We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great site”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Crowle, worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great site”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

a clean & quiet site, ideal for year round chilling out

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulcrowle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    114
    40
    17
    17
See reviews for
169
191
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We visited Hidden Valley on the recommendation of friends who have their caravan parked up permanently on the site. As we were a bit un-keen on the pitch we were first allocated - the management immediately offered us another couple of pitches to choose from. The one we ended up with was absolutely fantastic with a lovely little babbling brook running alongside. The site itself was like camping in a forest with a beautiful woodland walk around it (really long walk too, that our three dogs appreciated). There's two childrens play parks with really innovative structures for the kiddies to use. The shower block was clean and the showers cubicles and the loos were spacious - no trying to tiddle in a 'cupboard'! The showers had recently been updated I believe - they weren't 'power showers' but they were adequate with plenty of piping hot water - perfectly good enough to shower and soap yourself and wash your hair - what more do you want? Oh yeah, if you want a soak in a bath - you can request a token and have one!

The wardens were lovely - they couldn't do enough to help. Really friendly. Even drove my husband to the garage to collect his car after it was taken in for the day by the AA due to an engine problem. The management took a real interest in whether you were enjoying yourself and if there was anything you required.. The little shop was well stocked with essentials and some non-essential treats and luxuries. Reception also doubles up as a coffee shop and serves cream teas and snacks if required. My husband ordered and received a daily paper.

One thing about being 'site based' whilst the car was being fixed - we explored the site and found they have a delightful lake - full of Rudd - never seen so many fish in one place. Hubby and I sat on a bench and ate ice creams and just watched the fish in a beautiful setting...so VERY relaxing.

I notice someone has complained about road noise....yes a few of the pitches may be a bit close to the road, but you either accept that or ask to move a bit further over on the site. The trees and hedges helped to reduce the road noise..to be honest I didn't notice the road noise myself - I was only aware of the lovely little brook bubbling away - and the birdsong from the woodland.

The holes in the entry road, which was also complained about, were being fixed up whilst we were there - which makes sense as the weather was dry and hot - perfect for road patching..

Eating wise I can really recommend the Edrington Arms in the next village. We ate there twice and also called in for a beer one evening....the food was absolutely gorgeous and the pub is friendly and has a nice atmosphere - and they are dog friendly too. And you must visit Saunton Sands - dog friendly beach and such a lovely walk for miles.

In all, we had a lovely time and a delightful holiday. All the people we chatted to seemed to be very happy with Hidden Valley.

Room Tip: If you feel things could be better - ask. They will bend over backwards to make sure you are happy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieCollinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torbay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2012

This campsite is in a beautiful location with very helpful staff. The shower facilities etc were of high standard and very clean . The site is very well looked after and so peaceful. The shop was well stocked with plenty of useful information on hand . The owners were lovely people who had time for everyone. There is a lovely stream running along site the camp and beautiful surrounding. This is an ideal site for anyone wanting a peaceful, relaxing holiday. Would highly recommend .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jblack67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Me and my partner stayed at the Hidden Valley for 1 week in May 2012. We really enjoyed it and would defiantly go back. The area is lovely, the pitches are big and you are able to take a few different paths to go for walks in the woods or around the campsite which was very nice. There is also a running stream going through the campsite which is lovely. The campsite is very clean and tidy. The toilets and showers are also very clean, you can also have showers for as long as you like and they stay HOT! =] You can also have a bath on the site not sure where but saw it advertised in the bathrooms. The washing up area was very clean and tidy. There is a lake further down which is very nice to sit by during the day. The staff are also very friendly and enjoy talking to you. The only thing I can say it is by a main road but that didn’t bother us at all.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AzzleandDazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We've been to hidden valley on numerous occasions now and we absolutely love it! We have left our caravan at hidden valley and they look after it so well. The toilet block is spotlessly clean and has heated flooring which is great! The surrounding area is so beautiful with picturesque walks in the valley. The staff at hidden valley are so friendly and really cant do enough to help you whilst on and off your stay there. We would defiantly recommend staying at hidden valley as we love it there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harriet r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for four days in early May and we were very disappointed. The site is well publshised and generally seems to get good reviews.
The name conjures up peace and quiet but it is situated beside a main road and some of the plots are very noisy.
The site is very tired, the access road is rough and potholed, the hard standing on the plots is dirty and needs refreshing, the toilet blocks although clean are also lacking TLC.
The shop was poorly stocked and lacked essentials like milk and water. You would also hope to get a daily newspaper at a site of this repute.
We saw some very good sites in this area that offer better facilities at better prices.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank robinsylv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenValleyManager, Manager at Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Robin and Sylv,

Many thanks for your review, and I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.
We are constantly working to improve our park, and do appreciate your comments regarding the pitch and the driveway. Unfortunately, some pot holes have developed in the last few weeks due to heavy rain and we are unable to repair these until we have a dry spell of at least a week.

We have milk, eggs and fresh bread available in the park shop, and newspapers are available to order from the counter.

We try and keep our prices as competitive as possible, and take your comments on board for the next tariff.

Once again I’m truly very sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay.

Richard Legg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here in our campervan as a last minute get away. Nice facilities and really well run. Would recommend to families who want to be away from the hassle and bustle of some of the other large North Devon camps.
I would recommend you pre book, as I imagine it gets very sought after :)

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank TimB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
4.8 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,757 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
401 reviews
3.9 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
329 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#1 of 25 in Ilfracombe
417 reviews
5.0 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park

Property: Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park
Address: West Down, Ilfracombe EX34 8NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst the rolling hills of North Devon and open all year, Hidden Valley Touring Caravan and Holiday Park is justly proud of its growing list of awards. These include the Gold David Bellamy Conservation Award, its 5 Star rating by 'Visit England', winners of the 'Holiday Park of the Year' and just last year we were honoured with the new AA 5 Pennants Award. Whether you are looking for a campsite to pitch your tent or touring caravan spaces, our Devon campsite provides it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing