We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (526)
Filter reviews
526 results
Traveler rating
294
146
46
19
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
294
146
46
19
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews road noise lakeside restaurant lovely site serviced pitch premier pitch toilet block overflow field main road underfloor heating woodland walk stream running hard standing dog walking onsite restaurant grass pitch shower facilities tv reception
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 526 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here to test out new motorhome, don’t be put off by the name this site is not hidden and easy to find! Very friendly welcome great hard standing pitch. Lots of people onsite even though it was off season. Disappointed the on-site restaurant closed this was not made clear, no pubs to walk to. Fab woodland dog walk, lovely clean showers. Luckily our pitch was away from busy road or that could be offputting. Will be returning.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank J Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2018

Stayed here for Christmas week - and we weren't disappointed. Yes there is road noise, but the campsite is situated by the A361, so you can't expect anything else! I guess some pitches might be quieter away from the road, but I can honestly say the road noise did not keep us awake. The facilities are spotless and the woodland walk for the dog - through the woods and along the river - was great! The pitch was fully serviced with water, electric and tv point. We didn't have the biggest pitch on the site but there was plenty of room for the caravan, awning and had a grass area as well. The site is within easy access of Braunton, Saunton Sands and Barnstaple for all your shopping needs. We were so impressed with the site that we're already considering booking for next Christmas. Thank you to all the staff!

Room tip: If possible get a pitch on "Elm" or "Oak" - these are the larger pitches.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SindersDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2018

Great site had a lovely pitch lovely sun in the afternoon good bus route outside the site restaurant was very good value and good food very clean toilets all service pitch was good will be back again as you are open all year

Date of stay: September 2018
2  Thank Butch4caravan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018

This was our first trip out in our brand new Motor Home with our dog so it was very exciting. The site had easy access off the A361 and plenty of space of arrivals. We were given a friendly welcome on arrival and directed to our pitch. The serviced pitch had electric, water, grey waste and a tv aerial point, there was a stone paved area to park motor home on and a gravelled area for our awning, there was also a grassed area with a picnic bench. All very good. There was a stream to the front and a woodland area to the back, very peaceful. Some reviews said the site was noisy from the A361 road noise. But all we could hear was the stream, quite relaxing and no road noise. Maybe if you were on a pitch nearer the road this would be a problem but not for us. Our pitch was Elm 4.
The site itself was very clean and tidy, had some lovely garden areas, with a lake, and also a restaurant and a beer garden. We did not use the restaurant as we had already catered for our meals, but had a beer or two on the terrace just outside the restaurant. I did hear that the food was very good though. The on-site facilities were very good, clean and tidy and functional. Although we used our own shower in the motor home. We mainly caught the bus with our dog from outside the site, went to Ilfracoombe, Saunton Sands, Croyde and Braunton, all with in very easy reach and the bus not to expensive either. We had a fabulous week and will use this site again when on our travels.

Date of stay: September 2018
2  Thank BOSAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018 via mobile

Spent a couple of nights here a very clean establishment shower blocks and toilets amongst the best I have ever encountered
The pitches are of good size spread across the two fields and are a mix of soft and hard standing all set in the beautiful natural woodland. The mains and water hook ups all excellent. The only criticism is the noise from the A361 this ruined our stay it is unforgiving never stops the site is too close to the road. So if you cannot sleep through constant traffic/road noise stay elsewhere.
The on-site Lakeside restaurant is very good with a good range of foods nicely cooked served by the very welcoming and polite Beata she is a credit to Hidden Valley.
There are lovely walks throughout the wiodlands and Ilfracombe and Woolacombe are a short drive up the road.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Honoured_accordingly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews