We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tapas!”

The Terrace Tapas & Wine Bar
Ranked #7 of 120 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $64
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Family run and family friendly tapas and wine bar serving 30+ traditional Spanish tapas dishes. With set menus, endless tapas deals, a childrens menu, not to mention the vegetarian and gluten free options there's plenty to choose from. We have a full bar, with wines, cocktails and even a gin Y tonica menu. With the orginal Victorian dining room, bar and outside terrace we are able to cater for 80+ guests. WINTER - Thursday to Saturday evenings from 6pm SUMMER - Tuesday to Saturday evenings from 6pm (includes bank holiday Sundays) If we haven't exceeded your expectations, please tell us first and give us the courtesy of putting things right for you, rather than simply posting a negative review.
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Tapas!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Had a meal here on Saturday evening. Although it appeared very busy, they where happy to fit us in! Having not eaten here before, we were not sure of the size of the portions for each Tapas, so decided to have the set menu - having 5 different tapas, with visits to the salad and also including a meat and cheese platter to start.

All was very well done and the food was superb! The 'Gambas Pil Pil' - tiger prawns in Garlic, Chilli flakes and Olive Oil was fantastic. Asked for more bread to soak up all the oil!

I would say the only thing missing was a view over the sea and some sun!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraceTapasBar, Owner at The Terrace Tapas & Wine Bar, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks for your review - the new favourites set menu is a great hit ! We do have a couple of tables in our main dining room with sea & fab sunset views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    146
    55
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great Tapas, good night out.”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We ate here on spec as a group of 11 on a very busy Friday night and were impressed that the staff really put themselves out to fit us in, eventually managing to seat us all together on two tables.
The tapas are very authentic Spanish (well, the Spanish ones anyway, I didn't try the Tex Mex!) and were hot, tasty and very filling. The staff were friendly and made us feel very welcome, joining in the banter between the tables. It was a great chance to convert the more conservative members of the party to eating continental.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank katie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraceTapasBar, Owner at The Terrace Tapas & Wine Bar, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Tapas coverts - that what I like to hear - thank you;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“All you can eat Tapas”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

There are two all you can eat deals an early bird and a slightly more expensive late deal. We were a large group and were sat quickly and served well. There are rules with the food for the deal, but they are not difficult. The mozzerella sticks and the onion rings were my favourite. The staff member serving us was very attentive and earned his tip and it was a great evening out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraceTapasBar, Owner at The Terrace Tapas & Wine Bar, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
I'm glad you had a great time & Jamie looked after you well ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We opted for the 'all you can eat' tapas, which were excellent. The patatas bravas and the alioli in particular were as good as any we've had in Spain. Lovely atmosphere, relaxed and easy-going, yet the staff were attentive and on the ball. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraceTapasBar, Owner at The Terrace Tapas & Wine Bar, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your review - we do try & offer a chilled environment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great wine menu, great view of sunset!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Great food, great wine menu, great view of sunset! We ended up going here twice in one week once for food and once just for drinks. Its a very versatile place for a group with different tastes and also quite a few good selections for vegetarians

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraceTapasBar, Owner at The Terrace Tapas & Wine Bar, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for lovely review - the view of the sunset is truly amazing - you can see our Facebook page to bring back the memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Terrace Tapas & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Terrace Tapas & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing