We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Combe Cottage Restaurant - CLOSED

Combe Cottage Restaurant
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: British, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: At Combe Cottage Restaurant and Cafe the emphasis is on home cooked meals using fresh local ingredients. We are proud to support our local producers and suppliers.Full of character and charm our restaurant is ideally situated on the bustling Ilfracombe High Street. We would like to extend a warm welcome to all.
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Birthday celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a marvellous evening for my wife's birthday celebration.

They were very happy to accommodate our vegetarian requests and did a "special" just for us. They also cooked a wonderful chocolate birthday cake.

Second meal I've had there, always excellent, everything freshly prepared and a wonderful atmosphere. Couldn't find better.

John & Miranda Duncan

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulw09, Owner at Combe Cottage Restaurant, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Many thanks for your review, we were so glad that you enjoyed your birthday celebrations and the vegetarian specials we laid on for your (mostly vegetarian) party. We do our best to adjust menus to suit our customers needs wherever possible. So pleased you enjoyed the chocolate birthday cake too! It is one of my most requested birthday cakes and never fails to please (you just have to ignore the calorie count!). Hope to see you all again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    24
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ilfracombe
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Poetry on a plateo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

It's been too long since I visited Combe Cottage - we won't wait so long again. As always the welcome was warm and friendly and the food was superb. I had the lamb and it was sublime, and the vegetables are always just right. My other half had the seafood platter, no grease here, just perfectly cooked seafood and chips. Such a relief compared to chains that serve up predictable microwaved food with no soul!
One word of warning though - do ring and book - even though we live close we would never assume that there will be room, they are frequently booked out or have private parties, and the owners do reserve the right to close if they are have no bookings on the occasional quiet night.
We are already planning our next visit and are determined to take friends with us - Christmas will give the excuse we need for that....

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gingerIlfracombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulw09, Owner at Combe Cottage Restaurant, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review - our roast lamb on minted mash has proved extremely popular and I am so glad you enjoyed it. Thanks also for highlighting the fact that booking in advance is always recommended. It's true that (especially peak season and in the build up to Christmas) we are often booked up with private parties.

Hope to see you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

My family have been regulars at Kate and Pauls since they opened some years ago.We can not praise them enough.The food is the best lunchtime eating in Ifracombe, something different to the usual cafes.Kate is a wizard with herbs and her lamb is superb.Pauls service is very proficient.Such lovely kind and genuine people.These are the reasons why many of us locals are eating there every week.
See you soon, Love Debbie and Lynne xx

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulw09, Owner at Combe Cottage Restaurant, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Many thanks for your really lovely review. We are so lucky here at Combe Cottage to have had some of the nicest people as regulars over the last eight years and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband, myself and adult daughter ate here on two occasions whilst on holiday in Ilfracombe last week. I had looked the restaurant up on Tripadvisor before we went and read the favourable reviews. We weren't disappointed. We all had very different meals; the pork medallions, seafood platter, roast shoulder of lamb and a melt-in-the mouth beef stroganoff. All were delicious. The summer strawberry and Pimms cheesecake was heavenly and the cheese platter had good choice of quality cheeses. When in Ilfracombe again will definitely eat there.
Paul was welcoming and friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulw09, Owner at Combe Cottage Restaurant, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was great to meet you and your family on two occasions during your stay in Ilfracombe. Glad you managed to try a number of different items from the menu and of course some goodies from the specials board. We look forward to seeing you all if you are in the area again (our new winter menu will be out soon, so there will be many more dishes to try!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice food, shame about the ambiance/service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Having read all the reviews prior to visiting, it's fair to say the bar had been set quite high, but as far as food quality was concerned it was pretty much reached. What rather let this quaint little restaurant down for us was the ambiance, (or rather the lack of it) and the overall level of service. I noted a previous review referred to it being something like a waiting room, which to be fair was perhaps a little harsh, but I kind of get the point being made. Our waiter, who I assume is also the owner was both polite and courteous, but far from attentive, spending an inordinate amount of time pandering to a table of 6 fellow diners. He did little or nothing to make us feel especially welcome, indeed when we ordered cheese and biscuits to share as a sweet he only bought one side plate, which seemed a little odd. We tried on several occasions to get his attention whilst he flitted frequently between the kitchen and the table of 6, but all to no avail. Would we go again, yes we would, but we certainly won't be rushing!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdrianCrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulw09, Manager at Combe Cottage Restaurant, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for the review, glad you enjoyed the food which is the main reason for visiting a restaurant after all.

I am sorry the service did not meet your expectations. Some customers like lots of attention and others would rather be left to their own devices and it appears we got the balance wrong in your case. We will make sure we take a third plate out if two are sharing a cheese plate in future.

As for the ambiance/atmosphere, the restaurant was full on the evening in question with a mixture of returning customers, locals and a small birthday party that gave (we thought) a nice buzz about the place. Our failing, it appears, was to not make you feel part of it which is a shame.

Hopefully you will return so we can try to make your all-round dining experience a better one next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Combe Cottage Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing