We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great views from the terrace”

The Admiral Collingwood
Ranked #14 of 120 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great views from the terrace”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

service at times was slow but it has only recently opened ,hopefully that will improve , staff were friendly , air-conditioned downstairs , good views with a relaxed atmosphere on the roof terrace

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ingle189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    309
    106
    38
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rutland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Great Venue...Plus and Minus”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

On the whole, Wetherspoon's bridges the gap between expensive exclusive foodies where the tables are premium, and the average punter on a holiday budget. 'Combe's pubs need to grab hold of that market in between. Weddings, parties and staff bashes are a missed market in the 'Combe that just plods along. Music is popular in Ilfracombe, but sadly we have only a couple of Speak Easy's. It's truly hard to find a good night out with music, fun and parties in the 'Combe. Wetherspoons does not give us that party and music experience.

Used to great food and Bistros on the 'Combe's lovely Fore Street and Quay, we had a Thursday curry at the Admiral in July. True to expectations, the "Quayside and Fore" cannot be beaten for authentic North Devon character. Our authentic local Pubs, some several hundred years old, are sadly under-estimated and must try harder. We were also at the Admiral's much vaunted opening, wowed by the venue and the quality of the interior. Bar staff were bright and smiley, but the food went awry. We could see food piling up at the dispersal points with face-palming confusion. Also heard 'this bar is closed please go downstairs', 'the coffee machine is being cleaned' early in the evening. That attitude simply oozes idleness and poor hospitality, but it's another opportunity for the local Pubs.

On that first Saturday in 'Spoons, "Security" was far too intrusive at the front, we got fed up of listening to them, to be honest. Quality venues do not allow bolshy security to stalk the doors and hassle the punters.

Where the place shines is that it has none of that grumpy Landlord business, private Pubs can be plagued by managers that sometimes treat the punters like they treat their staff. Though that's rare, it certainly happens. And, the Admiral's staff, their comfy tables inside and outside, and snug atmosphere where you can smoke, are the main attractions when you fancy their Thursday Curry or their interesting specials with a low cost drink. The staff are not blasé at all. These are the keys to good business and turnover folks! But feeling at home in 'Spoons when there are unique venues and real locals to talk to is not the point of a holiday in a North Devon seaside resort, is it?

A fairly recent addition to the town the Pub looks good. Daytimes are pleasant. The food is okay, the staff are on the whole helpful, the décor is superb and the Admiral's clean. 'Spoons seems the busiest joint in the 'combe to be honest. Where it is situated they will make a killing when the Cafes close up at 4.30 in the afternoon (most of them) and won't put up a challenge to 'Spoons by offering something different and exciting. Wetherspoons serves food up until 11.00 pm. 'Combe's real jewels and genuine local dishes are found down by the sea. Foodies will need to try Fore Street in the 'Combe for that Parisian flavour, wonderful restaurants and Pubs down there, or try the Quay for quality. 'Spoons has none of that. The tourists will feel at home in their comfort zone, and when grockles don't feel attracted to local Pubs and restaurants with no music or fun, or when cafes are shutting up early in peak times, 'Spoons will get the business.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank pamela h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great venue”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Went here for Saturday lunch and sat out side on the upper terrace. Great service and we all had different meals which we all enjoyed. Prices were great well worth another visit.

Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Great location with loads of outdoor seating upstairs with lovely views over to capstone hill on the sea.

Usual weatherspoons food menu and quality, don't expect bells and whistles but you get what you pay for which is decent enough food at a decent price along with a cheap pint.

Keeps me happy enough...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilfracombe
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not good for Ilfracombe”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I am local and my wife and I tried the great looking Admiral Collingwood. Disappointed with availability of food, poor service and lack of management in the place. What upset me most was two holiday makers asked staff where else was there to go around the town and they were told not to go round the harbour area as nothing was worth going for around there! How to promote the town you've just opened up in NOT.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blueboy25Ilfracombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Admiral Collingwood also viewed

 

Been to The Admiral Collingwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing