We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cafe to visit...”
Review of The Starter Bar

The Starter Bar
Ranked #40 of 120 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Starter Bar is a unique restaurant, only serving homemade starters and desserts, Do not panic we intend the starters to be like tapas, pick and mix, it's actually a great idea because everything on the menu is mouth-watering - why wouldn't you want to try a few of the dishes. A family run restaurant, with a friendly atmosphere. Whether you are looking for a nice lunch or a candle lit dinner, we can cater to your needs. We also cater for special occasions. We offer a wide range of Meat, Vegetarian and Seafood starters as well as Traditional Desserts, Crepes and Sundae's. Cocktails - Delicious cocktails to start or even end your day We are a family and Dog friendly restaurant also
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A cafe to visit...”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

... only oppenned a couple of months. Many varied choices. We went there a couple of times within 3 days. Yes, I agree that some of the dishes were at least part microwaved but that was only apparent to me when I found that they were too hot to eat and had to be left for a minute ir two to cool. Overall we all had an excellent time and we even taught them about corkage - I went home for some wine!

Do go and try their 'cafe' you won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
1 Thank wiselady1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte H, Owner at The Starter Bar, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for review and tips for the Starter Bar, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    45
    15
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely food brilliant staff”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is a lovely restaurant, the food is lovely and the staff are very friendly and helpful, if you come to Ilfracombe please try this place, it is well worth the visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonJoy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte H, Owner at The Starter Bar, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you very much, I am happy that you found the staff friendly. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never Again”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had a seafood platter, which only consisted of scampi & cod bite's both of which was preformed fish and a fishcake that just tasted of potato. The side salad consisted of some lettuce 1 cherry tomato and 1 piece of cucumber. Not good value at £9.99. With the restaurant only yard's from the pier and the prices being charged we were really expecting locally caught fresh fish .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria110867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte H, Owner at The Starter Bar, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hello, I am sorry you felt that way, it would have been beneficial to both parties if you had informed us of your complaint at the time, as I would of happily have changed your meal or offered you something else. Also we do not serve locally caught fresh fish in the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stay away.”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

The worst food ever. Frozen ping food. You could do better with Iceland frozen food done at home. The sizzling garlic prawns are the cheapest prawns microwaved; and they come in a dish looking like cooked maggots in oil - they measure no more than 1cm. The meatballs - who knows what's in them, the owner didn't even know, but tried to assure us the sauce was homemade. The garlic bread has never seen garlic. And the onion rings are reformed cheapest rings you could source. Stay clear, go and have a main meal somewhere else. One star as the wine was ok.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Dadfromdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte H, Owner at The Starter Bar, responded to this review, April 5, 2015
Thank you for your review, I am sorry you had a bad experience. As last year was our first year we had a few teething problems. We take everyone's comments seriously and have now changed a few items on our menu for the new season. I hope you will give us another chance. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“New Begining”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We were approached by a lovely young lady on our first night in Ilfracombe and she persuaded to eat in her family restaurant which had only been open for a couple of months we booked for the following night. We arrived about 8pm to be greeted by sisters Alex and Charlotte, just starters and puds order as much or as little as you need add more if you require great choices great atmosphere helped along by the two sisters. Would recommend a visit when in town We wish them well

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrv13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte H, Owner at The Starter Bar, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your kinds words and I am glad you had a wonderful night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Starter Bar also viewed

Ilfracombe, Devon
Ilfracombe, Devon
 
Ilfracombe, Devon
Ilfracombe, Devon
 

Been to The Starter Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing