We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was an Ok stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ilfracombe Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ilfracombe Holiday Park
Strood, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Was an Ok stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed for the winners weekend, so we did only pay £20. We was in a Silver Chalet that sleeps 8, we only had 5 people and that was a squeeze! Don't know how 8 people would cope. The chalets do need updating, and more heating, we had one little heater in the living room! Apart from the poor accommodation the entertainment was great, they really try hard to entertain you! I would go back if they update there chalets.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park.

With regard to the accommodation, no doubt you noticed that the park is in the midst of a complete rebuild. Many of the older chalets are in the process of being upgraded and in some cases, demolished and replaced with fantastic new apartments. As you will appreciate, such a massive investment does not happen overnight.

As you experienced, our entertainers never let us down and we hope you will be back to one of our parks to join in the fun once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    217
    166
    126
    243
See reviews for
562
160
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
staffs
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

stayed here from the 7th to 11th november for the finals weekend. what a fantastic break yet again as we have always had from the john fowler brand. park was spotless as were all the three chalets our party occupied. very modern with new table and chairs and new leather bed sofa. everything we needed for self catering was there. the entertainment was outstanding and we were made to feel very welcome by all staff. chefs corner for this weekend was outstanding on portion size and taste and quality at very agreeable prices all served by a very happy chappy. the entertainment team worked so hard all weekend and this parks entertainment manager Bryan was outstanding well done. it was a pleasure to be involved a have won the chance to take part. i would recommend this park and will be looking into returning in the season. thanks john fowler holidays for a great stay. the McGowan Family

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magoosworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback; it’s always a pleasure receiving such positive comments.

We do take great pride in cleaning all grades of accommodation to a very high standard and it’s brilliant that this isn’t going unnoticed. All comments will be passed on to our Housekeeper and the cleaning team.

The finals weekend was a total success thanks to the entertainment teams and especially to the participants. I made a brief visit to the clubhouase and what I saw was a room full of people all having a brilliant time. Some of the acts would have done well on the X Factor and perhaps we will see them there one day.

Let me thank you again for taking the time to leave this lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our park very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We've just returned home from the Winners Week at Ilfracombe. Never been to this park before but found it more than adequate. We stayed in a gold apartment, which was clean and tidy and perfect for me and my 3 children. Not sure if you would comfortably fit in 6 people though! Pool was fine, as was the indoor play area, and park.
The entertainment staff make this type of holiday for me. With every stripey there they made this break one to remember for my children. Their work rate is first class, they were all always smiling, chatty, friendly and helpful! At the end of a long season you'd have thought they'd have had enough but they put on an excellent panto, and were all still energetic and bouncing around this morning when we said goodbye! Special mentions to the St ives team! Liam, Frankie, the lovely Ann Marie and Jess! Also the other stand out stripeys, The ever smiling, lovely Liam P, Ben, Marc, Gareth, Adam, James, Ness, Roxxi, Sammy, Tom, Zoe and little Becky....she has to be the most energetic girl I've ever seen! Not forgetting all the others too! I think last nights bingo was probably the funniest game I've ever played! And the dance off during the disco was hilarious!
All in all, I don't understand any negative reviews John Fowler holidays get. I've never once had a bad holiday with them and have been using their parks since I was a kid. I have lovely childhood memories of holidays at St Ives, and am now creating memories for my children. We can't wait to book up for next year, back to st Ives and also try out some of the other parks! Fantastic cabarets, amazing staff and good all round family fun and value for money! Roll on 2014 and more holidays!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kells242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed to all departments.

I sometimes wonder who writes the poor reviews about such a lovely park but perhaps, more importantly, why. When we try to contact the writers of the really bad ones to discover what exactly went wrong with their holiday, you can imagine we get no reply.

I am delighted to hear that you had a great time and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Just returned from a great week at John Fowlers Ilfracombe. The entertainment is first class, the team,, led by the excellent Bryan and his assistant Sam work extremely hard to make an enjoyable experience for all the kids. The Halloween show was first class performed by a very talented team.
We had no problems with the accommodation. We stayed in a Gold apartment which was clean and comfortable. The only comment I would make is that it could do with a couple of shelves in the bathroom and shower cubicle.

We look forward to returning next year. Bryan, we hope you are there!

Room Tip: Go for a Gold apartment if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review, we really appreciate you taking the time.

Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the entertainments team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have just returned from a week at this park. We have been year upon year and wouldn't go anywhere else, we have only ever stayed in the gold appartments and have been satisfied each time. We have two daughters - Grace eight and Nieve three years and they both had a fantastic time. The entertainment gang make your holiday, Bryan is a great manager and Sam knows how to make the children feel welcome whilst having fun. Molly is particularly patient and caring with the little ones especially at the swimming session!! It was a fun packed week from pumpkin carving, to Captain Cutless hunting and a great Halloween night. Our children are just sad our holiday had to end as they can't wait to return and see Freddy and the gang next year!!! Thanks

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachael60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Yet another 5 star review for Ilfracombe Holiday Park, thank you, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

We are extremely proud of our entertainments team this year, the effort they put in is amazing. They are all doing a brilliant job, and work extremely hard to ensure everyone has a great holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon, - our returning guests are so important to us and are the reason that we have been so successful for the past 60 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

My Wife, Daughter (15) and I have just returned from a lovely week at the John Fowler owned Ilfracombe Holiday Park. The holiday cost just about £100 per person and we got Entertainment every night from 18:00 till approx. 22:30. the Stripy Gang run by Baldy Brian were so so funny and made time for everyone. The entertainment was not only for kids but later for adults later on. It was all good clean fun. We were able to swim every day too. We had the weather against us so did not explore the beauties of Devon as much as we would have liked, but there was plenty to do at the park. The drinks at the bar were of a reasonable price compared to where we live. Every member of staff were lovely from the receptionist to the guys in the pool. They really did make our holiday great. Our chalet was in the silver standard and was perfectly comfortable for the 3 of us. It was very clean and tidy on arrival and had most things that you need in the kitchen. We really cant thank them enough for all their hard work, the best thanks we could offer was to book up for the same time same place next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your five stars. It is satisfying to hear that you had a great time on our park.

We are happy that you thought the staff and the entertainers were friendly and helpful and we will pass your comments on to them.

Once again let me thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our park next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have been using John Fowlers for holidays for over 9 years- that in itself says how much we have enjoyed them. The accommodation has varied throughout we have used caravans, chalets, cottages right through to the stunning Dune house at Burnham on Sea and they have all been clean on arrival( some much more basic than expected) but we have always made the best of our time away. We have introduced friends to these holidays and only this past week were we staying in Ilfracombe for the half term week, packed and looking forward to the week away we drove the 3.5 hr trip and arrived ready for an enjoyable week, which for the most it was, however sadly I feel that the push for sales on the Foxy merchandise, staying an extra night for only £30 , various raffles and a charity soak a stripey for 'only £10' was quite sad to have experienced. 2 children asking nightly to take part in these things and on occasions being sent to ask their parents for the funds to do so led us to leaving a day early and pondering whether this was a 'one off' due to end of season or was now to become a regular occurrence at John Fowler holiday parks?! It would be a real shame to see your holiday destinations becoming more like the places we try to avoid, the fun light hearted entertainment has always been a highlight for our family but this week has been a constant droan of listening to stripeys attempt at boosting sales( which I understand) but through young impressionable children?! Really?!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and although this is the first time this subject has been raised in a review, I will pass your observations on to the entertainments director.

We look forward to welcoming you again next year, - our returning guests are so important to us and are the reason that we have been so successful for the past 60 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
0.6 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#12 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Bideford Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
0.5 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#2 of 26 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
3.8 mi away
Manleigh Park
Manleigh Park
#4 of 8 in Combe Martin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilfracombe Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilfracombe Holiday Park

Property: Ilfracombe Holiday Park
Address: Marlborough Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8PF, England (Formerly John Fowler Ilfracombe Holiday Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Ilfracombe
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilfracombe Holiday Park has everything you could want on a family holiday. A 56’ heated pool, a sauna, children’s play areas and an internet cafe provide you with all the comforts of home and more. Relax in our pool during the day, and then head to the Exmoor Club for the evening’s entertainment, free to everybody staying at our Ilfracombe Holiday Parks. This park is set at the top of the valley Ilfracombe lies in, so you get views right down over the town and out to sea, exactly what you’d expect from a Devon holiday. If you don’t want to deal with cooking on holiday then our Farmhouse Kitchen Restaurant can cook you up a wide variety of fare, from low price snacks to full grills and specialty dishes. We even offer takeaways. If you are going to cook for yourself, our onsite shop sells everything you’ll need, and there’s a Tesco superstore just a five minute walk away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
John Fowler Ilfracombe Holiday Park Hotel Ilfracombe
Ilfracombe Holiday Park Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing