We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ilfracombe Holiday Park
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy holiday”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Booked a budget room for 5 days and was happy when we got to our room. Ok it wasn't 5 star accommodation but it was clean and fairly roomy. The tv was a let down though with only channel 1 - 5 and cbeebies but no cbbc which didn't go down with my 9 yr old!! The entertainment team were first class and worked very hard to keep kids and adults happy. The club looked liked it has had a make over and was spotless. The park is at the back of Illfracome but a bus stop right outside meant a easy trip into town and a tesco was 2 mins walk away. A great base to explore the north devon coast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review, we really appreciate you taking the time.

Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the entertainments team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts.

With regard to the TV, Ilfracombe is not best placed to receive a long list of TV channels but that's the price we pay for being on the wrong side of the hill.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    240
    189
    138
    258
See reviews for
625
181
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We paid £355 for 7 nights through Hoseasons although it is a John fowler place. Had we paid the full £700ish it wold have been 3 stars. We hadn't read reviews but glad we hadn't. It looks like one block still has wooden window frames but most now replaced with plastic. We were in royal gold ground floor. We had 2 other parties with us. One was top floor.
I get the impression that they are trying to improve facilities but can't do it all at once. It isn't a large place like Butlins but has a shop, large club house with small soft play, a few arcade games and 3 pool tables - stained but usable.
Kitchen - plenty of crockery and cutlery. New cupboards. New cooker. Older fridge but clean. Clean kettle and toaster. Disgusting microwave but was changed for new one.
Room did feel damp despite temperature. Probably needs good airing.
Beds uncomfortable with waterproof mattress as expected but clean. New furniture.
Bathroom - shower only - needed a better clean. I was fortunate and always got a warm/ hot reasonably consistent shower. Others got hot or cold in one shower and at times no water at all which isn't really acceptable. Kitchen water was always boiling but other parties had no water on a couple of occasions. Don't forget your bath mat for when you get out of the shower.
Pool nice enough, small but ok. Smaller of two had steps and was warmer for little ones. Small changing area. Pity there isn't a family changing room which would be easier with small children. There were 4 of us so we managed to change our twins but would have struggled otherwise.
Our TV was large but other parties had portable size. Main channels plus radio and cbeebies and leisure channel. DVD included but we didn't use it. We were not away to watch TV. Didn't see crazy golf but told it was tired and is disappointing by my 13 year old nephew.
Tesco just in walking distance if you don't buy too much. We went down in car on Saturday early evening and waited 15 mins for space as all holiday makers seemed to be there too!
Bar meals served in polystyrene good value - pie was recommended. Restaurant across the road was recommended but cash only so we didn't try it ourselves.

Wi-fi in main clubhouse and strangely every now and again in our room.

Overall good value for money but cleaning in apartments needs to be looked at. Staff friendly and helpful.
Report problems and I'm sure staff will help.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mom-dad-twin-boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templecombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

we have just returned from 5 days staying at the holiday park. we booked a royal gold apartment which looked lovely online however was ok and clean but very basic. stairs leading up to apartment needed major attention - didnt feel safe. sofa very tired and sank in the middle. Cracks in the ceiling. Biggest problem of all was that there was absolutely nowhere for the children to play ball or run around. Amusements at the back of the clubhouse were in need of repair and no choice at all. Swimming pool was fine however changing rooms were dirty and not enough room to change in. When we booked we were not asked whether we wanted first or ground floor and considering we had a 5 year old with us we were placed very near the clubhouse which was noisy at end of night and when band was playing. Having stayed at hoseasons other sites before I was disappointed and would not return to this particular site despite it being a great location.

Room Tip: away from the clubhouse - not sure ground floor or top floor as dependent on stairs and carpet quali...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 927debp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
When I first read this very poor review, I immediately tried to contact the writer through the Tripadvisor Messaging service to investigate the issues, discover why they had such poor holiday and see what we could do to help. Sadly, with all Tripadvisor reviews being anonymous it is impossible to make direct contact.

To date I have not received a reply to two such messages and can only assume that perhaps their stay was not as bad as they first indicated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ilfracombe hotels

Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I recently returned from a week stay at John Fowler, Ilfracombe - and I could easily have stayed another week.

Compared to the reviews on here, the park is nothing as its reported. It's got an old style Butlins feel to it, especially with the apartments. We stayed in a Royal Gold Bungalow and at first the beds were very hard and lumpy but you know, just get on with it. We turned the mattresses around and found it to be fine. The only other negative is that the showers are either too hot or too cold.

The park itself is kept clean and tidy and is great for a base. The only thing I wish it had was beach access but its up high on a hill so it's a 5 minute drive into Ilfracombe or 20 minute drive to Woolacoombe which is a stunning beach.

The entertainment staff are absolutely second to none and really deserve all the praise they get. I'm an aspiring performer and the stripey coat Chelsie gave some great advice on where to apply for performance jobs. Very lovely girl and I understand she's new so I hope she settles in well.

I'll see you in November for the Talent final ;)

Kudos, guys.
Adam.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed to all departments.

I sometimes wonder who writes these poor reviews about such a lovely park but perhaps, more importantly, why. When we try to contact the writers to discover what exactly went wrong with their holiday, you can imagine we get no reply.

I am delighted to hear that you had a great time and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

my sister and I booked budget but were upgraded and we stayed in a gold apartment chalet. had to climb about 25 steps to reach our accommodation.it was dismal and dirty. had to clean the sink(which was greasy), worksurfaces, table, chairs, shower & toilet, doorhandles...everything was disgustingly dirty. we decided not to use the cooking facilities and utensils as they were so dirty. we ate cold food from plastic plates as we didnt want to use the dirty crockery and cutlery provided.there was a dishwasher, but why should we clean up stuff before we could use it. the dishwasher was grimey too, with limescale and black mould growing. cleaned the fridge and microwave so we could use it but didnt dare look closer at the cooker. the whole place needed deep cleaning. the tv only had the first 5 channels plus news 24. reception was bad and the itv was tuned to the Birmingham area, so we didnt get local news, travel and weather. the information channel had no sound, so you had no idea where it was suggesting a visit to.i had my own pillow and slept with a picnic blanket to cover me as i didnt trust the cleanliness of the bedding i PAID EXTRA for. lighting was low, presumably so you couldnt see the dirt. decided not to use the facilities like swimming pool or entertainment area for fear of the same bad hygeine standards, the low lighting was there too. didnt try the restuarant either, for the same reason.we had to provide our own towels, our shower leaked when upstairs used their shower. no one serviced the place all week, even the bins weren't emptied. some of the lights didnt work. there were loose dogs running around,barking and uncontrolled day and night.the bed creaked badly as did the floorboards. kids charging up and down balconies and stairs causing considerable noise nuisance and sleep deprivation. I wouldnt recommend this place to my worst enemy! all i can say is it was unbelievable,not in a good way.I didnt think to check trip advisor first, before i booked.BIG MISTAKE. area not suitable for people who cant walk up steep hills, as anywhere you go, even into town involves lots.

Room Tip: go somewhere else...if you insist on going here and can manage stairs, choose a top apartment, then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r0ses447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
When I first read this very poor review, I immediately tried to contact the writer through the Tripadvisor Messaging service to investigate the issues, discover why they had such poor holiday and see what we could do to help. Sadly, with all Tripadvisor reviews being anonymous it is impossible to make direct contact.

To date I have not received a reply to two such messages and can only assume that perhaps their stay was not as bad as they first indicated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We booked this last minute and got it half price for a week July/August in a Gold apartment and glad we didn't pay full price.

In the whole week we never once had our apartment cleaned,yet abroad in more basic accommodation you have it cleaned every other day!!First impressions were okay glad we didn't book budget,it's clean it's fine.As the week progressed we unearthed dirt/cobwebs etc I wish I hadn't seen!!

You have all the conveniences at hand,kettle,toaster,microwave,oven,dishwasher and a good selection of cooking equipment/crockery.

The Farmhouse Restaurant across the food I can't fault,amazing home cooked meals and lovely people and service!

The location was great,overlooking the sea and it is about a 20-30 min walk into town however the hill back up is not for the faint hearted!

We have had a great time so far and have only used it as a base to explore but looking forward to my home comforts as I have never slept on a bed so hard I'm my life!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melbahol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review, we really appreciate you taking the time. Your comments have been passed to all departments.

With regard to a housekeeping service, generally this is not available in English holiday parks, although it could be a service we could look at for the future.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The entertainment staff were friendly, welcoming, and genuinely so talented! Nothing was too much trouble and staff went the extra mile to make it fun. Kids club was brilliant and got everyone involved. Accommodation was clean tidy and more than adequate for what you need! Recommend to every one and already booked another week! Cant wait!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kstevens83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
0.8 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
208 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
401 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Darnley Hotel
The Darnley Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
363 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#6 of 7 in Combe Martin
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilfracombe Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilfracombe Holiday Park

Property: Ilfracombe Holiday Park
Address: Marlborough Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8PF, England (Formerly John Fowler Ilfracombe Holiday Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Ilfracombe
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilfracombe Holiday Park has everything you could want on a family holiday. A 56’ heated pool, a sauna, children’s play areas and an internet cafe provide you with all the comforts of home and more. Relax in our pool during the day, and then head to the Exmoor Club for the evening’s entertainment, free to everybody staying at our Ilfracombe Holiday Parks. This park is set at the top of the valley Ilfracombe lies in, so you get views right down over the town and out to sea, exactly what you’d expect from a Devon holiday. If you don’t want to deal with cooking on holiday then our Farmhouse Kitchen Restaurant can cook you up a wide variety of fare, from low price snacks to full grills and specialty dishes. We even offer takeaways. If you are going to cook for yourself, our onsite shop sells everything you’ll need, and there’s a Tesco superstore just a five minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Ilfracombe Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Fowler Ilfracombe Holiday Park Hotel Ilfracombe
Ilfracombe Holiday Park Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing