out for dinner. The dining and bar facilities are on two levels, so we went to the lower level which leads out to the the courtyard.
There was an excellent choice of seats so we selected one not too far from the bar and started looking at the menu.
Now, some might call it innovative, but I have never come across a menu that carries a sample of everything physically on it. Admittedly mine was the worst, but two others were similarly but less afflicted. My wife started to realise that she was sticking to the table, as did my daughter and her boyfriend.
It was, quite simply, unclean. Not the sort of unclean that follows heavy use by a family of eight, but the sort of unclean that demonstrates a lack of proper routine.
We voted with our feet and left, never having been approached for orders in any way.
Now, my wife and I went to a choral evening and decided to have a swift half beforehand.
We were sat down with drinks before we realised that we were back in the Normandie and sat in the top bar. The barmaid was courteous and attentive, the surroundings were clean and pleasant, and the ale was excellent. Maybe the awful experience was a hiccup? I don't know. What I do know is that I wouldn't risk eating there, given the choices available.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HeatherandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Had a meal here. It took a hour to get the food and when it arrived it was ok but nothing special. Wouldn't have minded the wait if we had been told but we were just left. The waitress was very helpful although more info please

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Normandie Bar also viewed

Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Normandie Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing