We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN.......IGNORE ALL NEGATIVE REVIEWS AT YOUR PERIL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ilfracombe Holiday Park
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN.......IGNORE ALL NEGATIVE REVIEWS AT YOUR PERIL”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Arrived Monday and on first appearances the chalets located at the main reception area looked promising which raised our hopes after reading such terrible reviews prior to arrival. However on taking a look around we began to notice a number of people standing at their balcony overlooking the car park. We guessed at that point that this is what John fowler must mean by c views as you could not see anything else but a car park and buildings. Anyway after a swift check in we were told our chalet was located back down the road so we headed off and were met by what looked like old forces billets, which appeared run down, damp and located a few yards away from the main road (not good when you have a three year old ). Upon entering the chalet our hearts sank further whilst our daughter was told not to touch anything. The silver is supposed to house 4-6 however it only has a two seated sofa pushed against a dining table with six chairs which could only be used if the sofa was moved towards the front door, making the room a safety risk. Bedrooms were grubby with stained mattresses and bathroom housed a sticky floor with filth up the one side of the bath. We returned to complain along with a number of other families and were told that the room easily housed five people. Eventually we were offered an upgrade by one member of staff but the manager than attempted to charge us for the additional cost. No apologies were given but we did get a refund (excluding cost of sun holiday). You could argue that you get what you pay for but on reading these reviews it's clear that those paying large quantities of their hard earned cash are also given the same poor, low quality, dirty, cramped treatment. Fortunately we managed to find a lovely holiday park where we were given a lovely sea view gold standard static in Woolacombe for only an additional £20.00 more than the cost of this dump. I truly felt sorry for those stuck at this place as the place could easily send you into a state of depression.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlieboy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
I am sorry the park was not to your taste but as you were able to see, it is a very busy and popular place.

I am pleased to hear that the staff were able to look after you and settle the matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    243
    195
    139
    259
See reviews for
641
182
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Disgusting place so dirty place needs a total revamp including the extremely rude reception staff totally unhelpful didn't offer us another room so had no choice but to move to manleigh caravan park. Do not recommended to anyone shut it down !!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goode1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
When I first read this very poor review, I immediately tried to contact the writer through the Tripadvisor Messaging service to investigate the issues, to discover why they had had such a poor holiday. Sadly, with all Tripadvisor reviews being anonymous it is impossible to make direct contact.

To date I have not received a reply to two such messages and I am disappointed that I have not been given the opportunity to put things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ilfracombe hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Nice quiet location, beds very uncomfortable, bed settee had broken springs making it uncomfortable to sit on let alone sleep. Damp, filthy, in need of total refurbishment, wouldn't return or recommend.y

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidmc8119DF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
When I first read this very poor review, I immediately tried to contact the writer through the Tripadvisor Messaging service to investigate the issues, to discover why they had had such a poor holiday. Sadly, with all Tripadvisor reviews being anonymous it is impossible to make direct contact.

To date I have not received a reply to two such messages and I am disappointed that I have not been given the opportunity to put things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

we have just returned from there sat 7th sept. after a 7 night stay. we to be honest were dreading going as we booked before reading some very poor reviews. however, we got there last sat pm and were given key to 428 over the road in the manor house. it had been cleaned, there were no smells or dog hairs, and the view from the window was stunning! our only complaint would be the bed, very uncomfortable. ok, onto the entertainment... if you are a family with young children then you would have no complaints. as we are a couple in our mid 40s, it wasn't really our cuppa tea. most the evenings upto and sometimes after 10pm it was all for the children. I have only one complaint regarding the bingo... I think like so many other guests that the bingo is unfair, people are paying a pound a book with the hope of winning a bit of pocket money. 4 out of 5 games you only play a line, then last game you only play a full house. couldn't you give the adults a bit more time by playing for a line and a house on every game? then you would make more people happy. but all in all we had a very pleasant stay, and mostly used the place as a base, as ilfracombe is a very beautiful place and there is much to see and do. I hope this review helps and everyone as a good time, just like we did. thankyou.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricky b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Just spent fours nights in a bronze apartment. It was in very poor decorative order. It had no shower, bath only, a lumpy mattress on the double bed and a small 19 inch tv with only 7 channels and no dvd player to entertain the baby. The kitchen had a microwave but no oven. The fridge icebox was broke and would not shut. The wooden door and windows are badly in need of replacement, paint is all flaking off and the sill in the bathroom is totally rotten. The plumbing is also very dodgy the tap in the kitchen is wobbly and has the hot and cold on the wrong way. When you flush the loo the pipes rattle very loudly, which is not good at night. Bathroom also has cracks in ceiling and walls. Carpet and lineno not fitted by a professional, just some bodger odd job man. The positives are that it is warmer than a caravan, there is a good supply of hot water and there is plenty of room for a travel cot and baby to crawl around. It was relatively clean but the maintenance budget must be near zero. This room needs money spent on repairs. It needs upvc doors and windows, a shower fitted, and a bigger tv with dvd combo at least.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloucesterx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
When I first read this very poor review, I immediately tried to contact the writer through the Tripadvisor Messaging service to investigate the issues, to discover why they had had such a poor holiday. Sadly, with all Tripadvisor reviews being anonymous it is impossible to make direct contact.

To date I have not received a reply to two such messages and I am disappointed that I have not been given the opportunity to put things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Just returned from a three night stay at John Fowler's Ilfracombe holiday park booked via the Sun Holidays. We booked standard accommodation which turned out to be a bronze chalet No.312. The chalet was very dated, substandard, dirty and smelt damp and fusty. Not very nice at all.

We went back to reception as I couldn't let my family stay in that chalet, we were given the choice of bronze accommodation at the John Fowler St Ives park in Cornwall or pay and additional £80 to upgrade to a gold rated holiday flat at Ilfracombe. By this time it was 5.00pm and St Ives was 128 miles and 3 hours away, not an option as we had left home 9 hours ago.

We looked at the gold flat before parting with any money, to be fair it was clean, tidy and much newer than the bronze chalet we were offered. That's where the compliments end as it was no way a gold rated holiday accommodation it was very, very basic.

I complained that I shouldn't have to pay extra to stay in the alternative accommodation as it was very basic level which is what I had booked. After lengthy discussion, at times a bit heated I had no choice but to pay the extra.

It would seem from reading other reviews on here, we weren't the customer who were dissatisfied with their stay. So come on John Fowler holidays, please get your act together and look after your customers, its just not good enough!! Looking forward to a response from Patrick

We enjoyed our time in Devon apart from the John Fowler experience, spending Saturday and Sunday on the beach at Woolecomb and Croyde bay. Its a beautiful area to spend a holiday

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
It was such a shame to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park when most of guests have a great time.

I shall be contacting you and I feel sure that the matter will be settled to everyone’s satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Book a 'silver' apartment to the be told by the vile receptionist there was a computer error, and that we had been downgraded to 'bronze' the apartment was revolting, smelt of damp dog, stains on the walls and floors!! Walked straight back out, eventually got a refund off the 'receptionist' spent another £70 and got a beautiful 5* hotel room in croyde bay!! The attitude of the staff stank as much as the so called apretment! Never ever ever again!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emsyloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
I am sorry the park was so busy that we were unable to help with accommodatio. The Ilfracombe Holiday Park is a very popular place.

I am pleased to hear that the staff were able to look after you and settle the matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
0.8 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
213 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
416 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
683 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#6 of 7 in Combe Martin
584 reviews
3.2 mi away
Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilfracombe Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilfracombe Holiday Park

Property: Ilfracombe Holiday Park
Address: Marlborough Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8PF, England (Formerly John Fowler Ilfracombe Holiday Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Ilfracombe
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilfracombe Holiday Park has everything you could want on a family holiday. A 56’ heated pool, a sauna, children’s play areas and an internet cafe provide you with all the comforts of home and more. Relax in our pool during the day, and then head to the Exmoor Club for the evening’s entertainment, free to everybody staying at our Ilfracombe Holiday Parks. This park is set at the top of the valley Ilfracombe lies in, so you get views right down over the town and out to sea, exactly what you’d expect from a Devon holiday. If you don’t want to deal with cooking on holiday then our Farmhouse Kitchen Restaurant can cook you up a wide variety of fare, from low price snacks to full grills and specialty dishes. We even offer takeaways. If you are going to cook for yourself, our onsite shop sells everything you’ll need, and there’s a Tesco superstore just a five minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Ilfracombe Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Fowler Ilfracombe Holiday Park Hotel Ilfracombe
Ilfracombe Holiday Park Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing