We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere, great food”
Review of Baytree

Baytree
Ranked #14 of 114 Restaurants in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Baytree restuarant is situated in the heart of Tenby's charming Tudor Square. We are open all year around, serving meals and drinks from 11am to 10.00Pm in the summer (please note we operate shorter hours outside of peak season).Our menu incorporates local produce wherever possible including fish caught just off Tenby's coast! Our mackerel and lobster are particular favourites with our regulars. We also cater for vegetarians and have a varied children's menu.At the rear of the restaurant, our sheltered private terrace can seat up to 24 people. During the summer when the town is pedestrianised during the day, we also have tables and chairs out in Tudor Square.We can cater for private parties of up to 100 people and large groups are welcome by prior arrangement.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, great food”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Visited during Pembrokeshire fish week at the end of June. We ordered from the 'specials' fish menu which was 3 courses. plus a complimentary glass of wine, for £20 each. The food was delicious, portions were good, and serving times from course-to-course was not long. We love the Baytree, we have visited on many occasions over the last 3 decades! from the late 1980's as a honeymooning couple, in the 1990's with our children, and now 2013 as a holidaying couple, the Baytree has fond memories for us. Long may you continue.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank soo w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    521
    296
    119
    45
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Sea Food Chowder ! WOW it was a 9/10 Chowder.”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Decided to stop and treat ourselves to a nice Lunch in Tenby and got sat down in the Hope & Anchor Pub only to be told it would be a 45 minute wait for Food !$*^%* What ?? No way peeps and clearly no hope.

After walking back up to the Town and in a random manner I pointed and said let’s try the Baytree Restaurant , we got in and settled and in short it was excellent, very very good and pleasant staff.

We were two hungry people so over ordered (Pigs, hee-hee) and had Calamari, King Prawns, Sea Food Chowder, Chips and drinks.

Exceptional Chowder !

It was all genuinely very very good and highly recommended by us.

Please also try and give feedback(Hopefully positive) to the Chef as it’s the only way they will know what you think and will hopefully keep them motivated to turn out good Food.

Vanessa and Stuart from down South Portsmouth.
30/07/2013

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Popsrielly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really Tasty Food”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Excellent fresh food - good service - really accommodating with younger children. Would definitely recommend as one of the best restaurants in Tenby.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CazNatScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maesteg, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not the best visit to The Bay Tree Tenby”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Went to this restaurant for lunch today - usually very, very good and the reason why we always reserve a table when we visit Tenby. Not sure what was up there today. It was not especially busy today but the owner who is usually very personable seemed very stressed - openly having discussions with errors on other tables with her staff - not good. We chose a meal that we have eaten several times before (calamari) - it was greasy, the coating was falling off, was not served with garlic mayo only mayo, waitress served me the in-correct wine, etc. We did not say anything whilst there (which is very un-like me) but now wish we had). I have been visiting this restaurant every time I am in Tenby for about 25 years - I hope this is not them on a slippery slope. However, after today, not sure we will go back. Left the restaurant feeling disappointed and went to get an ice cream cone which we enjoyed much more. I sincerely hope the owner of the restaurant will read this and offer us some feed-back

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne-marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saundersfoot
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“excelleant restaurant”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have had many meals in many places in Tenby ,but if I want a special meal, i allways go the Bay Tree in Tenby , lovely place to sit and eat, fantastic food , lovely drinks,and excellant service,reasonable priced but well worth a visit.Never had cause to complain as everything has allways been to the highest standard.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank darryl e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baytree also viewed

 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Baytree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing