We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Lawrence Country Guest House
Ranked #1 of 52 Tenby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

If you are looking for the warmest welcome possible and the guest house with the highest standards possible, then this is the place for you.

We stayed for four nights with Yvonne and Russell and they treated us like old friends. Indeed many of their customers are repeat guests who have become their friends. The bedroom had everything you could think of and need. Comfortable, clean and with fine views of their beautiful gardens and even the sea. The attention to detail in the house is exceptional. We loved our stay and would highly recommend the guest house but make sure that you book for several days because you won't want to leave.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    5
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
35
262
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotland UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This bed & breakfast was in a lovely setting overlooking Caldey island. Yvonne and Russell could not have been more welcoming and there were lots of little touches like a fridge wine opener and stopper and fridge, so useful for our wine (an essential ingredient of our girls weekends. Russell gave us a lift into Tenby and nearby so that we could all have wine with our evening meals out and we ordered a taxi back £5 from Tenby. Breakfast was superb one of the best anywhere. Lovely little church and holy wells at Gunfreston a few minutes walk.
Lastly very good value for such a lovely B&B

Room Tip: Look up your angel. All the rooms had angel names !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoG52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had a very enjoyable, relaxing few days with superb hosts, house and grounds.
We felt completely at ease and Yvonne and Rusell made our stay even more special. Their home is warm and welcoming, and we wouldnt hesitate to recommend.
Janet and Terry Weston

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetCW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kintbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

It's a well-worn cliché that B&B proprietors claim that people arrive as guests and leave as friends. Until you've stayed with Yvonne and Russell at St Lawrence, and experienced the warmth, depth and utter sincerity of their hospitality, then you can't fully appreciate the full extent of this!

We are serial visitors, and the whole experience really is like staying with favourite family members and more: maintaining the highest level of service and yet also not impinging on privacy and relaxation.

St Lawrence is extremely comfortable in all aspects: the rooms are well furnished and quiet, the guest lounge is a home-from-home and the views are exceptional.

Speaking of exceptional, there is the Yvonne breakfast experience! Using the best local ingredients, not to mention baking their own bread and collecting eggs from their own free-range hens ("the girls"), Yvonne and Russell deliver the best breakfast we have had anywhere we stay, and there is always more on offer.

The best recommendation is repeat business - we keep coming back! This time, we had no hesitation in taking friends with us, absolutely confident that they would thoroughly enjoy their break as much as we do.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I can only describe our stay as a wonderful experience, the care and attention to detail was of such a high standard. Yvonne and Russel are very special people who endeavour to make their home your home and succeed on all counts, we were made to feel quite special.
We came away feeling relaxed, replete from their delicious breakfasts, energised to continue our busy lives but also privileged to have met them !!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cerijohm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We spent 3 nights here for a trip to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. I'd read the great reviews so it had a lot to live up to and cerytainly did that. We were the only guests so were well and truly fussed over by Yvonne and Russell, who even left roses and cookies in our room on the monring of our anniversary! We had a large room, Chamuel, that overlooked the garden with lovely views across to Caldey island. Everything was spotless and we had plenty of room.
In the evenings we enjoyed a wind-down sitting with a drink on the big comfy sofas in front of the log burner, I won't say it was home from home as it was far nicer than we have!!
Yvonne and Russell were also great at recommending local restaurants, and Yvonne also sorted us out for our day walking to explore some of the natural beauty of the area.
We loved the touches like having wine and chocolate available via an honesty box, very reasonably priced so we were happy to indulge. And although we didnt make use of them there are stacks of books and DVDs we could've enjoyed if we'd chosen to.
Would highly recommend to anyone in the area who wants to be close to the offerings of Tenby but to escape back to somewhere quiet at the end of the day

Room Tip: We had Chamuel but I think most of the rooms face over the garden which is beatiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynds64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was our first visit to Wales and this weekend was very special as we attended a very close friends wedding in Manorbier. It was a weekend we had been looking forward to for a long time and we weren't disappointed. It was made all the more special by our stay with Yvonne and Russell. There hospitality was second to none, and the accommodation was outstanding! They also provided us with one of the best breakfasts we have ever had. Would highly reccommend a stay in this hidden treasure that is St. Lawrence

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.9 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.8 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
680 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#8 of 23 in Tenby
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
421 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wychwood House
Wychwood House
#3 of 52 in Tenby
252 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pen Mar Guest House
Pen Mar Guest House
#2 of 52 in Tenby
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Lawrence Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Lawrence Country Guest House

Property: St. Lawrence Country Guest House
Address: Gumfreston, Tenby SA70 8RA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Lawrence Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Lawrence Country Guest House is a 4 star licensed accommodation set within its own estate of 19 acres just outside Tenby. We are close to all activities, but far enough away to enjoy a quiet night's rest. We have 5 en-suite bedrooms and a large comfortable guest lounge. Feel free to walk the grounds or just sit and relax. Our south facing rooms all have a spectacular view across the Ritec Valley to the sea and beyond to Caldey Island. They all have flat screen tv/dvd/free view,tea & coffee making facilities, hair dryer,binoculars, fridges and bathrobes. Your breakfast is served in the conservatory with home made bread, eggs from Our Girls, tomatoes and fresh fruit all home grown or locally sourced. There is free Wi-Fi and ample private parking. St Lawrence is an award winning luxury B&B which thinks it is a hotel. If it is peace and tranquility you seek after a long day of sightseeing, this is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your St. Lawrence Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Lawrence Country Guest House Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing