We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really great meal”

Plantagenet House Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 112 Restaurants in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Welsh, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Harlech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really great meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Ate here whilst on holiday on in Tenby. Was a bit uncertain as it is a bit pricier than some of the other local restaurants, but thoroughly enjoyed it. The atmosphere was great, relaxed and informal in an interesting building. The food was superb - my husband had sole and I had a vegetarian dish. We didnt need starters as the portions were generous. Would definitely come again if ever in Tenby in the future.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahlucy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    754
    232
    136
    40
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
146 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Simply OUTSTANDING ..LOVED IT ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Ate here tonight and we where seated in the fantastic chimney room which is truly outstanding ....complementary jug of water and love warm bread placed on the table very quickly, we have eaten here twice before over the past 2 years which is why we came back...I have left a review as I always forget....however this time I just had to... As truly every time it's been faultless ...outstanding service and staff that care,man atmosphere that is heart warming ....yes a little on the pricey side, we had two great starters goats cheese balls for my partner and an outstanding sweat potato and dill mixed and blended vegetable soup for me followed by two outstanding fillet stakes done truly to perfection and followed by 2 mouth watering home made creme brûlée's and all washed down with a great bottle of nice bubbly....how can you go wrong .....yes it may have been just over £100 but it was worth every penny and so was the tip we left .... This place gets it right every time that's why we go back ....you should ....highly recommended if you like outstanding ingredients cooked to perfection and you don't mind paying for it....we'll be back later in the year again ...don't miss this place if your in Tenby.....reservation pretty much essential in the summer months ...just give them a call at some either on the day or maybe the day before ...go and ENJOY :-)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LondonArtlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
“Great fish restaurant in period house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

The first thing we noticed when walking into Plantagenet House was the dark cosy enivrons, the second thing we noticed was how busy it was. We assumed we would not get a table, however the staff found a spot for us to wait in the downstairs bar (also cosy, with fire). A table was found and we were served promptly - the fish menu was wide ranging and all looked excellent, majority of it locally sourced. We had three courses, all very good. The service friendly and helpful, including accomodating our requests to alter dishes. After the meal we spent the rest of the evening in the downstairs bar trying their whiskey selection until we were gently kicked out at 1am. A lovely evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HCSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“A stunning menu...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed this meal, it was a wed night and booked a week in advance. It was full when we arrived, so recommend booking.
Fish really is the order of the day here, I had swordfish my husband, monk fish. Both beautiful.
Very filling and tasty.
With cheeseboard to finish.
Why only 4 stars, feel they charge 2-3 pound more than they should.
That said, lovely building, the view from the ladies loo is incredible!


Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average Food for Above Average Prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

The main feature of the restaurant is the atmosphere created by the age of the building and the prominence of a large chimney (40' high) in one of the rooms. We requested (pre-booked) a table in/under the chimney re-enforcing the special nature of the evening for us. The drawbacks to our evening were the visitors who came to see the chimney and the quality of the food being served. Both of our meals left a lot to be desired; the elevated price seemed to be trading on the novelty of the chimney rather than the quality of the meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmptyNesters052014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plantagenet House Restaurant also viewed

 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Plantagenet House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing