We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"O. M. G"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tenby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buttyland Touring Caravan & Tent Park
Ranked #9 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Tenby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"O. M. G"”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Spent the bank holiday weekend at Buttyland with my husband, four year old son and dog.... When we first arrived thought what a nice site....... Staff very friendly and shown straight to a good hardstanding pitch for our caravan.... The other campers were loverly playin football with our son..... We then decided to go to check the shower and toilet facilities and I'm afraid that is where the good met the bad and the ugly!!!!!! The OMG was for the shack that was supposed to be the shower block...... Disgusting is not the word, my husband did have to use the toilet no2 but was not told that a man who was fixin the toilet had turned the water off!!!! I never went back for the whole weekend because of the terrible smell an no way was I goin in the shower!!!! All in all the block needs to be demolished as it's a health hazard!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stewpotsjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    19
    20
    13
    17
See reviews for
76
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Arrived at this campsite on the Friday evening having taken over 3 hours to get there due to traffic. When we arrived we were greeted by two women who had no idea where our pitch was supposed to be. After a lot of walking between pitches, they finally found our pitch. This was quite small, but enough room for our 4 man tent and the car. The pitches were all rammed up close together with peoples guy ropes crossing over eachother.

The facilities were shocking. Only 5 female toilets which were basically in a portacabin. You had to pass the mens toilets to get to them and these really smelled. There was only 2 washing up sinks and very few showers. It says on the website that they have a fully licensed bar - this is in fact another portacabin that serves lager and cider in cans!

There was no peace at night with loud music, babies crying etc.

The whole site was rammed packed and there was no where near enough facilities to cater for everybody. We ended up only staying one night as this place was just awful.

From looking at their website, the reviews are excellent, but if you look a little closer you will see that the earliest review is from 2010 going back to 2007. There is no option to add your own review direct to their website. Therefore, i suspect they have specifically chosen the reviews they have on their site. It is very misleading. Someone mentioned that the toilets had been updated - I'd like to see what they were like before if they are this bad now!

All in all, this was a dreaful place to stay. The surrounding area is wonderful and a definite must see, just don't stay at Buttyland to explore it! Buttland - the name says it all really!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ruthie_Andy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdare
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights with 6 adults & 3 children. The fields were lovely with lots of space for the kids to run around and the owner seemed welcoming when we checked in. However, they campsite claims to have 'rules' about noise after 10pm but they don't seem to enforce it. We didn't get a wink of sleep on the 1st night as there was a group of about 6 tents who were up partying until around 4am. The showers were only hot if you went first thing in the morning (about 7-8am), after that they were cold. The owners need to invest in more washing up sinks as there was always a queue. The fish and chip van just at the entrance to the park did lovely chips, but we had to wait about 20 mins for them to be cooked and a further 10 mins if we wanted fish/ sausage with it as they only had 1 fryer. There was no shop on-site, the nearest one was a few minutes drive away. Despite all of these negative comments, we did have an enjoyable weekend, but will try another site with better facilities next time.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank xxkellyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2011

What a great site and location the staff were friendly Damion and Lynn made us all feel very welcome.The food at the surf shack was good as was the bingo and quiz nights. We were camping,there were a lot of people on site but the noise levels were very good everything seemed to go quiet at 11pm. The facilities were basic but very clean showers were warm. There was electric points in the showers and WiFi if you needed it. There is a small children arcade which my children loved . You can store your frozen food in the freezer and there is a washing machine and dryer on site.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mouthy1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We attended the site and found it well located for local features and attractions. This is a fabulous part of the UK and well worth a visit. The campsite was well laid out. The facilities were poor: the gents toilets had faeces on the cubical walls, one of the WCs was out of order and filthy, strewn with toilet roll for the week we were there. The showers were only just warm and were unclean. It would seem it both facilities the floors are mopped but little else is done. Like the previous reviewer we had items stolen whilst camping, experienced unaccountable aggression from other campers and suffered very noisy neighbours, with camp staff being lovely but useless at resolving our issues. On the site were a semi-permanent Irish traveller family. They were friendly, as were the many who visited them, but the generator was loud as were the occasional arguments they had over mobile telephones. Seagulls visited early each morning with a lot of noise. The games room is a broken shack with only gambling machines available for the children - it looked like a safety nightmare! We won't be returning to this site, but the area is great and offers many other choices for camping.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We spent a week at Buttyland with some friends and all our children. The location is pleasant, and the grass well kept with a good open space for children to play. Facilities are basic, but the Ladies toilets were spotless throughout our stay. The " room" is a joke.

Unfortunately our stay was spoilt by two unsavoury incidents.

First our freezer blocks were stolen from the communal freezer, and on reporting this we were assured that things never got stolen here. No offer was made at the time to replace them, or even to replace the £2 name tag.

Secondly our children found some toys buried in the hedgerow and, assuming they had been abandoned by a departing family some time ago, played with them. It turns out that they had been reported stolen from another family on the site and deliberately hidden, and worse still, the man to whom they belonged waited until we were out and then came and trashed our stuff.

There were a number of upset and concerned eye witnesses, yet the owner was unwilling to instigate any action, even when we pointed out that this man's behaviour was violent and unreasonable.

When we expressed (politely) our dissatisfaction with his response to both incidents, he became quite argumentative and agressive towards us.

Whilst management clearly cannot know in advance the clientele they are accommodating, we feel strongly that they have a responsibility to ensure the safety and security of the people on their campsite, and in this instance they failed to do so.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IckParva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We only stopped at this campsite for 3 nights and i'm glad about that. The fields are actually in very good condition and the views from the campsite are good as well so the setting is great. We stayed in a tent and payed £24 per night which is rather average for a campsite in Pembrokeshire.

I'll now move on to the campsites bad points which are firstly it seemed a bit gypsy, the washing facilities were right outside of the toilets, there was only one sink in the toilets and they're in need of refurbishment, last but not least the arcade is a shed and just has a load of rubbish inside of it. My final bad point for this campsite are the showers and its a major bad point, when you've been on the beach all day getting covered in sun cream, salt and sand all you want is a nice warm shower when you get back, in this case you got a freezing shower in what was pretty much a toilet cubicle. The shower cubicles are tiny, there is nowhere to put your towel and clothes. There was a notice on the door which said 'showers may be cold when all three are in use' this was complete rubbish as me, my brother and my uncle were in all three showers so we tested it, we turned two off and just had one on, the one that was on was just as freezing as before.

My conclusion is that there are much better campsites in pembrokeshire than this one, I actually felt conned when I left this campsite because I had payed £24 a night to someone who wouldn't even turn the boiler on.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomas1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
3.5 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
3.4 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
709 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Cottage Court Hotel
Cottage Court Hotel
#18 of 23 in Tenby
129 reviews
4.1 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
386 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beavers Retreat Glamping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buttyland Touring Caravan & Tent Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttyland Touring Caravan & Tent Park

Property: Buttyland Touring Caravan & Tent Park
Address: Manorbier, Tenby SA70 7SH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Tenby
Hotel Class:3 star — Buttyland Touring Caravan & Tent Park 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Buttyland Touring Caravan & Tent Park Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing