We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunny Bank Guest House
Ranked #16 of 52 Tenby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our visit to this lovely guest house during October half term was excellent. The owners were helpful, friendly and more than willing to go that extra mile. We were staying in Room 1 which was beautifully decorated and in keeping with the building, the breakfast was of a very high quality with plenty of choice. It's location is just a short walk from town, close to a very nice restaurant, we would like to recommend this guest house to anyone and will be returning when we can.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwynedd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Sunny Bank Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 139 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed with a friend for 2 nights in October. The guesthouse was only a 3 minute walk from the rail station and less than 5 minutes from the nearest shops. Shirley and John were great; they were very helpful and couldn’t do enough for us. We stayed in room 2 which was a twin room. The room was a good size and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was quite large compared to other guest houses we have stayed in and was very clean. For breakfast there was a wide range to choose from, my friend and I had the grill (full English!) and it was well done and very tasty. There is a very good fish and chip shop on Upper Park Road called ‘Park Road Fish and Chip shop’, it’s just past the Sainsbury’s supermarket on the same road, all the meals were very good value whether you ate in or had take-out. I would like to thank Shirley and John for a great stay and allowing us to leave out suitcases in the hotel while we had one last look around the town because we had a few hours to wait before our train arrived. I would definitely recommend the Sunny Bank guesthouse to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlL73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great location five minute walk to the town. Clean comfortable rooms. Real comfy bed.Great choice for breakfast. Very friendly . Couldn't fault this b&b. Would definitely visit again. emailed owners regarding a query was answered straight away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20Clara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here is September 2013 and it was very clean, very nice room and a very good breakfast. The host’s recommendations were excellent and we followed on the food choices which were just great. This had a Great warm feel. The proximity to the public parking was helpful. Thanks for everything Rick and Denise :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickandDenise9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Friendly, clean, central, comfortable, relaxed and helpful. Wifi, TV and terrible jokes all thrown in for free!! :-)
A helpful couple who let us in and also gave us an itinerary for one of our days stay which meant that we saw much of the beautiful surrounding beaches and sea...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshine1971_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at this guest house and were met by two of the nicest people (husband and wife team) and they looked after us in a very grand style. Breakfasts were served by the husband who also entertained us with constant jokes, quips and stories. His banter made a good start even better and breakfast fare was good. Reminded us of Michael Palin's younger brother (if he had one)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank captain_mushtaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

stayed here in july for the night was ok old fashioned decor , the 4 poster bed was abit naf for a superior room nothing superior about it location not the best but close to the town centre ten min walk to beach, the breakfast was ok not the best. the host seemed to try to hard to make u feel welcome but overall was ok wouldnt say its a 4 star a good 3 due to location and room and decor

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masterfoster56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnyBankTenby, Owner at Sunny Bank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that we did not seem to match up to your expectations.
In response to some of your comments, all rooms and the dining room have recently been decorated. We choose to have the décor matching the age and style of the property we are. It would not seem correct to decorate it in a modern, straight line, aseptic style. Also, neither of us actually have to work hard at trying to please our guests, we simply talk to our guests as we would talk to anyone and how we would like to be spoken to ourselves. The other views you have, you are of course perfectly entitled to, and it is only correct that you have voiced them on Tripadvisor.
kindest regards,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.2 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.6 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
267 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Rose Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Bank Guest House

Address: Harding Street, Tenby SA70 7LL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tenby
Price Range: $88 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Bank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, friendly, comfortable guest house. Quiet location. In the town but just outside centre. Very close to car park. Choice of breakfasts including full breakfast. All rooms en suite, serviced daily. Town centre and beaches within walking distance. Close to railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sunny Bank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Bank Guest House Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing