We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hospitality, fun surroundings and delicious puds!”
Review of The Starter Bar

The Starter Bar
Ranked #39 of 120 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Cuisines: Barbecue, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Starter Bar is a unique restaurant, only serving homemade starters and desserts, Do not panic we intend the starters to be like tapas, pick and mix, it's actually a great idea because everything on the menu is mouth-watering - why wouldn't you want to try a few of the dishes. A family run restaurant, with a friendly atmosphere. Whether you are looking for a nice lunch or a candle lit dinner, we can cater to your needs. We also cater for special occasions. We offer a wide range of Meat, Vegetarian and Seafood starters as well as Traditional Desserts, Crepes and Sundae's. Cocktails - Delicious cocktails to start or even end your day We are a family and Dog friendly restaurant also
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great hospitality, fun surroundings and delicious puds!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We spotted The Starter Bar on our first wander around Ilfracombe and were attracted by the seaside decor and the nice lady who suggested we pop in for a pudding.


Later that evening after being disappointed by the number of restaurants which were closed on a Tuesday night in high season, we popped in for freshly made crepes and key lime pie! Both were delicious and obviously home made.

The staff are lovely and we wished we had gone earlier and had a selection of 'starters' which are more like tapas.

My only criticism would be the name of the restaurant which makes you think you can't go for a full meal out when in reality you can enjoy a tapas style meal and a wonderful pudding!

We hope everyone gives this great little restaurant a try!





Helpful?
2 Thank 254sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    44
    15
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Combe Martin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent ...”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Being local we've tried a few, nice place, excellent food and the slush drink was gorgeous and perfect on the day as recommended by the owner, that tells you a lot about the service, faultless.
We're looking forward to trying the rest of the menu. North Devon does it again, wahoo !!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dave b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Delicious food in gorgeous surroundings!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We stumbled across this restaurant whilst on holiday and couldn't have enjoyed it more. Loved the decor and the staff were really friendly and helpful, providing a lovely clean highchair and taking the time to chat to our children. The food more than lived up to the surroundings - we had quite a selection between us and it was all delicious. I particularly enjoyed the fish cakes and samosas, my husband said the custard on his treacle pudding was some of the best he'd ever tasted. We'll definitely be back if we're ever in Ilfracombe again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fantastic concept, excellent choice and value”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had planned to go to another restaurant but they were closed for a few days so we wandered back down the hill (Fore St) and stumbled across this place. The staff were very welcoming and the restaurant is nicely decorated.
What we really liked, apart from the service, was the great concept here. It is basically like a tapas restaurant where you choose a couple of "starters" each.
We had mussels, garlic prawns, samosas, meat balls, mac & cheese, lamb kebabs, lentil & chick pea dahl and spicy chicken wings (there were 4 of us!) and each dish was excellent, all clearly homemade and beautifully fresh. The homemade brownie sundae and nutella crepes were a great way to end the meal and we all ended up full, and happy! The whole meal, including a very well made Pina Colada and a couple of glasses of wine, was just over £60 for a family of four. Superb value and somewhere you have to try.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christhewino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NIce Atmosphere. Good Food”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

NIce Atmosphere. Good Food
We popped in here by chance when meeting up with Family. The Food was extremely tasty, well presented and reasonably priced
The Staff were helpful and friendly.
A mixture of Tapas, Light Bites, Cocktails and Puddings.
We will look forward to visiting again
.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Starter Bar also viewed

Ilfracombe, Devon
Ilfracombe, Devon
 

Been to The Starter Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing