We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Fantastic Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry
1 review
“What a Fantastic Place”
Reviewed November 13, 2009

Stayed here during August weather not very good rained most of the time but accommodation was spotless and well equipped. Park was kept nice no litter and grounds well tended. On arrival reception staff were most helpful giving lots of local information. Two great local pubs only a few minutes walk from the park both serve up good freshly cooked meals. Had a spa on our accommodation.......fantastic well worth the extra.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CoventryEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    64
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
202
126
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Visited the site in late july early august on arrival very friendly guy on reception had been allocated a lovely pitch 55 with water and electric it was very very boggy could cope with this due to a lot of heavy rain. Very peaceful and lovely large pitch. When going to the pot wash area/shower block the water pressure was a joke!! washing pots was painful as the water was very very slow and cold most if my stay the shower block was awful no hot water after 8.30am in the morning freezing cold shower 6 days out of my 11. Not enough facilities for the size of the camp. Had a good holiday though nice walks into Ilfracombe and loads of nice places to visit lovely beaches. Lovely pub on the road outside camp Hele Bay nice food and wine very friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockandrollme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2009

we camped at Hele Valley holiday park for a week at the end of July 2009. The site was superb, the ablution blocks spotless, modern and well designed and the maintenance staff very pro-active.
Unfortunately the weather was foul so we were sploshing around in mud a lot of the time but the tumble drier in the laundry dried out the towels and saved the day!
A quiet family camp site with no clubs or gaming machines.

There are 2 pubs within walking distance - the Hele Bay is a great family pub wih pool table and excellent food, Hele Billy's was slightly disappointing and, in our mind, overpriced for what we got.

Lots of things to do around Hele - I would recommend the camp site to families.

Wi-fi would have been helpful (with a teenager) but wasn't a real problem as many cafe's have wi-fi available

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zimbo_kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2008

Stayed for a week commencing 30th august stayed in a lodge with a hot tub lovely lodge looked new only complaint beds are hard we slept on a spare quilt and the settee ( third bed ) needs replacing uncomfortable for a luxury lodge. These are my only complaints this site is very clean and peaceful. They have a Nature Trail to walk unfortunately the weather was wet wet wet
still we had a great time in the area and to return to a relaxing soak in the hot tub was lovely
some nice eateries in the area try The Thatch on the road to Ilfracombe
helpful staff great stay

  • Liked — the lodge and peace and quiet
  • Disliked — the beds
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muchtravelledNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radcliffe, Manchester
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2008

As is descibed on their website, Hele Valley holiday park is definitely the place to stay if you are seeking somewhere peaceful and tranquil. As we have a 1 year old baby we were definitely looking for a site that did not have any form of "clubhouse" The site itself is meticulously clean with well tended grassed and garden areas surrounding the caravans and lodges. The camping site also seemed to be very well tended aswell. There was no litter. There were small parks for children and toddlers to play on and there is also a reception building at the entrance to the site where the staff are all very friendly and helpful. The staff took pride in the fact that there site had been established there for approx 30 years and they seemed quite happy to be working in such a beautiful peaceful area.
My wife, baby daughter and I stayed in one of the lodges (Willow lodge) which was excellent, clean and tidy with the full range of facilities that made holidaying with a very lively toddler that bit easier. There was central heating, a fully fitted kitchen which included a dishwasher and gas cooker (no washing m/c though there is one on site) and also a bathroom with shower over the bath. Two sides of the lodge were surrounded by decking which provided a safe area for our baby daughter to run around like a mad thing quite safely. And once she was in bed one of our holiday highlights was to sit out on the decking with a good book and a nice glass of wine and listen to the birdsong and the babbling stream that flowed behind the lodge (which indeed extended the whole lentght of the site)
Hele itself is 5 mins walk away to the local garage and minimart and also there are 2 pubs nearby and a small beach. Ilfracombe is also a short walk away over a small hill that isn't too taxing.
There are loads of things to see and do in the area but if the weather is good and you prefer a beach holiday then you really can't do better than Woolacombe beach which is 10-15 drive away.
If you have not been to North Devon before than I can't recommend you visit this beautiful area enough. We had an excellent holiday and Hele Valley holiday park and the lodge we stayed in had a great deal to do with that. It was the perfect antidote to the stresses and strains of modern life and as a family we would definitely consider going back and have recommended it to others.

Mr. and Mrs. S. Yates, Radcliffe, Manchester, England.

  • Liked — Great facilites, clean and tidy
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TheYatesies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2007

We booked a two-bed cottage at Hele Valley Holiday Park for a long weekend and were pleasantly surprised.

The park itself is located in Hele, which is walkable from Ilfracombe . Hele Bay itself is about 5-10 mins walk from the park and there is a minimart at the nearby petrol station so you're well serviced. There's also a newish Tesco a few minutes drive up the road.

The cottage was clean, well presented and well equipped. The rooms are large, especially the main bedroom. There was a bathroom and a separate shower room.

Outside there was a brick barbeque and a private hot tub that can be rented for £20 a day. That's a bit pricey but they do check the water daily, and insist on a safety briefing first.

The cottages are actually located just outside the gates of the park and ours (Lily) had it's own drive, which meant unloading was very easy.

If you're looking for a self-catered North Devon base this is definitely worth a look.

  • Liked — Well equipped and smart
  • Disliked — Private hot tub was pricey (but good)
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_Tantalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
0.4 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
335 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
309 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beach Cove Coastal Retreat
Beach Cove Coastal Retreat
#1 of 26 in Ilfracombe
255 reviews
1.6 mi away
Watermouth Lodges
Watermouth Lodges
#4 of 8 in Berrynarbor
223 reviews
12.9 mi away
Beachside Holiday Park
Beachside Holiday Park
#1 of 9 in Westward Ho
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hele Valley Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hele Valley Holiday Park

Property: Hele Valley Holiday Park
Address: Hele Bay, Ilfracombe EX34 9RD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hele Valley Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2014 Gold Awarded Holiday Park. Nestled within a sheltered wooded valley lies our exclusive Holiday Park unlike any other for its location, friendly staff and cleanliness. Your holiday enjoyment is our priority therefore we offer you stunning accommodation in a peacefully green environment with WiFi access throughout. You'll be delighted you booked with Hele Valley. Grab the opportunity to indulge in your own private hot tub, find relaxation in our light therapy sauna and recharge your soul with clean fresh air. Take a stroll along our nature trail and educate yourself in our fascinating wildlife facts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hele Valley Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hele Valley Holiday Park Hotel Ilfracombe
Hele Valley Holiday Park Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing