We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab, Fab, Fab!”

New Overlander Restaurant & Guest Accommodation
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Overlander Restaurant & Guest Accommodation
Ranked #21 of 52 Tenby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fab, Fab, Fab!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Delicious food, good portion sizes, efficient staff, good prices, between 5-6:30 children eat for £1.00 and the portion size is very good. The restaurant is modern and contemporary in decor and beautiful to sit in. We went two nights out of the six nights we stayed in Tenby, i wished we had gone every night because nothing else compared! The restaurant is very clean, you could eat off the toilet floor, the only thing i would like to mention to the owners is they turned away a group of four when a table was coming free immediately as they had been given the bill and were ready to leave. We had only been there five minutes and nobody came in to take that table we were in for 1 hour 30 minutes or so because of a 45 minute wait for food however on our first time which was much much more busier we only had a 10-15 minute wait. I would recommend a visit here, you will not be disappointed!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa1967Daisie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    36
    11
    9
    7
See reviews for
35
84
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our party of three stayed for two nights July 2013. All adults.

Pros:
Friendly staff; one (of our two) breakfasts was good; rooms were clean and tidy; easy to find on a main road; taxi in to Tenby less than £10.

Cons:
Intensely noisy rooms located on front side of the building - the windows are located very close to the main road and on the other side of the road there is a retaining wall which reflects the sound back towards the hotel - it cannot be exaggerated how noisy this was; at the back of the hotel there is a train line, this was also noisy, but services were pretty infrequent; one (of two) breakfast was poor (soggy bacon etc.); note this hotel is not in Tenby at all - on a nice day you can walk along the beach in to town, but it is half an hour - taxi home if you walk in to town for dinner, Penally is an OK but tiny village (houses, church and village shop).

Conclusion:
Very average: OK rooms but very noisy and overpriced for our trip.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are like here so ask. Some have baths, some do not, they are different sizes and price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickythekidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Went here for food today with my 2 children, they had a great range of food to choose on the childrens menu and the smoked salmon was divine!!! Love the atmosphere it felt like I was at at home, lovely fantastic host and great waitresses all seemed to have good team work. Felt like it was very family orientated and made to feel extremely welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katykitty666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We visited here for a family meal after seeing that kids eat for £1 between 5 and 6.30 every day. There is a good selection of food for children and it was difficult to decide from the lovely choices on offer. As a vegetarian I was pleased to see something a bit different on the menu from the usual lasagne and opted for a homemade bake that was different and delicious. There were specials available and all members of our party were pleased with both the service and the quality of their food. Vegetables and sides were brought in separate dishes so we could help ourselves and the staff were very friendly too. I believe the menu had been changed recently so differs slightly from the one placed outside but is extensive nontheless. The restaurant is clean and well decorated with outdoor seating available. I can certainly recommend a meal here away from the hustle and bustle of the main Tenby eateries.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phatbess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

My son chose to go here for his 15th birthday meal, we are local and not been for a year or two...... The chef certainly wasn't the same as before !!! Menu was really limited, didn't match web site, no music, stagnant atmosphere, screaming kids sat right behind us, had to ask them to try and keep kids quiet which was rudely received. Bubbly host but waitress staff had no manners, no smiles and were lazy. Will not be returning, food was ok but nothing special, evening spoilt !!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a very welcoming hotel run by a lovely family who can't do enough to ensure you have an excellent stay. The rooms are well equipped, very clean and tidy with modern and good sized en suite facilities. We stayed here because we were attending a wedding in Tenby. It was ideally located and away from the traffic and hustle and bustle of the town. It has a well equipped bar which we used while waiting for a taxi. Breakfast the following morning was delicious. The family who run the hotel are very attentive and take a lot of pride in their hotel and like to ensure everything is just right. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Lovely family run B&B, We stayed for one night, overall we had a pleasant stay. Rooms were clean and breakfast was good. The staff are really friendly and made us feel really welcome. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nellycm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
267 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
0.6 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hammonds Park
Hammonds Park
#33 of 52 in Tenby
192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Langdon Villa Guest House
0.1 mi away
Ivy Bank Guest House
Ivy Bank Guest House
#26 of 52 in Tenby
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Overlander Restaurant & Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Overlander Restaurant & Guest Accommodation

Property: New Overlander Restaurant & Guest Accommodation
Address: Penally, Tenby SA70 7PS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Overlander Restaurant & Guest Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run licenced hotel & restaurant in Penally, Nr. Tenby. Five comfortable en suite bedrooms, all with refreshments tray, freeview lcd t.v., hairdryer & complimentary toiletries. Internet access available free of charge. Large car park. Five minutes walk to beach. 1.5 miles to Tenby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your New Overlander Restaurant & Guest Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Overlander Restaurant & Guest Accommodation Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing