We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B highly recomend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dorchester Guest House
Ranked #4 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at the Dorchester over Aug bank holiday for a wedding in Ilfracoombe. Coming from Brighton, working in London and having our last holidays at Huvafen Fushi, Maldives and Jumeriah Beach, Dubai we are used to staying in 5* establishments. This of course is not a high end hotel. What it is is a superb beach town B&B with excellent service, great breakfasts', huge rooms (the room was probably bigger than at Jumeriah Beach), perfect location, easy to find from main road into Ilfracoombe, very comfy beds and all at a very good price.

I could not want more hear. My only small gripe was not having Sky TV which a lot of places have these days (and yes i can hear you asking why i need Sky on holiday - its just a nice to have when coming out the shower or returning to room). Although i was more than happy with the well stocked mini fridge.

The resounding factor for us was the owner/manager who was very friendly and could not do more to chat to us and answer any question we had. There are probably other good B&B's in town at a good rate but this place is set apart by the personal friendly manager.

I would highly recomend to anyone on any budget level.

Room Tip: We booked the big double room at the front. Prob about 15 x 18ft with ensuite - with huge super king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gibsonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 262 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

We arrived early at the Dorchester, and were welcomed by our hosts and shown to our excellent room (Superior Double). A fantastic view greeted us from the window which overlooked the hills and town. The decor, furnishings, and facillities provided were faultless. We enquired upon arrival wether our tiny dog might be welcome on a future visit, no problem! We walked easily into Ilfracombe town in 15 mins, had dinner and returned to our room. The rooms are quiet, we didn't know there were other guests until breakfast next morning where we found a busy breakfast room. We will be returning to the Dorchester, and would recommend it very highly indeed. Gary&Lucy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed one night as part of a random exploration of the west country. Th Dorchester came up while Googling with my phone, so I booked by phone and we went straight round. We had a lovely welcome, and I was astonished to find the room had a stocked fridge with wine, nibbles etc, and fresh milk (Oh joy, I hate UHT!). Plenty of space, great breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

we just came back from a 3-day break from North Devon and stayed at this guest house for 2 nights....very welcoming, very clean, light and spacious , and car park is a bonus. Hosts Julie and Peter are friendly , very helpful with local information.
Oh, must not sneeze under the roses as Peter had to sweep the pathway so many times a day to keep it clear/clean !
We highly recommend this guest house when touring North Devon ....

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lourdes47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We recently stayed for 3 nights and were very impressed with both the standard of the room and the breakfast selection. Everything was very clean and comfortable, the room included tea/coffee facilities, TV with DVD player, biscuits, mini fridge, and an ensuite bathroom. The owners were kind enough to offer the use of their freezer to store some of the fish my partner caught on a fishing trip and generally did everything possible to make our stay pleasant. Would definitely recommend and plan to stay there again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn_L_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hotel is actually better than the photos online. The rooms are clean with good decor, nice bathrooms and excellent breakfast with a choice of cooked food. Good location in the town near other B and B's about a ten minute walk from the centre. Was quiet and no traffic noise. Nice little extras (biscuits, tea and coffee, Dvd's, mini bar etc) which are helpful. Would recommend this guest house and return in future. Owner was hospitable and helpful. Thank you.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Suzanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed 2 nights and can fully endorse previous positive reviews. Our room was "cosy" but very comfortable. Very clean, large shower, TV, DVD player (with films available), tea/ coffee and well stocked mini bar and snacks. Lovely breakfast. The property is located on a fairly busy road amongst several other B & Bs approx 10 mins downhill walk to town and another 10 mins or so to the harbour. Close to the Torrs coastal path to Lee (3 miles) which has great views and a good pub (Grampus Inn) at the end.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 that I believe may be one of the smaller rooms. Some traffic noise which was not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJF100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Collingdale Guest House
The Collingdale Guest House
#2 of 52 in Ilfracombe
394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 52 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Olive Branch
The Olive Branch
#7 of 52 in Ilfracombe
190 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Rocky Cove Bed & Breakfast
The Rocky Cove Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 52 in Ilfracombe
80 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#16 of 20 in Ilfracombe
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorchester Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorchester Guest House

Address: 59 St. Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: $81 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorchester Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dorchester is a tastefully restored Guest House. We have been accredited with a 4 Star Silver Award and a Breakfast Award. We are a short walk from the historic Tunnels Beaches and seafront. We offer Free Parking and Free Wi-Fi throughout.. Ilfracombe's Town Centre, pretty seafront and harbour and historic Tunnels Beaches are a short walk away. The elegant, stylishly furnished rooms at The Dorchester feature Flat Screen TV, DVD Player, hairdryer, generous hospitality tray and a small fridge stocked daily with fresh milk and a selection of wines, beers and soft drinks. Guests may also make use of free W-Fi and our new Guest Lounge.Breakfasts are freshly prepared using locally sourced produce, and are served daily in the bright and airy dining room. Recently achieved a Breakfast Award from Visit Britain. Fully licensed, there is a range of wines , beers and spirits available.The beautiful Exmoor National Park is 15 minutes drive away, whilst Ilfracombe Golf Club is just 5 minute drive. The pretty harbour, Blue Flag Tunnels Beaches, restaurants and shops are within walking distance. A bus stop directly outside the guest house can take guests to Barnstaple, Bideford and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dorchester Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorchester Guest House Hotel Ilfracombe
Dorchester Guest House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing