We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful week”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Last week I stayed in my campervan on a hard standing pitch with electric, with friends at this beautifully wooded site with wonderful bird song. I was very happily impressed with the superb amenities, the shower block with loos was pristine clean, sweet smelling with loads of hot water. Disposal of rubbish and recycling and the Elsan points were very well appointed and easily accessed. The local buses stop directly outside the site so getting to local towns and beaches was easy. Last and definitely not least, Carol, Ray and family who run the site could not have been more warm and welcoming or helpful in providing local information around places to go and best means of transport. I have no hesitation recommending this site.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    113
    38
    17
    17
See reviews for
168
188
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed on this site early May and were incredibly disappointed. How this site rates 5 star I simply do not know! We have stayed at many Best of British sites and this site is so far behind others we have stayed at it does not come even close.

I will say the family running the site are very helpful. However the site needs a fortune spending on it to bring it up to modern standards. Living on past glories?

The roads around the site are full of potholes and the general feel of the place is delapidated and tatty.

The worst experience was the toilet/shower block in the narrow valley. As previous reviewers have mentioned there is paint peeling off the ceiling and there is simply no excuse for this. Why it has not been corrected when reviewers have previously mentioned it I cannot understand.

We were a fully serviced pitch and without being able to use our own facilities we would have left after one night.

When we stayed the site was almost empty. We visited some sites nearby and they were almost full. It seems to me some people are voting with their feet and I can understand why.

My record of reviews show I do not critise normally but this was poor.

Avoid.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank winckleywhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenValleyManager, Manager at Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear winckleywhite,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a second review. We appreciate all reviews, as this helps up to improve our park and our service to you. I am having trouble finding any record of your booking, as this year we have not had any visitors by your name, or from the Preston area. This is why your first review was removed by TripAdvisor.

I am very sorry to hear that you though the park wasn’t good enough to have 5 stars. The grading scheme is assessed by Visit England and the AA independently from each other, and both regularly return similar results year after year with different assessors each year.
All Best of British parks differ from each other in their own way, the common factor being all are 5 star and have the highest of standards.

Unfortunately, there are a few potholes in the roads running around the site. At the end of last year we re-surfaced a large percentage of the road around the park. Other pot-holes are filled if and when they develop.

Because your review was written 6 months after your supposed visit, you will not have noticed that the unacceptable peeling paint on the ceiling was rectified soon after your departure. We couldn’t paint any earlier in the year as we have to wait for the ambient temperature to match that of the temperature generated by the showers. Because this shower block is open all-year, we are unable to close it off and paint in winter when we can control the temperature. I am terribly sorry that a little paint defect on the ceilings stopped you using the facilities.

I am surprised to read that you thought the park was almost empty during the time of your supposed visit in early May 2013, as we were 91% full and have one of the highest occupancy rates in North Devon. Half of all our business is repeat business - a figure which is increasing every year.

Once again I am truly sorry that you were disappointed. Thanks once again for taking the time to write a review.

Richard Legg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2013

There is only good to be said of this site. The appearance at the road side entrance and the drive way is welcoming. The staff are very friendly and exceptionally helpful. All the pitches are graded to meet each holidaymaker's requirement. There are 2 toilet block areas which include ladies and gents toilet and showers, washing up area and laundry facilities. One of the toilet blocks includes a bath - unique in our experience to any campsite. These facilities have been spotlessly clean for the total duration of our stay (two weeks).
There is a stream running through the site, lots of wild life to be seen. It has a wonderful forest area with tracks made at different ability levels to wander through the woods.
Outside the buses run every 20 minutes or so - and perhaps less frequently run into the evening. There are many local places of interest to visit whether by bus, cycle or own transport.
There are 2 playgrounds made for children. As you can see we have thoroughly enjoyed our visit and will definitely be back again and again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West lulworth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was our first trip out in our new caravan. The very friendly staff were very helpful. I was impressed with the shower facilities. We stayed on a premier pitch which had its own electricity, water and waste facilities as well as a TV hook up point and a picnic table. What more could we want?

Room Tip: Wi-Fi is available at a cost but everyone can have an introductory half hour for free. They don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Staff were very friendly, the pitch was very good, they even made a space available at last minute for our friends who were coming from Cornwall for 2 nights! It is great for families or just for chilling, Great bus services if you don't want to use the motorhome in those narrow roads! If I had one gripe, it would be lighting where we were and the toilet block was a little awkward for me because I am not good with steps, but to be fair I did not tell them that so it wasn't their fault. You can even have a bath if you want to - have never been on a campsite that offers that! I would certainly go back again.

Room Tip: It is a campsite so you would have to rate your own room!!!!:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Have stayed here twice now, out of season, so never full. Excellent facilities, heated shower floor area! Really excellent clean facilities. Hookups for hard standing excellent, and the ease and good value of the booking stands out.

Proximity to surfing beaches a priority, so this works well.
Close to road - which has pros and cons
Nearby pub -excellent food

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Extremely friendly and courteous staff, ideal location, good sized pitch and excellent amenities. I really don't understand what the moaning minnies find to complain about. The facilities, were always spotlessly clean, with good showers and plenty of hot water. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We were allocated a large pitch in Kingfisher meadow, adjacent to the toilet block which at first I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
4.8 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,748 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
105 reviews
3.9 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
782 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#1 of 25 in Ilfracombe
410 reviews
5.0 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park

Property: Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park
Address: West Down, Ilfracombe EX34 8NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst the rolling hills of North Devon and open all year, Hidden Valley Touring Caravan and Holiday Park is justly proud of its growing list of awards. These include the Gold David Bellamy Conservation Award, its 5 Star rating by 'Visit England', winners of the 'Holiday Park of the Year' and just last year we were honoured with the new AA 5 Pennants Award. Whether you are looking for a campsite to pitch your tent or touring caravan spaces, our Devon campsite provides it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing