We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Lovely site but shop shuts early and no evenin entertainment meaning needing to go off site. Nothing within walking distance but lovely for a chilled couple of days camping if you want to get away from the hustle of city life

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Rachie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 450 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a great site for exploring north Devon.We spent 5 nights on a hardstanding pitch in the oaks which is away from the road and backs onto the stream that runs through the site.The pitches are large and had ehu,water and waste water connections.The site is very tranquil with woodland walks and was always clean and tidy. On the downside as mentioned in other reviews the shower block is in desperate need of a lick of paint , however this did not spoil our visit and we will return soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmstaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife & I travelled down with our son and his family for a long weekend at Hidden Valley. We stayed in one of the very well equipped Forest Lodges whilst my son and his family stayed in their caravan and we enjoyed every minute of our visit. Such a clean and well kept site and everyone we met contacted with the Hidden Valley Site went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay.
The standards we encountered are what you wish for in a caravan site but unfortunatetly rarely find and the only drawback we encountered was that our visit was not long enough.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imminent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Just come back from almost 2 weeks away at Hidden Valley. I was situated in the Oaks, on hard standing with EHU, Aerial point, own waste water point and frest water poin. It is indeed a lovely site and i would love to go back again. Its very tranquil, when we arrived the ducks were waddling around aqnd the geese flying overhead.

I was pictched next to the stream which runs through the site, you could hear it in the evening as it lulled you to sleep.

Walks from the park take you through the woods into open fields, very idyllic indeed.

Cost for the 2 weeks was very competitive

Oh and the wardens and staff.... Fantastic!

Points to improve on for the future: update the shower and toilet block to the same standard as the one in the lower field. In saying this, the showers and toilets were ALWAYS Spotless.

Thank you Hidden Valley.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob_Shill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

From the moment you enter the entrance to Hidden Valley, you feel tranquil! A short drive through a landscaped area brings you to the reception, where we were met by helpful staff and shown to our pitch by a well informed and very friendly warden! Pitches were large, with EHU and even a connection to the campsite aerial, should you wish to take your Plasma TV on holiday with you! We were pitched next to the overflow field / dog walking field / adventure playground - which was perfect for us travelling with 2 Jack Russells and 2 children... Our son spent his evenings building dens in the woods, and splashing in the streams before taking the dogs round the field to watch the bats and hear the owls!
Facilities were clean no matter what time we used them, and with the radio playing meant you could sing in the shower.. the only thing I would say is, I think the family bathroom could do with a new lick of paint, and I personally do not like shower curtains , would prefer a solid door - but this is a personal opinion!
This was our first visit to Hidden Valley, and I don't think it will be our last... a thoroughly enjoyable time had... already planning a return visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HelenM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We arrived at Hidden Valley to a very warm welcome at reception. The first impression was a wonderful setting, with pine forest surrounding the high hills and beautifully manicured lawns on the approach driveway. Taking us to our spot was a well-informed and friendly warden who explained where everything was located, including her caravan in case we were in need of any help. With three dogs in tow, I wasn't"t too sure of how they would be welcomed, but I needn't have worried-these folks are completely dog friendly-even down to telling us the local bus service would allow our hounds to tag along too! The site is divided into two, with the lower campsite (Kingfisher Meadow) more for tents and the upper site (Otter's creek) for caravans and motor homes with all service hook-ups and hard standings for awnings. The scenery is idyllic with a fast-flowing stream running through the middle. There is a lovely walk up in the surrounding woodland where the dogs could have a good run and I could have an early morning hike. The camp reception stocked a few items, not least freshly baked bread!! They also had a cafe where you could enjoy a full cooked breakfast, or just indulge in a cuppa and a cake the showers were always hot and the toilet facilities spotless. With an onsite laundry, washing and tumble drying clothes was easy and efficient. There was even an iron and ironing board available free of charge. Our Otter's creek wardens, Phil and Sharon-tina were very helpful and friendly. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble, and they were never far away if needed. This site is well worth a visit, and we will certainly return in the not-too distant future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

As a family of four who regularly stay at Hidden Valley ( we store our caravan there) we have always been impressed with the site. The site is beautiful and well maintained, the staff are exceptionally helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. It is especially a great place for kids as the playground and walks in the woods provide hours of entertainment. Love it!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Zoe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
3.6 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#3 of 25 in Ilfracombe
451 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#15 of 20 in Ilfracombe
348 reviews
1.6 mi away
High Ways House
High Ways House
#1 of 1 in Mullacott
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
640 reviews
3.6 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park

Address: West Down, Ilfracombe EX34 8NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Ilfracombe
Price Range: $13 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst the rolling hills of North Devon and open all year, Hidden Valley Touring Caravan and Holiday Park is justly proud of its growing list of awards. These include the Gold David Bellamy Conservation Award, its 5 Star rating by 'Visit England', winners of the 'Holiday Park of the Year' and just last year we were honoured with the new AA 5 Pennants Award. Whether you are looking for a campsite to pitch your tent or touring caravan spaces, our Devon campsite provides it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing