We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of two fab chippys in Ilfracombe”
Review of Maddys Chippy

Maddys Chippy
Ranked #28 of 120 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of two fab chippys in Ilfracombe”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our regular haunt for our fortnights holiday in Ilfracombe. Nice staff, lovely food - usually about £29 for 5 of us to eat in, £18 for a takeaway. All food cooked fresh, really helpful - puddings look good as well, but we can never manage one after all the chips! Lynbay is a decent chippy as well, but menu a wee bit limited. Ilfracombe Fryer usually OK, but staff can border on rude-ish!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    71
    24
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“best fish and chips in town”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

love the crispy fresh cooked cod/haddock and yummy fresh potatoe chips, not frozen or chilled like sum chippys, propper chips!! mushy peas and curry sauce to go with it tried and tested many times!!!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angiemays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Traditional chippy!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

I love a traditional chippy... Nothing fancy, just great food. Loved the food! My mum got a children's cod and chips and the size was great... Full but not stuffed and the kids meal was superb value. I just had chips... Thought the portion was small.... But it filled me so I probably just shouldn't be so greedy!!
Service was fine, lovely young girl who brought out some scissors when my partner struggled to open his sauce sachet!!
If anything negative to say, then it's slightly expensive-BUT it was the same price as other places in town and the price of fish is on the up, so I suppose that's fair enough
Would recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kateandadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food ok”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Fish and chips very nice.Thank god! After having had the worst Fish and Chips ever at the Dolphin. Never ever go there it's terrible! The chef came out with a bag of frozen chips and frozen fish and stuck them in the fryer...... And it was £7.50 dirty and horrible!
Would return to this chip shop again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Strokes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fresh fish&chips”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

just returned from a weekend in ilfracombe so called in at maddys chippy as it was recommended to me by the owners of the guest house we were staying in.i was not disappointed fresh fish and chips good size portions.excellent value for money would recommend a visit

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pete k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maddys Chippy also viewed

 
Ilfracombe, Devon
Ilfracombe, Devon
 

Been to Maddys Chippy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing