We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect guest house. .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dorchester Guest House
Ranked #6 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect guest house. .”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Had a fantastic break at this B & B .. very welcoming, spotlessly clean & lovely breakfast...if we are ever back to Ilfracombe it would be a pleasure to stay again.. Thank you so much :-)..... Simon & Carole

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siboy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
155
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed in a large room facing the garden at the back of the house. It was quiet and very comfortable. Good quality bed. Not the usual small box shower. Excellent breakfasts - compliments to the chef. Roomy & inviting facilities for guests, including a lounge, selection of DVDs, drinks & snacks . . . Julienne was very welcoming & helpful with local knowledge. Good location if you're happy for a short walk into the town (10 minutes). We definitely recommend this accommodation & would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our 1st wedding anniversary we made very welcome we only met julienne a fantastic warm friendly hostess nothing was too much trouble room was clean and comfortable we would reccomend this guest house and will be staying here again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samanthaworrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have just had a wonderful week at the Dorchester. Julienne and Peter are fantastic hosts, they cant do enough for you. The breakfasts were lovely choosing what you want the night before so it can be sorted for you, the room was fab we had the superior room with kingsize bed. Plenty of drinks in the fridge for you in your room Pop Beer Wine and fresh milk and water every day. All at very reasonable prices. As much tea and coffee as you want. The bathroom was a good size and a great shower. All very nice and very clean at all times. You can walk into town and to the harbour, takes about 15 minutes thats all. There are great little coffee bars, cafes,chip shops and of course pubs. All in all was really good. Thanks Julienne and Peter for making our break well worth while .. If we around this area again we will be back.. Take Care Cheryl and Gordon Turner

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester_2011, Owner at Dorchester Guest House, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are looking forward to the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blujus1
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My girlfriend and I first stayed with Julienne and Peter at the Dorchester last year, when we made a last minute booking in order to scope out Tunnels Beaches as our potential wedding venue.

And we enjoyed the experience so much that the first thing we did after booking Tunnels Beaches for our wedding (which was last Saturday) was to book out the whole of the Dorchester for the duration of the wedding weekend for my (now) wife's family.

The Dorchester's rooms are well-sized, modern, attractively decorated, incredibly clean, well-maintained and full of thoughtful touches, but what really sets the Dorchester apart is the warmth of the welcome you receive from the owners.

Nothing is too much hassle and they manage to make their guests feel more that they are good friends staying for the weekend, rather than customers paying for somewhere to sleep.

At Julienne's suggestion, she put on a really fabulous buffet for my wife's family and friends on the Friday evening before the wedding and she helped out with numerous requests over the weekend.

All in all, the Dorchester experience really helped to make the weekend one of the most memorable and pleasurable of our lives and, hopefully, we'll be returning to stay on anniversaries for many years to come.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blujus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester_2011, Owner at Dorchester Guest House, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
What can I say?! Thankyou for such an amazing review. We really enjoyed having you all to stay with us and were very happy to be part of your special day. Wishing you lots of happines for the future and hope to see you again. Julienne and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2013

all the little thoughtful gestures made our stay at the Dorchester home from home. a flask of fresh milk in the fridge kicked off the homey then a fully stocked fridge with soft drinks, beer and wine. a choice of tea and coffee ,hot chocolate and Horlicks went to improve the homey feel. and then you found the crisps and nuts. the honesty bar and good prices for crisps, nuts and drinks. our room was great and we felt welcome and at ease. a lovely stay thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyThomas52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst we went to a wedding at The Tunnels Beach. Julienne the owner was lovely, really welcoming, warm and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble.
The room we stayed in was a double room with en suite. It was very clean and spacious with everything we needed. The fridge was handy in the room as was the hair dryer! The paintings in the room and in the breakfast room are beautiful! Breakfast was lovely with a hot and cold breakfast to choose from. Theres nothing bad i can say at all about The Dorchester other than the steps leading up to the house are not suitable for anyone with mobility issues. I would stay here again and think we got value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
0.8 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
1.0 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 53 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Olive Branch
The Olive Branch
#9 of 53 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorchester Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorchester Guest House

Property: Dorchester Guest House
Address: 59 St. Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorchester Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dorchester is a tastefully restored Guest House. We have been accredited with a 4 Star Silver Award and a Breakfast Award. We are a short walk from the historic Tunnels Beaches and seafront. We offer Free Parking and Free Wi-Fi throughout.. Ilfracombe's Town Centre, pretty seafront and harbour and historic Tunnels Beaches are a short walk away. The elegant, stylishly furnished rooms at The Dorchester feature Flat Screen TV, DVD Player, hairdryer, generous hospitality tray and a small fridge stocked daily with fresh milk and a selection of wines, beers and soft drinks. Guests may also make use of free W-Fi and our new Guest Lounge.Breakfasts are freshly prepared using locally sourced produce, and are served daily in the bright and airy dining room. Recently achieved a Breakfast Award from Visit Britain. Fully licensed, there is a range of wines , beers and spirits available.The beautiful Exmoor National Park is 15 minutes drive away, whilst Ilfracombe Golf Club is just 5 minute drive. The pretty harbour, Blue Flag Tunnels Beaches, restaurants and shops are within walking distance. A bus stop directly outside the guest house can take guests to Barnstaple, Bideford and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dorchester Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorchester Guest House Hotel Ilfracombe
Dorchester Guest House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing