We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All very good.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have just returned in our campervan after staying 2 nights at "Hele valley" no.7.All staff very helpful and able to answer all our inquiries on the local area.Excellant shower and toilet facilities,plus the site is kept clean and tidy.On leaving we were given a keyring and told next time we stayed would recieve a reduction of £2 per night,that won't be untill next year which i'm sure will be ok.The wife and me have a list of sites that we return to and some that we will avoid,this site will see us again.Apart from the site itself,the location is ideal for us as we enjoy walking.On day one we walked to hele beach and took the coastal path into ilfracombe,it's very steep in places and some of the views along the way are amazing,then walked back along the main road/path.Day two we went to the far end of the site and took the path to the thatched pub then into ilfracombe.At reception we were given a map with all the local walks on plus local pubs/restaurant.The pub next to hele beach is family friendly,food and beer at reasonable prices plus sky sports on 2 screens.The pub near the site focuses on food and this is where you can purchase milk and bits.A nice peaceful site and scenic area,in our opinion this is one not to miss.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank devon131159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeleValley, Front Office Manager at Hele Valley Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to review our site.
Good to hear you enjoyed your campervan stay with us.
Yes if you mention you have the key fob at time of booking next year we will apply the £2 discount per night (please bring the key fob on arrival as proof).
We hope to see you again next year then.
Take care and all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 451 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

The staff & location are great. The access is really tight for towing with a hair pin right hand turn & then very narrow roads to the entrance. There are deep speed bumps which broke our jockey wheel. The showers were only ever Luke warm & unbelievably completely closed for 2.5 hours 11.30 to 2 each day for cleaning which was ridiculously inconvenient. We were told when booking it was a stroll into Ilfracombe. It was in fact a half hour walk up a very steep hill. Tho the setting is lovely it is very shaded & has no mobile phone signal. We spoke to several others who said they were dreading getting their caravan out at the end of the holiday which does not make for a relaxing time. We considered it overrated & overpriced & will not return.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agr898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeleValley, Front Office Manager at Hele Valley Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Hello there,
Thank you for your review.

I understand and appreciate that there is a tight turning into our site, we have tried to do something about this in the past but the plans we put forward were rejected. Therefore and unfortunately in this case there is nothing else we can do about this I am afraid.

The speed bumps are necessary on our site to ensure no vehicles are going faster than they should be as there are children playing on site and everyone's safety is of fundamental importance to us. I am sorry to hear about your jockey wheel, we have never had an issue like this before as a result of our speed bumps.

If you experience any issues with the temperature in the shower block I always recommend reporting this to our reception immediately so we can have the issue fixed so no further inconvenience is caused.

To maintain the high standards we set at our camp site it is required that during the less busy part of the day the toilet and shower block is cleaned to a high standard. Sorry that the times were not suitable for yourself during your stay with us. The cleaners clean the male and female sections separately and while this is occurring the family room is left open for use by anyone.

The walk from our site into Ilfracombe Harbour on average is a 20 minute walk, if you were advised otherwise then I can only apologise for this. The steep hill is only 5-7 minutes of the journey.

Some networks do struggle for signal, but then being in a valley surrounded by trees there is very little that can be done about this. Some areas of our site are more shaded then others, but all areas receive sunlight at some part of the day.

We are a more high end camp site compared with others and this is reflected in our pricing, but I would argue you would do very well to find another site which looks after the entire site and all of the people who stay with us as well as we do along with the incredibly clean toilet and shower block and the peace and tranquillity that we offer.

Again thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that your stay with us did not meet all of your expectations.

All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We camped here for 2 nights from 16th August. The site was very well maintained and had excellent facilities. The toilet/shower block was always clean and the water was hot. The camp site is dog friendly. This was a quiet camp site so there were no rowdy neighbours. The staff at reception were very polite and welcoming and provided us with maps on the walking route into ilfracombe and the pubs etc is Hele. Within walking distance is a nice beach at Hele Bay and Ilfracombe is a nice walk downhill, not so nice walking back up! The only thing we didn't find was a on site shop? But they do sell papers at reception and have a freezer so you can re freeze your ice packs free of charge.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K4o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeleValley, Front Office Manager at Hele Valley Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to review our site.
We are all happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
Good to hear you got around the local area and enjoyed the sites.
Hopefully we will have an onsite shop again one day. Hill-billies which is only a 5 minute walk from us does provide essentials such as bread and milk.
Hope to see you all again some time.
All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just had a great week at Hele Valley in our camper. Very clean tidy site. Staff very friendly and helpful, loaned us ice packs when our fridge wouldn't work. Our son came to visit and was able to park on our pitch while we walked into Ilfracombe for the day. A quiet and relaxing site. Children were enjoying the play area and there was a nature trail on the site. A local farm could provide an excellent breakfast and there were 2 pubs within walking distance. We ate in one of them and food was good. There was also a manor and a mill close by providing good quality food, cream teas etc. Although the local pub will sell you milk etc I think the site would benefit from providing a small shop with some basic provisions.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeleValley, Front Office Manager at Hele Valley Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Hello there,
Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are all happy to hear that you had such a good time staying on our site.
Glad to hear you enjoyed the farmer's breakfast.
Hopefully we will have an onsite shop again one day.
Hope to see you all again in the future.
All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom Jay caravan which was immaculate inside. Although it was directly opposite reception there was no issue with noise whatsoever.The kitchen area was very well stocked with utensils and the beds were very comfortable. The caravan itself was spotless.The bathroom was quite spacious and had a wonderful shower - very rarely seen on other caravan holiday previously.

Upon arrival the staff in reception were outstanding - offering advice on local attractions etc and the lady owner of the park was extremely pleasant and helpful.

The park itself is very clean and tidy and very well maintained.

It was a quiet park which is ideal if you dont want all of the hustle and bustle of a noisy caravan park and this was ideal for our family as it was very relaxing.

I would recommend this park to anyone as we were made to feel very welcome and would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephanie1234286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeleValley, Front Office Manager at Hele Valley Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Hello there,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review.
We are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the caravan very suitable throughout your stay.
We hope to see you all again in the future at some point.
All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We camped for 10 days on this excellent site which has good facilities in a quiet location close to Ilfracombe.

The camping pitch we had was level (in common with all on the site) and well drained. The toilets and showers were always immaculate and there was a good supply of hot water. Washing up facilities likewise.

Site staff were welcoming and informative, and on the odd occasion we needed something were able to help striaghtaway.

I'd certainly recommend this site to those camping and I imagine those with caravan/motor homes would agree.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeleValley, Front Office Manager at Hele Valley Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Hello there,
Thank you for taking the time to review our site.
We are all glad to hear you all enjoyed your camping trip with us and that our on-site facilities were nice and clean.
Hopefully see you again in the future.
Take care and all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom Finch caravan ( F1 ) which was immaculate inside. The beds were extremely comfortable with good quality linen, the kitchen was equipped with a good variety of utensils ( as new ), there were several storage cupboards and there was a lovely hot powerful shower. During our visit we took advantage of the small area of decking outside, but for any cold evenings there is also gas heating and a separate electric fire. Basically, the caravan we had was vastly superior to any other caravan we have stayed in before.

The park itself is extremely neat and tidy and well maintained by the grounds staff. There is a small children’s play area with a good selection of play equipment ( balance beam, zip wire, rope swing etc ) and this was perfect distraction for our children aged 7 & 5. There is also plenty of space between the caravans for children to play games and our kids had great fun going up and down on their scooters. We also used the laundry room during our stay and this all worked perfectly and we managed to complete a wash cycle and get it on the clothes airer within 35/40 minutes, which meant that we didn’t have to spend hours and hours chained to the laundry room.

The staff were very helpful and offered advice on places to visit and helped us find the essential bits and pieces ( cash machine, supermarket, pub ) and also recommended that we went to the local farm for breakfast and this turned out to be fantastic.

If you are looking for peace and tranquillity in beautiful surroundings then this is the ideal place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scott b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeleValley, Front Office Manager at Hele Valley Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Hi there,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review.
We are all very happy that you found your accommodation to be of a high standard and you all enjoyed your stay with us.
Good to hear you made use of the onsite facilities and enjoyed the farmer's breakfast as well.
We hope to welcome you all back to our site again one day.
All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
0.7 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#15 of 20 in Ilfracombe
348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Cove Coastal Retreat
Beach Cove Coastal Retreat
#2 of 25 in Ilfracombe
316 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#6 of 7 in Combe Martin
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
High Ways House
High Ways House
#1 of 1 in Mullacott
13 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hele Valley Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hele Valley Holiday Park

Address: | Hele Bay, Ilfracombe EX34 9RD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Ilfracombe
Price Range: $101 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hele Valley Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hele Valley is a multi award-winning Holiday Park based in the quaint seaside town of Ilfracombe on the beautiful coast of North Devon. The Park has been owned and managed by the Dovey family for over forty years and is situated in a picturesque valley and is the perfect destination for relaxation, peace and tranquillity. 2016 accolades consist of two Silver Awards at the Devon Tourism Awards, David Bellamy Gold Award for Conservation, Trip Advisor Excellence Certificate, Britain in Bloom Gold Award and the AA and Visit England four star gradings. With a wide range of modern and affordable luxury caravans, superior lodges and holiday cottages, there is accommodation perfect for families, friends, couples and pets. Our peaceful, green and well maintained 5-pennant campsite offers a wide range of tent pitches, touring pitches, Camping Pods and state of the art camping facilities. Limited free Wi-Fi is available throughout the park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hele Valley Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hele Valley Holiday Park Hotel Ilfracombe
Hele Valley Holiday Park Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing