We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice caravan but we wouldn't stay again....think campers do better.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice caravan but we wouldn't stay again....think campers do better.”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here in the August Bank Holiday week in a Finch caravan with a hot tub (which costs extra). On arrival, we were immediately concerned about how many caravans there are and how close together they are situated, mostly along the road running through the park, but thankfully ours seemed to be the only one with more space around it and a nice decking where the hot tub is sited.

The caravan itself was very nice as it should have been and the park is lovely and quiet in a good location but beware the hot tub police! We had not been told when booking that it would be necessary for someone to come twice a day to check the hot tub and would come when they felt like it, unannounced and not even bother to knock on the caravan when it was obvious we were there because the door was wide open and our children were around on their bikes. When I raised this with the owner I got a blunt 'it's health and safety' reply and no understanding that we felt it was an invasion of our privacy to have someone on the decking as and when they felt like it.

We enjoyed ourselves as it's a lovely area with great beaches but were left with a bad taste in our mouths on the last day when the caravan was checked over while we waited outside, to be told 'the fridge could do with a bit of a clean'. When I said that I wasn't going to have the £40 cleaning deposit used for cleaning the fridge, I was advised I should clean it as the 'owner has high expectations' and the cleaners didn't like to do it!! So, I wiped the few crumbs out of the fridge, watched over like a naughty schoolgirl, was almost made to put away the few wet pieces of washing up I had left on the side and was then advised to empty the lounge bin (which I had forgotten to do as we were worried about checking out late) as the cleaners didn't do that either! I was pretty much speechless, certainly appalled and extremely disappointed.

We have been staying in 4 and 5 star caravan parks for 10 years and have never been treated in such a manner and hence will never go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Louise Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeleValley, Front Office Manager at Hele Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hello there,
Thank you for taking the time to review our site.
We are glad to hear that the caravan met your expectations.
There is plenty of room between the caravans and we have not seen any site any different space wise to us.
Sorry to hear that you were not happy with our maintenance guy testing the temperature of your hot tub. Our maintenance guy is very busy daily and if he sees that the hot tub is vacant he will quickly test the waters for health and safety purposes and then move on causing as less disturbance as possible. When you came to reception to tell us we did state we would ensure he knocks on the side of the caravan moving forward. We have never known this to be a problem before in all of the years it has been operating.
As advised before your stay with us and as per our terms and conditions the £40 refundable housekeeping deposit for our accommodations is to ensure the caravans are not left in a mess nor any damage has occurred, we only ask that the accommodations are left in a reasonable condition similar to how you first came in. This is partly as Saturday's are our busiest days and our cleaners simply do not have time to deep clean every single accommodation to the high standards we have. It is something that has worked incredibly well over all of the years we have been operating this method. The report was that the fridge, dish washing area, bins and floors all needed doing as very little effort had been made to clean the caravan. The member of staff who checked you out was actually very lenient in letting the floors and dishes remain as they were.
Sorry that your stay was not as good as it could have been, we do always try our best to ensure all of our guests have a pleasant stay.
All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    68
    12
    6
    8
See reviews for
222
139
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just returned from a four night camping holiday at this holiday park and it was faultless.
It consists of static caravans and caters for mobile homes, caravans, campers and even has some glamping pods.
The bathroom facilities are very nice and clean along with the washing area for pot and pans.
The overall location is very peaceful with lovely scenery and the sea is only a short walk away.
There is a farmhouse at the back of the site, very friendly and serves home cooked, home reared scrummy breakfasts!!
Would definitely visit this site again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandB2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeleValley, Front Office Manager at Hele Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Hello there,
Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are all very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the setting very appealing.
Also good to hear you enjoyed the farmer's breakfast; which is something that has gone down incredibly well with guests staying on our park this year.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Take care and all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmi
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We booked 4 nights at very late notice in a caravan and considering how late we booked we were delighted with our caravan it was very clean in a great location with stream just outside bedroom window which was very relaxing . We had two young children who thoroughly enjoyed the park area (especially the zip wire) we always felt the children were very safe and the site has just the right balance with allowing children. There is a farm next door to the site which serves a fantastic farmhouse breakfast , the shower and toilet block for the campers was spotless . There was a £40 deposit when we arrived to ensure you leave the caravan as you found it which was returned to us at the end with no issue along with fruit pastilles for the kids which was nice touch. Will definitely be returning to this lovely site. Thank you for accommodating us at very short notice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkvbmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeleValley, Front Office Manager at Hele Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Hi there,
Thank you for your excellent review.
We are all very happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed your time in the caravan.
Good to hear the children made the most of the play area and you all enjoyed the farmer's breakfast as have many others this summer.
We look forward to welcoming you all back to our park one day.
All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Wiltshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just back from a week's camping at Hele Valley and had a really excellent week. Pitches nice and big (tiny bit slopey but nothing major) with own elec hook up and water tap. really well maintained, clean and tidy site with nice hot showers and friendly staff. Need to get two keys (one for male and one for female loos) to access the showers and the loos, which was a bit of a pain as walked up to them a few times to find had forgotten the key and had to wait for someone to let me in! not sure why have to have keys? loos and showers close 11.30-2pm for cleaning, but have use of loo in family room. Very clean wash up area and a little footpath behind the park which was perfect for walking the dog. It's a very quiet site, most people seemed to go to bed or go into their tents/campers at around 8.30pm, so was very quiet most nights. Took our little 2 year old toddler who loved running around and playing in the empty pitches and in the kiddies park, with a special area for under 5s. Dog also loved it. Received a wrist band when leaving and was told we would get £2 off a night next time we come. Will def be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank racolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeleValley, Front Office Manager at Hele Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to review our site.
We are all glad to hear that you had a nice peaceful stay with us and that you plan to come again.
The reason why we do the keys is because otherwise public walkers use them which is unfair to both the people staying on our site and the cleaners who potentially have to clean up more. Also it is to prevent people from trying to camp on the site without having booked a reservation with us and for anyone else on our site who is not camping. We feel that on the whole it is something that works very well.
It is also nice to hear you were happy with the on site facilities. We do try our hardest!
Take care and all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Camping may be fine. We went for a superior lodge which was in no way superior to anywhere we have stayed before. Just a static caravan on a small plot - practically on top of your neighbour and with poor parking. Certainly wouldn't recommend

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeleValley, Manager at Hele Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It is unfortunate you felt your accommodation was not at the standard you expected as we have never before had a complaint of this nature about our Superior Lodges. We would have welcomed the chance to discuss your dissatisfaction at the time of your stay, and it is a shame you did not feel able to come and talk to us at the the time. We would urge all our clients to talk to us immediately if they are unhappy with their accommodation in any way. We wish you well on future holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Nice park, nice location, decent pitches and good, clean facilities. beach is a 10 minute walk away and Ilfracombe is about a 30 minute walk. Hele Mill is very close and well worth a visit (if only for the cakes). Very enjoyable holiday. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeleValley, Front Office Manager at Hele Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to review our site.
We are all very happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and that the sites facilities were all good.
We look forward to greeting you to our park again one day.
All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have just returned in our campervan after staying 2 nights at "Hele valley" no.7.All staff very helpful and able to answer all our inquiries on the local area.Excellant shower and toilet facilities,plus the site is kept clean and tidy.On leaving we were given a keyring and told next time we stayed would recieve a reduction of £2 per night,that won't be untill next year which i'm sure will be ok.The wife and me have a list of sites that we return to and some that we will avoid,this site will see us again.Apart from the site itself,the location is ideal for us as we enjoy walking.On day one we walked to hele beach and took the coastal path into ilfracombe,it's very steep in places and some of the views along the way are amazing,then walked back along the main road/path.Day two we went to the far end of the site and took the path to the thatched pub then into ilfracombe.At reception we were given a map with all the local walks on plus local pubs/restaurant.The pub next to hele beach is family friendly,food and beer at reasonable prices plus sky sports on 2 screens.The pub near the site focuses on food and this is where you can purchase milk and bits.A nice peaceful site and scenic area,in our opinion this is one not to miss.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank devon131159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeleValley, Front Office Manager at Hele Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to review our site.
Good to hear you enjoyed your campervan stay with us.
Yes if you mention you have the key fob at time of booking next year we will apply the £2 discount per night (please bring the key fob on arrival as proof).
We hope to see you again next year then.
Take care and all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
1.1 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
416 reviews
8.0 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,764 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
816 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
213 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Darnley Hotel
The Darnley Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hele Valley Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hele Valley Holiday Park

Property: Hele Valley Holiday Park
Address: Hele Bay, Ilfracombe EX34 9RD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hele Valley Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2014 Gold Awarded Holiday Park. Nestled within a sheltered wooded valley lies our exclusive Holiday Park unlike any other for its location, friendly staff and cleanliness. Your holiday enjoyment is our priority therefore we offer you stunning accommodation in a peacefully green environment with WiFi access throughout. You'll be delighted you booked with Hele Valley. Grab the opportunity to indulge in your own private hot tub, find relaxation in our light therapy sauna and recharge your soul with clean fresh air. Take a stroll along our nature trail and educate yourself in our fascinating wildlife facts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hele Valley Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hele Valley Holiday Park Hotel Ilfracombe
Hele Valley Holiday Park Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing