We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough, brilliant value though, we only paid half price!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
123 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Nice enough, brilliant value though, we only paid half price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We arrived on Sat 18th and are here for 5 nights, lovely welcome at Reception, quickly taken to our allocated spot, which unfortunately was the wrong one and our Motorhome was too big, but that was put right immediately, and from then on all is well. Daily paper is ordered and collected from Reception, and tv digital aerial available at a small cost! The shower room is spotless as is the laundry and the dishwashing room, my one and only gripe, shower water pressure, I want the water to wash over me, not trickle ;-) we found this site on the internet offering virtually half price pitches for certain dates and pre arranged nights, and we honestly have no complaints, ENJOY !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank fovant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    111
    35
    16
    16
See reviews for
164
178
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Spent two mostly rainy days and nights at Hidden valley - a picturesque location in north devon just outside some nice small villages. Nice sound of the creek running through the grounds, not incredible but nice playground for kids, many of who had a great time playing with other kids around the creek - very natural & outdoorsy. They have a spacious indoor building with couches, games, TV etc which is a godsend on rainy days with small kids, and also serve a reasonable cooked breakfast & devonshire tea (of course)

Only issues had to do with the booking process - we had called early in the day to confirm a place was available, told one was and then a discussion of when we would arrive based on where we were, driving times and directions ensued. however when we did show up in the expected time I discovered actually our reservation had not been recorded, they had no record etc. Of course this was upsetting, eventually the patron who owns the camp appeared whom I had talked too, and advised me our place had been given away as we didn't provide a credit card. I guess considering the number of people who may never show up this is reasonable as we arrived a few minutes after the close of the office (As expected), but I did not appreciate the way it was handled - and the fact we were never asked to provide a credit card which of course we would have done. In any case the service was reasonable from then and give a weighted average to above average weighting -- but make sure you have a confirmation on your booking in high season !!

Room Tip: Note that if you have small children, some of the sites are directly next to the creek, and some are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ssimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Very large pitches, we went with friends and had 2 pitches next to each other.
Facilites were very goood and all staff very friendly,nothing too much trouble.
Great site for exploring North Devon. As partially sighted very good lighting at night for me.
Would return to this site again when visiting Devon.Easy to find on the main road. Beutiful stream runs through site and nice to cool your drink init.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We booked Hidden Valley early this year based on Best of British membership. We looked forward to our 'Premier paved fully serviced pitch'.
Initial views - staff very friendly and excellent wardens. Potholes were fixed as we were there (as they were really bad!).
Disappointed at the tiny pitch we were given especially given the way it was described. The back of the pitch fell away into the stream (a worry for our youngest) and the car needed parking in front of the van (not an ideal view). My view is there were probably 2 or 3 too many pitches squeezed into the space making it very cramped (a small strip of grass at the side with a bench (about 4 ft wide only) then next doors pitch.
That said, that was probably our only critique, the cafe was nice enough and the grounds and playground fine - we didnt find any issue with noise of traffic unlike others so dont be put off.
I would go again but would try and insist on pre booking a pitch - if we hadnt got a mover we would have been stuck!).
Facilities clean and tidy, site well kept, good wardens.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The911sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Words almost fail me! Turned up at the campsite awaiting to be taken to our electric hook up site, was told rudely that because we'd booked through an agent we hadn't got an electric pitch. We were then sent to what can only be described as a muddy bog with long grass at the end of the site. The warden who greeted us thought that it would be funny at this point to ask if we'd got our snorkels! We tried to explain that we needed the electric hook up because we needed to be in contact with my daughter who was out of the country but they were not interested. We then explained that there was no way that we could stay in the "bog" as it wasn't possible to drive the car on there let alone pitch a tent so we would seek other accommodation so we'd like our money back however the staff refused and wouldn't hand the cash back. Absolutely shocking service from a campsite that states quite clearly on their website that each pitch has electric hook up! Would never return and would advise others not to bother!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenValleyManager, Manager at Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear Adam L
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am very sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay.

Your pitch was booked through pitchup.com, where it clearly states that the only pitch available is non-electric grass, the email confirmation we sent you also stated that you had booked into our overflow field which is non-electric.

We have experienced the heaviest rainfall this summer in over 100 years, and has caused some wet areas on the park. However, the area you were pitching on was past the wet boggy area and on a dry area with freshly cut grass. The area is fully accessible by any vehicle.
When you expressed your concerns about the electric hook-up, we tried to arrange an electric pitch for you, but unfortunately these were booked in March/April for pretty much the whole summer. We did also offer to charge your mobile phone for you, which was the reason you needed electric.

I am very sorry once again to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay.

Richard Legg
Hidden Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have stayed on this site twice this year and will be returning in September. During our first visit we had a problem with our caravan and the staff arranged for a mobile repairer to attend. The wardens are extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. Our second visit was during the heavy rains in early July and the staff worked tirelessly to ensure that the site remained functioning at all times. The toilets and showers were always clean even with a large party of school children on site.
On arrival on both visits we were shown to our pitch and assistance was provided to position and level the caravan [a very useful service since we hadn't caravanned for 18 years!].
This site is convenient for all the beaches in the area and Braunton has some great places to eat. Local transport facilites are good with the "Surf & Cycle" bus passing regularly.
We have seen some of the comments relating to the proximity of the main road but that was not an issues for us.
The setting is beautiful and our dog really appreciated the local walks and beaches.
The Wardens and staff are second to none and this should give those considering a visit the confidence that if anything does go wrong assistance is always at hand.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night, and although everything was just 'okay'. We were greeted by the warden who showed us to our pitch, but to be honest we couldn't get rid of her! We had four eager children that were dying to explore. Once we finally got unpacked and set up we went out to explore the local area. We all had a good nights sleep and went up to the sites coffee shop for our cooked breakfast. It wasn't overly busy, we ordered two adults breakfasts and four children's along with six hot drinks, this came to £35 :o It took nearly fifteen minutes to order as the afore mentioned warden messed up the till and no one seemed to know how to correct it. Had a large queue behind me and the warden was getting very flustered. After 45mins we had four restless children and no sign of any food or drink! I took the children outside whilst my partner asked for our money back and was rather rudely and abruptly told we were not having a refund and the food was ready now. On the plus side the breakfast was lovely but I'm afraid four starts was too much so we've only given it a three. We won't be going back here, sure there are nicer campsites out there for the money we paid.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Claiire00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
3.5 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
4.0 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
2.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#2 of 26 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park

Property: Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park
Address: West Down, Ilfracombe EX34 8NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst the rolling hills of North Devon and open all year, Hidden Valley Touring Caravan and Holiday Park is justly proud of its growing list of awards. These include the Gold David Bellamy Conservation Award, its 5 Star rating by 'Visit England', winners of the 'Holiday Park of the Year' and just last year we were honoured with the new AA 5 Pennants Award. Whether you are looking for a campsite to pitch your tent or touring caravan spaces, our Devon campsite provides it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing