We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good selection”
Review of Gurkha Restaurant

Gurkha Restaurant
Ranked #70 of 120 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
croydon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good selection”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We visited during the week after Easter So did not expect to find a big selection.The staff were friendly including the chef who kept popping out to check on the buffet. There was a small selection of Indian and chinese food,which chef kept topping up,if needed.It cost £11.95 a head which we found good value for money. Well worth a visit if you are in town.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank lilibeth61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    44
    21
    13
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best place”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We are from Oxfordshire we visit the Ghurka a few times a year. The food is extremely good. Very friendly staff. We love it there

Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Terrible good”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Went about 9pm, most containers were on the verge of empty, what was left was watery and very little meat left in them. Crispy seaweed dripping in oil on the whole probably worst Chinese/Indian we've ever tasted.
Only plus was the waitress who was chatty and friendly

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
69 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Ilfracombe Quality”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Nice food and you can see into the kitchen area too

Kitchen chefs very pleasant

The food very good indeed

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SAH4390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Early Evening meal in Ilfracombe”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had an early evening visit and found the food choice very good, with a few old favorites back on the menu.

The food was freshly cooked and the drinks seem to be more reasonably priced than on past visits.

The kitchen staff very efficient and friendly and keeping the serving area freshly stocked with freshly cooked food.

The duck and pancakes are Lush!!

The only issue is the outside of the restaurant is slightly scruffy and needs some new paintwork. This we feel would attract more passing trade.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gurkha Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gurkha Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing