We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carew Inn

The Carew Inn
Ranked #31 of 114 Restaurants in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Wales UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Food fairly good if a little pricey. Service was slow on the evening we went, arrived at 7.15 didn't get food until 8.15. Still waiting at 9.10 for someone to take a dessert order so decided to leave instead.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank NellWalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    107
    38
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“'a favourite with the family for years!'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We found this friendly little pub/restaurant about 15 years ago during our summer holiday and have been visiting every year since! In the summer we love the BBQ's on Sunday and Thursday evenings combined with the live music, a relaxing and entertaining evening!! During our autumn/ winter breaks in Pembrokeshire we enjoy fantastic food in front of a real fire at this cosy little restaurant. There is a good variety of meals to choose from and the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SHEILA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Dock, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the same”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

I normally love this place, always been a place I'd recommend but not anymore. I don't know if this was an off day but things have slipped. Since I last visited upstairs has been re-decorated, it felt very cold looking, before it was cute and snug.

The service wasn't very good, I was asked had I been before told were table was basically had to find it ourself not being shown. Quite disappointed by that. The menu has defs changed, my fav chocolate cake had been taken off, but they did have some that day. The steak was a little bit fatty, we didn't complain we just wanted to leave.
The service just didn't seen up to scratch we ordered desserts, the lady forgot so then had to come back and ask again. She went to take my mothers drink before she finished. Compared to other local places defs more pricey.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydz-j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude,Cornwall
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth the visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Five of us attended as a family. Good variety on the menu and very good size portions, not for the faint hearted. The sweets had plenty of variety.
Cost was reasonable, I believe as we were being looked after.
The restaurant was a bit small, but on the cold wet night that it was the fire was very welcome.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

as always very busy,but food and service excellent, even had the time to accept our dessert choice from from our 5 year old granddaughter who has just mastered reading,

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maturestudent54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carew Inn also viewed

 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Carew Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing