We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant food at a good price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Combe Cottage Restaurant - CLOSED

Combe Cottage Restaurant
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: British, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: At Combe Cottage Restaurant and Cafe the emphasis is on home cooked meals using fresh local ingredients. We are proud to support our local producers and suppliers.Full of character and charm our restaurant is ideally situated on the bustling Ilfracombe High Street. We would like to extend a warm welcome to all.
Ilfracombe, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant food at a good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Food was delicious and I was delighted with the service I received lots of choice and all at good price

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulw09, Owner at Combe Cottage Restaurant, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Many thanks for your review. We really do think that 'brilliant food' is possible without breaking the bank. Homemade and using local ingredients our menus aim to have 'something for everyone' both with regards to both the dishes available and the cost. We also believe that good service is a massive part of the dining experience and hope that each member of our team is seen to provide just that. Look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    24
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broughton Astley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent - home cooked.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

A small homely restaurant on the high street with only 20 or so seats. Menu had lots of variety and food was excellent. I had the feta cheese salad to start and the lamb as a main course. My wife choose prawns to start followed by beef from the specials board. Wine was sensibly priced and service was attentive. A relaxed homely ambience prevailed with old tables and chairs - substance over style!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulw09, Owner at Combe Cottage Restaurant, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are of course delighted that both you and your wife enjoyed your meal here and look forward to seeing you again if you are ever in the area. Apologies for the delayed response - I have no idea where the reply I posted went to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Excellent food, service and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Visited Combe Cottage in September when we were visiting one of my wife's relatives in the area. Good selection of food from menu and, most importantly, freshly-cooked gluten-free choices not just vegetarian posing as "suitable for gluten-free diets". Excellent food, value and service and a pleasure to enjoy this experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulw09, Owner at Combe Cottage Restaurant, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your really lovely review, we have some truly wonderful local customers and really appreciate their loyalty. Thrilled to hear our deserts are amongst the best you have ever tasted as yes, we strive to serve our fair trade coffee fresh and tasty, there is nothing worse than buying a cup of stewed coffee (ugh!). Look forward to seeing you guys again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Food,Service and Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We frequently visit this restaurant for lunch and would recommend it to all. Family run, the food is freshly cooked, arrives hot and is delicious to the palate. The deserts are amongst the best I have ever tasted and the coffee fresh and tasty. It is advisable to book as it's reputation speaks volumes and it is always busy. We love it and commend it to all.

Richard & Anna

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard_BJ2346ZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulw09, Owner at Combe Cottage Restaurant, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Many thanks for your review. If our food service and value for money are all seen as excellent we have achieved our aims. So glad you enjoyed your visit to Combe Cottage and we will look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke
1 review
“exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Fresh, tasty and excellent value for moey. Our expectations were high and this charming restaurant delivered. We would not hesitste to recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gill f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulw09, Owner at Combe Cottage Restaurant, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Many thanks for your review and recommendation. So glad you found us and enjoyed your evening. We will look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Combe Cottage Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing