We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay well done to the staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harcourt Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Harcourt Hotel
Ranked #5 of 55 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great place to stay well done to the staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

A very well presented bb would recommend a hearty breakfast located well but on a steep road as with all of ilfracombe up and down

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seeker0fthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    29
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
68
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

As stated in the title this is more of a Bed & Breakfast/Guest House than a Hotel, it is a total residential place that requires a key to get into the front door and also has its rules and regulations with a 'spot fine' being given for those that fall foul of those rules. That being said I found this place to be very clean, the room and bathroom were small but functional, the breakfasts were lovely and the owner and her daughter were very friendly. It is situated within afew minutes walk from the town centre, harbour and promenade.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stickinsect_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

Our party consisted of 2 families with teenagers. Had a great time. Hotel clean, comfortable, great breakfasts and well placed for town and harbour. Bar and games room wonderful for teenagers and parents alike.Host very friendly and amazing at organising car park spaces!!! As in title A BRILLIANT PLACE TO STAY!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williamstina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

The Harcourt is indeed a little gem. The staff were extremely helpful and obliging yet not over the top. We booked a double and a single, the single for my dad, 89 years young and it was noticed by the owner that he would have trouble with the stairs to single. He was given a double room at no extra charge and also with no mention to us that his room had been changed for the better. The Harcourt is very clean ,very well run and affordable with excellent breakfasts ,and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dadmeandthewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

Had a perfectly lovely stay at Harcourt with my partner and was instantly impressed and warmed by Kirsty's (the owner) wonderful reception and hospitality.
Rooms were comfortable with all you'd expect and more than you need and nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast was good also.
Location was ideal and free Wifi too.
Can't help but mention Sax the most loveable parrot I've ever stroked!
Will definitely return next time I find myself in that neck'o'the woods!
x

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouieGribble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

A very welcoming, family run hotel. In an ideal location for all amenities. Great view from the back balcony and the breakfast in the morning was excellent. We intend to go again next year and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank empressboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

Lovely, welcoming hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. It was very clean, and breakfast were fantastic!
There are many things to do nearby so has a perfect location.
All the staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was perfect, even opening the bar half an hour earlier and getting up earlier to make sure our breakfasts were ready, when we came down an hour earlier to what we should of, thanks Kirsty!
It was like home-from-home and Kirsty, Darren and Lyn made us feel like part of the family. We will definately be returning.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGoodLookingOnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harcourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harcourt Hotel

Property: Harcourt Hotel
Address: 49 Fore Street, Ilfracombe EX34 9DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harcourt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, recently refurbished, family run, dog friendly licensed hotel. Close to the Harbour, shops and sea front. We pride ourselves on our clean, friendly, home from home environment. All rooms are en-suite with color TVs and beverage facilities. We offer B&B with the option of evening meal, our menu caters for all tastes and dietary requirements. Limited parking spaces. Licensed bar, games rooms and guest TV lounge. Catering for single people up to a family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Harcourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harcourt Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing