We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Birthday Weekend”
Review of Trefloyne Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Trefloyne Manor
Ranked #8 of 52 Tenby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely Birthday Weekend”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I booked this hotel after reading the great reviews on Trip Advisor for my lovely husbands Birthday weekend treat. When we arrived I was very disappointed that we were shown to a double room having booked a superior room. However after complaining that I was not satisfied with the room offered, which I hasten to add was beautifully decorated and clean, just very small, we were shown to the bar and given a drink on the house whilst the problem was sorted to our satisfaction. What a lovely way of dealing with a problem, full of smiles all round. We were offered 'China' a dual aspect room which was larger, very nice and just right for our four night stay. During our stay as well as the wonderful breakfast each morning we ate in the hotel on two evenings. The food is superb, first class regarding quality and well cooked, thank you Chef. The prices are very fair too. Martine the Housekeeper and Rob the Restaurant Manager and both of their teams are friendly and approachable and very good at what they do. All in all a quite perfect weekend. Even the weather behaved. I would highly recommend this hotel. My husband had a wonderful birthday and said it was all 'Fantastic'.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBtravellinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrefloyneManor, General Manager at Trefloyne Manor, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Trefloyne Manor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and so pleased the confusion with the rooms on your arrival didn't spoil your time with us. We look forwarded to welcoming you back hopefully in the not to distant future. The Team at Trefloyne x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    34
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
40
164
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Having always been a regular visitor to Tenby and the surrounding area, I have to say that Trefloyne Manor had escaped my attention until recently. We had decided to have a very last minute night away near Tenby, but were struggling to find somewhere that appealed. Thank goodness for the Great Little Places Guide – we’ll certainly rely on their recommendations again!

I called and booked directly with the hotel, who offered the same rate as the cheapest online deal I had found. (If you are going to book, do shop around or call directly). We paid £100 to stay the night of the second May bank holiday Monday, which included breakfast and I can honestly say was a great deal!

There was plenty of room to park (a perk of not being in town) and we were greeted by a roaring fire in the bar area, which was lovely considering we’d just been drenched by a downpour! The staff were very friendly and immediately put you at ease – you really did get the impression this was a family-run, relaxed place.

We were shown to room 3 in the coach house, which was newly and beautifully decorated in blue and white with lots of hardwood, and had a lovely character. The room was very clean (I’m a fusspot when it comes to this) and the facilities were great – lots of storage, a huge shower, two tub chairs and great refreshment-making facilities complete with bottled water, a flask of fresh milk and homemade biscuits!

We had booked to eat at a restaurant in Tenby that evening, but pushed this back a night in favour of a meal at the hotel’s restaurant when we saw the menu, and were glad we did. The food was great, and it was a relief not to have to worry about driving home or arranging taxis from town after a drink with your evening meal. Breakfast the next morning didn’t disappoint either – and gave us the opportunity to appreciate the lovely view of the golf course from the light and bright restaurant.

My other half is a golfer and although he didn’t play, we had a walk around the course after our evening meal and he was suitably impressed. He also made a visit to the little golf shop they have on site, where you can buy all the essentials.

Overall a lovely, just beautiful place, close to Tenby but almost in a little world of its own, and we’ll definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carucymru_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrefloyneManor, Manager at Trefloyne Manor, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us at Trefloyne Manor, we hope to see you again in the future. With warmest regadrs and thanks for your reviews, The Team at Trefloyne xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Trefloyne is a beautiful boutique hotel off the beaten track, the Manor house is stunning with open fires and great views. The staff are polite, very friendly and cant do enough to help please you. The rooms are incredible, beautifully decorated with excellent furnishings. This was my second visit and we will be returning, we have stayed in the Bedroom & Room 7, both very different and very beautiful. Its a very relaxing place with lots to see locally. Tenby is a beautiful seaside town however I highly recommend staying here out of the hustle and bustle. The food is superb, the restaurant is fantastic and over looks the golf course. They have a great wine selection and everything on the menu is yummy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GARETH K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights here for a friend's (amazing) wedding. It is actually an amazing wedding venue, which I suppose is for a different review site, but having rooms only a few metres from the marquee was convenient in the extreme!

Not being a golfer, I wondered whether this would compare to other places we had stayed, but the level of comfort for the rooms, the beautiful rolling countryside, and the level of service sets Trefloyne apart. What really was exceptional was the ease with which the were happy to add an additional night's stay (we had travelled from New Zealand and this was the first chance in a week to properly relax) - but also to accommodate a late dinner on a Sunday night when the kitchen had just closed. Finally, for what undoubtedly is a premium/luxury experience, we were pleasantly surprised by the bill, having spent 3 days of putting meals and, ah, a few drinks (only to toast the bride and groom of course) on our room tab!

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 4 in the coach house has an upstairs mezzanine level with a bath. Nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nevennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale of Glamorgan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

What a find! Was invited to stay at the Trefloyne in celebration of a friends 50 th birthday as part of a group of friends . I have to say that the rooms, food, staff and service were exceptional. All of the rooms have been decorated to a very high comfortable standard and were immaculately clean. The choice at breakfast was second to none, all fresh local produce and nothing was too much trouble. The staff were very helpful and accommodating and very cheerful, the commitment shown by the staff was impressive. Such a wonderfully peaceful and tranquil Hotel and yet within a very short distance of Tenby and the surrounding countryside. Can't wait to book in again!! Congratulations to a fantastic team at the Trefloyne!

Room Tip: Difficult one as all of the rooms a exceptional!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoppo369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

After a slight mix up with our booking the staff were very helpful and accommodating in offering us an alternative room, room 5, thank you Rob!
We had a lovely time at Trefloyne and hope to return again in the future sometime.
Excellent room, fabulous food and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

what a nightmare. A shower that came on twice in the night, and, a kettle that switched itself on....We paid top price for what the owners call their superior room. On the internet it stated that the room had its own balcony, so I booked two nights. We stayed one night. No balcony, the management said they could not understand why it stated this on the internet. The breakfast was a total shambles, we waited a full hour, along with the other guests, as they had no bread for toast. When it eventually arrived, it was dried out, and arrived on a cold plate. Who gave these people 4 stars?. our superior room had no bathroom door, what is the matter with these room designers?. According to the booklet in the room, as we were in the superior room !!, we were entitled to a 10% voucher, to be used against any meals and drinks we had. I asked the lady in charge for our voucher, she said she did not have a clue what I was talking about. if this is the standard of hotels near Tenby, we will definitely not be returning, nor will we recommend it to our friends. All in all a very unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maree b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrefloyneManor, Manager at Trefloyne Manor, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at Trefloyne, we are saddened to learn you didn't enjoy your time with us. The incident with the shower and the kettle was not brought to our attention during your stay, however this is first time we have heard of such things happening in Room 2. This room is one of highest letting rooms and to date have not had any issues reported by previous guests. With regards to breakfast there can be no explantaion other than the members staff on duty that morning have been dealt with because this is unacceptable. Room design comes down personal taste some people will love it and others like yourselves will not. Had we had another room available during your stay we would of happily of offered it to you. There was no issue with honouring the 10% discount off food & drink during your stay, and it was deducted off your bill on departure. Had you expressed all these issue on the day you decided to leave we would have been able to disucss and hopefully resolve the problems, sadly we are now not in a position to be able to do this. Tenby is a wonderful destination and although Trefloyne wasn't for you there is lots of alternative accommodation available and we do hope you return to what we think is a very special town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenby
1.1 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
1.1 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
708 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
386 reviews
8.2 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,174 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trefloyne Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trefloyne Manor

Property: Trefloyne Manor
Address: Trefloyne Lane | Trefloyne Golf Club, Tenby SA70 7RG, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trefloyne Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trefloyne Manor is nestled in the heart of the Pembrokeshire countryside just outside of the beatiful walled town of Tenby. 12 individually designed bedrooms, a beautiful orangery restaurant, sundrenched terraces, 18 hole golf course and breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trefloyne Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trefloyne Manor Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing