We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B & B not really a hotel”
Review of The Strathmore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Strathmore
Ranked #4 of 52 Tenby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a B and B guest house..no one on reception on arrival..room was ok ,dusty in places. Offered wifi but I couldn't get it to work.could do with sound proofing in rooms and better window, we could hear the seagulls early hours in the morning as well as people and dogs.cooked Breakfast was nice but could do with beans or mushrooms to go with a full welsh breakfast as promised. The owner was very nice. For £70 per night we thought we were staying in a hotel for the night but it was a B and B .

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lynzi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrathmoreHotel, Owner at The Strathmore, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and concerns we do wish you had brought this to our attention during your stay.
On your comment on us being a B&B / Guest House / Hotel the answer is we are all 3 hence we have listed ourselves under Guest House on Late Rooms. We feel our web site & Late Rooms profile gives a true representation of the hotel stating we only have 7 bedrooms and that we are family run with every room having a brief description along with photographs to not mislead anyone.
Sorry but we do not offer a 24 hour reception and never have advertised this.
We do have FREE wifi throughout the building, as with any wireless device occasionally this will have hiccups usually due to volume of use, for this we can only apologies.
Your point regarding soundproofing, we are a Victorian listed building and with my own experience of staying in modern 5 star hotels it is not always possible to effectively sound proof a room.
Seagulls........ we are very sorry that Tenby has a population of noisy seagulls but this is a noise which is to be expected during a stay in a seaside town.
Our full Welsh Breakfast is sourced locally and is freshly cooked to order, Beans, Poached as well as scrambled eggs and kippers are all available on request. We pride ourselves on our breakfasts and it is one of the many things our regular customers love about The Strathmore, we have guests which have been staying with us on a regular basis since 1990.
We hope this has answered some of your questions and you return to Tenby again and take enjoyment in our wonderful town and all that it has to offer.
Thank you again
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for The Strathmore
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 270 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here with my family in July 2013 - room was comfortable despite the heat!! Breakfast was wonderful, and the hosts were really friendly and helpful. Brilliant location, right beside the beach, a few mins walk to the centre of Tenby and parking (public) just behind the hotel. Just a shame we couldn't stay longer as the hotel was booked out. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shauna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose S, Owner at The Strathmore, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2014

Thank you both for a Lovely Review its a pleasure having customers like yourself s stay with us.It makes everything worth while .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Tenby for 2 nights and for the first time in this place. The owner and family really nice friendly and helpful, the service is excellent. The beach is just 2 min walk and the town is around 4-5 min. The room is small and the bathroom is something different than what I experienced so far but it's ok for a beach holiday and it is clean. The only one problem was that there is no fan in the room and the window doesn't open properly so it was more hot inside the room than outside. But it is good for a short stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank felicity343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrathmoreHotel, Owner at The Strathmore, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you for staying at Strathmore, if you decide to stay with us in the future and if by chance we still have this beautiful hot weather please ask us for a fan, which we will happily supply if available.
Due to health and safety laws the windows are only allowed to be partially opened over a certain height above ground level although no one has fallen out to our knowledge in 200 years!!
Our countries laws gone mad yet again!
hope to see you again sometime at Strathmore
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Very friendly and welcoming ideal location with nearby carpark. Very good breakfast and perfect poached eggs. The room was small but clean and comfortable which is probaly all you want for a short break.



  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose S, Owner at The Strathmore, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2014

Thank you both for a Lovely Review its a pleasure having customers like yourself s stay with us.It makes everything worth while .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Overall great experience, staff were friendly and helpful. clean rooms, great Facilities, nice and cosy/warm i the night. Great location close to all amenties. Morning breakfast was great! well worth a stay, will deffo recommend to anyone, staying in tenby a**********

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsha_anne13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose S, Owner at The Strathmore, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2014

Thank you both for a Lovely Review its a pleasure having customers like yourself s stay with us.It makes everything worth while .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had a great time the breakfast was beautiful the staff very friendly can't wait to go again everything was very near the beach was just up the road the room had everything we needed very clean I would stay again

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed at the Strathmore on many occasions and always guaranteed a warm welcome and hearty breakfast.The Owner Joe and his family are always on hand to recommend local places to visit and eat. The rooms are clean and well kept and the hotel offers a wealth of character and charm and all for excellent value for money. 2 car parks in the vicinity make life easy.
We have already booked our next break away at the Strathmore and love spending time in Tenby

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vw34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.8 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.4 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Giltar Hotel
Giltar Hotel
#5 of 23 in Tenby
665 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clarence House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathmore

Address: 23 Victoria Street, Tenby SA70 7DY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tenby
Price Range: $96 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathmore 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strathmore Hotel is a professional, family run hotel in Tenby, Pembrokeshire. Our seven bedroom hotel is the perfect place to relax and unwind in Tenby. The hotel has been in the family since 1974, and has since been providing, for all of our guests, the personal touch that larger hotels cannot provide.All of our rooms are en-suite with all of the features you would expect, including free wireless internet access, tea and coffee facilities, safety deposit boxes and 24 hour access to your room. We are situated right next to Tenby's beautiful South Beach, our rear facing rooms overlook the beach with a sea view.A warm, friendly but professional welcome awaits you from Joe, Family & Staff at The Strathmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Strathmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strathmore Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing