We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb bank holiday stay”
Review of Harcourt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harcourt Hotel
Ranked #5 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Just returned from a lovely extended Bank holiday weekend. Very friendly and helpful staff. Accommodation good, breakfast lovely. I will be going back and soon! Thanks to Jacqui, Kirsty and Emily for a lovely stay.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirsty d, Owner at Harcourt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is nice to hear from people that we are doing our job well. There are always improvements that can be made and I hope that we continuously do this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 193 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

One night stay in Ilfracombe. This is an old family run hotel, with the usual old layout that hotels have. Despite that the stay was pleasant, the people friendly and welcoming, breakfast very nice and the location very handy for all of Ilfracombe.

Room Tip: Look for rooms facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirsty d, Owner at Harcourt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you had a pleasant stay and hope that you may one day return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Visited the Harcourt Hotel with my wife and Golden Labrador ( very dog friendly hotel) Our room was well equipt and modern in design. It was cleaned every day of our three day stay. The breakfast will definitely set you up for the day. All the staff here are great and very friendly and can't do enough for you. We have booked to go back in June for a flying visit on our way to Cornwall. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n0rf0lk_lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirsty d, Owner at Harcourt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you so much for reviewing us and I am glad that you have re booked to visit us.See you in June!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Very warm welcome from Jackie (Kirtsy was away). Enjoyed our room with a view looking out over Capstan Hill and the bay. Great breakfast. All the best restaurants in Ilfracombe within a few hundred metres of the door. Verity is great.
Shower pressure not good.

Room Tip: Room 5 had great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirsty d, Owner at Harcourt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. I am sorry that the shower pressure was poor . We have looked into this and have hopefully rectified ithe problem. We hope that you visit us again.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

2nd time at this hotel, great staff,great rooms and great food!! They also allow dogs which is fantastic! They actually make the dog feel as welcome as the guests. Very helpful regarding points of interest and when our daughter arrived without a booking they found her a room!! All in all would recommend this hotel to everyone not just dog owners!! See you next year!!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank crapholWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirsty d, Owner at Harcourt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is so nice to hear when we get thing right! Hope we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Would like to thank Kirsty and her team for a fantastic 8 days at the Harcourt. The hotel is pristine, the breakfast to die for and the ambience is perfect. Although dog friendly there was not a hint of dog smell anywhere and our West Highland Terrier, Pebbles, was made to feel welcome. Location is perfect you can park up and stroll down to the Harbour in one direction and in the other a short stroll to the high street. Several eating places that will accept dogs as well. All in all a perfect holiday for us and we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Room 2 - spacious and with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirsty d, Owner at Harcourt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We enjoyed having you and look forward to seeing you in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Can't praise this little hotel enough. Stayed in Ilfracombe for a wedding and the Harcourt Hotel was a great place to stay, the room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was superb and Kirsty very warm and friendly. If staying in Ilfracombe again it'll be at the Harcourt.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plymbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
459 reviews
1 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 52 in Ilfracombe
447 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#15 of 20 in Ilfracombe
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
High Ways House
High Ways House
#1 of 1 in Mullacott
13 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
640 reviews
0.7 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harcourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harcourt Hotel

Address: 49 Fore Street, Ilfracombe EX34 9DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: $96 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harcourt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, recently refurbished, family run, dog friendly licensed hotel. Close to the Harbour, shops and sea front. We pride ourselves on our clean, friendly, home from home environment. All rooms are en-suite with color TVs and beverage facilities. We offer B&B with the option of evening meal, our menu caters for all tastes and dietary requirements. Limited parking spaces. Licensed bar, games rooms and guest TV lounge. Catering for single people up to a family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harcourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harcourt Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing