We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely campsite would stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely campsite would stay again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

When we checked the reception staff were lovely, we were given a map of the site and suggested nice places to eat. A little shop is available and they do breakfast and cream teas! We booked a large pitch for our tent and were very happy with the size, it fit our tent and car perfect. We had a shared water tap but electric hook ups are available. The toilet and shower block were surprisingly nice, the shower was half decent and there was a mob and bucket available for you to mop up after yourself which meant the showers were kept clean. A washing up area was also available. Exploring the site is great, there is a place to run your dog if you have one. Lovely stay very pleased over all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melaniebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    111
    36
    17
    16
See reviews for
165
181
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We came here for a two week stay at the start of august. We had a good impression on entering the site with very nice gardens.Our hard standing pitch was very good no one behind us or in front just trees,the site felt a lot smaller than it was which is nice.There is a small shop ,good clean toilet block and the site is clean.good play area for the kids.
The only drawback is the road noise but you do get used to it .
Simply a very nice quality site, unlike some in the area we have been to ,booked up for next year says it all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have a VW camper and booked late availability, First night was spent in the basic camping Buttercup meadow in the bus, then we had a large serviced pitch from Tuesday through Saturday, we were worried about the size of our tent being too big, but it fitted the pitch with no problems at all, still lots of space, even with our bus parked on it too, the people complaining that they just about fitted on one must have brought their whole house and garden with them.

Electric hookup, water taps and a TV point if you wanted on each (serviced) pitch.

Toilets were fine as were the showers, always hot water available, and very clean toilets.

Staff were very friendly, road is a little bit bumpy on the way in/out, but it was fun, and we were in a lowered 45 year old camper, i imagine in a modern car you would hardly feel it, plus it helps stop people speeding down the slope

Ideal location for North Devon, shop has all you would need for basics, papers, bread, milk, and then some, also camping parts too, if you need more then you're not prepared or have missed all the shops in the villages & towns nearby.

The midweek BBQ is good value too.

The road noise is fine. It's camping, you're in a tent, and unless you live in a very deep cave in the middle of nowhere it's nothing out of the ordinary.

Visited Clovelly, Ilfracombe, Barnstaple, Croyde and Woolacombe whilst we stayed here. All within easy driving distance, all very hilly as North Devon is, but our bus coped fine.

Will be back without question.....and please don't ever get rid of the old style slide you have in the playpark.. we.. ahem... 'tested' it for suitability ;)

Really didn't want to leave.

A bit of advice, Braunton junction is very busy at rush hour times, so if you want to go somewhere, leave to pass it earlier rather than later.

Same on the day we left, the main road from Barnstaple to the M5 took around 2 hours to cover, rather than the 30-40 minutes it did on the way in, All due to everyone leaving at the same time, (10ish) next time I'm leaving earlier, (or much later)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMuffBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at the park as part of the VW Big Sunday event (though stayed 3 nights). The park is in such a beautiful location. No real issues to note...all good!
Shall be back again for the same next year, if not sooner!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We've just returned from a week's holiday at Hidden Valley, where we stayed along side another family.

PROS
-we had a large pitch which was more than enough for a large car and decent sized tent. The pitch was level and more than adequate for our needs.

-the reception staff were very friendly, and when checking in they gave us a map of the site and even suggested a local Indian takeaway to us.

-washing up facilities are good; clean and adequate.

-location: the site is a good base for exploring north devon.

-the owners run BBq's during high season. Whilst we didn't have anything, there seemed to be lots of very happy customers!

CONS
-the showers were abysmal, and temperatures ranged between boiling hot and freezing cold, as soon as anyone put a tap on in the block! They were also often very dirty with mud, which was disappointing considering this was a hot August. There was pain peeling from the walls and ceiling, and mould in places. The family shower had a broken light (its very dark in there with the door closed!) and the shower was perpetually cold. We complained, but nothing seemed to happen. It was suggested that we use the ones in the top block... (About a 15 minute walk with a toddler...!)

-the play park is incredibly dilapidated and in dire need of updating. They are up a very steep hill, and are dark and poorly lit (even during the day time!)

-the noise from the road is loud, often with motorbikes at night. We were quite far away, but were still occasionally woken up by the odd bike.

-there were wasps everywhere! We were swarmed and stung! Not sure what could be done, but it really put a dampener on things.

-we went for breakfast one morning about 9:30... It was closed. (!!)

-the campsite is on the Braunton Road, which is an absolute nightmare to get through. If you are wanting to get to Saunton or Croyde, take the right towards Georgeham after you've turned right out the campsite. This will save you so much time.

overall,

We paid around 40 a night for a large pitch and an awful shower. There really aren't enough facilities on site that warrant the price; we felt the site represented quite poor value for money. It's probably best for older couples, and definately not for children.

Room Tip: As far away from the road as possible. Avoid the cross section near the toilet block in kingfishe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Adamsgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenValleyManager, Manager at Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi Adamsgem.

Many thanks indeed for your comments, we are naturally pleased with your positive comments and take on board your negative ones. We are happy to receive all reviews so we can improve our service to you. I understand you were camping with Daviebway and one other family, and I am very sorry that you had some problems during your holiday.

We did indeed have a problem one morning over the bank holiday weekend whereby our boilers could not keep up with the demand for hot water and the temperature fluctuated for a short time, I am very sorry regarding this. Rest assured, we have investigated the problem and will be installing another two state of the art boilers taking the total number to 8, which is well above the manufactures recommendation. This will prevent any future problems.
Using our second shower block, although 300 meters across the park was an appropriate solution that morning, although perhaps not convenient for you.

We have very high cleanliness standards and thank you for bringing the mud to my attention.

I am truly very sorry that the bulb blew in one of the family shower rooms, this was replaced as soon as we were able to do so.

The childrens’ play park in Kingfisher Meadow is located within the forest, which we find most children love as they can explore without disturbing anyone. It does make it a little dark, being in the shade, but please remember this prevents small children from getting burnt by South Wests high UV count. I am truly sorry you did not find this appropriate.
I am also so sorry you thought the equipment was dilapidated we are looking at replacing the equipment in the coming years.

I can only apologise that you found some wasps during your stay, had you brought this to my attention during your holiday I could have dealt with the matter.

Unfortunately, we are unable to cook Full English Breakfasts on Thursdays and Fridays, as due to government guidelines the cook does need a day off. On these two days we are happy to serve a continental breakfast including cereal hot croissants or toast, tea and coffee. I am sorry that you were not aware of this.

Thank you once again for giving us your feedback which we take on board, I am again truly sorry that you had some problems whilst you were here.

Richard Legg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for 7 nights with the understanding that the site shall be quiet, clean and suitable for young children. Upon arrival the pitch was of good size (larger than other campsites) which was very pleasing. We were however not impressed by the shower/toilet facilities which were very dated. The showers constantly alternated between boiling hot to freezing cold which upset the children. We tried various showers (Male and Female areas) which seemed to be the same. The family shower room had a shower that didn't work, and for the majority, no working light even though this was reported at the start of our stay.

The staff we found to be a tad abrupt and unhelpful when confronted. For instance when we informed them of the issues with the showers we were told to use the other toilet block across site rather than be reassured that the problem would be dealt with. In addition to this, we did feel as if we were forced out at 10:30AM as the staff were very keen to mow the grass of our pitch.

The Children's play areas were very dated, on the verge of being unsafe and in need of replacement. Compared to other campsites these fall way short of what you would expect from the website as well as the pitching price.

The shop/cafe were not well stocked nor staffed. Nor was it clear when breakfast would be available. The shop does not stock much (unless you want some baked beans).

To summarise, the location was pretty good with regards to getting to the beaches and the pitches were indeed of good size, however, the site does needs updating and the staff need to be more polite and attentitive. I can honestly say we were very disappointed and will not be staying again bearing in mind the number of other sites in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daviebway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenValleyManager, Manager at Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Daviebway,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review along with Adamsgem who you were camping with. We welcome all reviews, both good and bad.

I am sorry that you thought the shower décor was dated, the décor is indeed a little old being 6 years old, however the shower fittings and all plumbing is modern and state of the art, with thermostatic adjusters on each shower.
The 6 new boilers which were installed into the Kingfisher meadow shower block at the end of last year feed only 8 showers, cost in the region of 17 thousand pounds and id the most up-to-date hot water solution for campsites. Regrettably over the bank holiday weekend the sheer number of people showering meant the boilers were working beyond capacity and did result in some fluctuation in water temperature, I can only apologise for any inconvenience this caused and reassure you that we will be installing another two boilers to prevent this from happening again in the future. Using our second shower block, although 300 meters across the park was an appropriate solution at the time, although perhaps not convenient for you.

Unfortunately, a bulb blew in one of the family shower rooms during your stay, this was replaced the following morning once it was reported by one of our cleaners. Again, I can only apologise for any inconvenience this caused you.

Our check-out time is 10:30am, this ensures your pitch is ready for your arrival and check-in time of 12:30. However we do not police the check-out time at all and I am surprised you thought you were rushed out, as no grass cutting was needed on your day of departure. We are reviewing our check-out time and are thinking of delaying this until 11am.

We do try and keep the shop as well stocked as possible, I am very sorry indeed that we did not have the food you were looking for. We stock fresh local produce, a variety of food suitable for camping on a camp stove, and a wide variety of camping equipment.

I am again so sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay, we take all your comments on board and thank you once again for giving us feedback and for choosing to stay with us this year.

Richard Legg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We booked this visit only a week before travelling and via the campsite's web page, getting a last minute discount. On arrival at the site, the reception staff were very helpful, explaining the site layout and providing us with a map. On arrival at our pitch we realised that it was being partly used by an unoccupied touring caravan. On ringing reception and explaining what we had found, an apologetic man turned up within two minutes to tow the caravan away - couldn't get quicker service than that. We had booked a medium sized pitch which was big enough to house our tent, wind breakers to provide the dog with an enclosed open-spaced area and the car.
The toilet/shower/dishwashing block was very clean, surrounded outside by beautiful hanging baskets. The water was hot in the showers and they even provided washing up liquid at the pot washing area. They also provided bricks to allow you to lift disposable BBQ's off the grass.
For those who complain about the road noise - if you go onto the campsite's official website, you will see a map which clearly shows its proximity to the main A road. Despite this, we took hardly any notice of the road noise. On the opposite side of the site there was a lovely woodland walk - great for the dogs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thetwoseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
4.8 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
3.9 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#2 of 26 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park

Property: Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park
Address: West Down, Ilfracombe EX34 8NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst the rolling hills of North Devon and open all year, Hidden Valley Touring Caravan and Holiday Park is justly proud of its growing list of awards. These include the Gold David Bellamy Conservation Award, its 5 Star rating by 'Visit England', winners of the 'Holiday Park of the Year' and just last year we were honoured with the new AA 5 Pennants Award. Whether you are looking for a campsite to pitch your tent or touring caravan spaces, our Devon campsite provides it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing