We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ilfracombe Holiday Park
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a great time at Illfracombe recently,we have been here before and we love going back .We were given a free upgrade to a royal gold bungalow as a previous holiday to widemouth bay was horrendous,so we would like to thank john fowlers for that.The bungalow was lovely and clean and spacious and had three separate bedrooms which was perfect for us.The entertainment was good and we love the bingo especially as the kids can join in to.We will definatley be going back to Illfracombe again,so thank you to everyone who made our holiday a great one again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    222
    172
    129
    246
See reviews for
578
163
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

On arrival we were delighted to be told that we had been upgraded to a Gold bungalow, wonderful! not really - the accommodation was basic, cleanliness left something to be desired, having found used tissues on the bedroom floor and tables that had not been cleaned properly. The towel rail did not work and was hanging on to its fixings by a couple of threads of the screws. In the living room, the cable to the electric heater had the wires exposed. I reported these to reception and they were noted (in the receptionists mind - didn't see her write it down). The on site club is large with a children's soft play area and amusement machines located in this same room - could be better located in separate areas so they don't clash with the other entertainment in the club. The club staff are brilliant!!! Onto the swimming pool, very boring as there is nothing for the kids to do but swim. No play stuff in there at all, and you cannot take your own in there either. The restaurant just across the road was OK. On the whole nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiseryGuts27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a group over 3 chalets and had a great time. I think if you are going expecting a boutique hotel then you will be disappointed, but it is what it says it is - a big and lively holiday park. We used it as a base to go surfing and visit the local attractions which it was perfect for. We paid about £50 each for 3 nights and stayed in the buttercup silver chalets. Not the most attractive place I've ever been from the outside, but a good amount of space inside and had everything we needed and everything was clean. The chalets were also surprisingly soundproof, we knew we would be up late so sandwiched the chalet we thought might be noisy between the 2 others we were staying in so as not to disturb anyone else, but our own party could not hear anything next door which is great.
In a nutshell, if you go expecting 5* accommodation on the seafront front for a caravan park price then you will be disappointed, but if you want a family or group holiday with plenty to do then this will suit fine! We will be back in the autumn :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lazzylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely 4 star review. The Ilfracombe Holiday Park is ideally centred for exploring the many wonderful places and attractions in North Devon and I am delighted to hear that you all took full advantage of that.

Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the housekeeping team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts.

We really hope to see you again later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have just returned and we had a lovely time. The accommodation was clean and tidy and offered all the facilities we required.
I would recommend eating in the farmhouse restaurant as we found the service brilliant.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephmc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review, we really appreciate you taking the time.

Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the restaurant team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts. Our Farmhouse Kitchen Restaurant, with its local speciality dishes, has for many years been a main feature of our holiday park.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Have recently stayed here in a Royal Gold Bungalow, considering this was a top of the range you wouldn't think so. It was clean and i think recently refurbished but fittings in the bathroom were rusty the nets had holes in them and wind whistled through the pvc windows. Holes in the walls and doors were just patched badly. Why there was a dishwasher i don't know, I never used it and the smell was really bad. Dont expect to get a good night sleep the double bed wont s throwing springs are come through the mattress I complained the next day after sleeping in the chair all night as the bed settee was also broken and unusable went back to the accommodation later to find there answer was to add a quilt to place on top of the bed. My son said I could have his bed the second night and he would have the double he awoke the next morning with marks all over his body from the springs. The walls are so thin you can hear the conversations from upstairs and every time they went to the toilet or drained a sink it goes straight through your accommodation so dont go thinking you will have a quiet relaxing break.
I have to admit the staff were friendly and the bar prices reasonable except for the kids slushes,
£3 were quiet steep.I would say the kids entertainment is more for under 7s not for teenagers in fact not much there at all for over 7s but I have to say the pool attendants are quiet good at keeping the kids entertained in the pool. Kids said that was the best bit about there hols. I have to admit we have been going to Ilfracombe for a few years now and if anything the place is going down hill fast shops looking very tired not much to do at all.. .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhyscal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park.

I am confused by your comment about noise from upstairs if you were staying in a bungalow - perhaps it was from next door. These properties were newly built in 2009 and were very heavily insulated, so it is rare to hear some say that they were troubled by noisy neighbours.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments and we really hope that you will visit us again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Having just spent 7 days here, my boyfriend and I are alreadg planning our second visit! The service we received was amazing! The stripey team made our evenings fun and full of excitement! Jay's personality and sense of humour was outstanding, and Brian, Molly, Lucy and Sam made the games and competitions a pleasure to join in with! Jay's Cabaret was the best night of entertainment we had and would love to hear him sing again! They are all fantastic with the children, getting everybody involved! We were made to feel very welcome by the entire Stripey team. The only couple of criticisms we have about our accommodation are that the matress on the bed was extremely hard and lumpy, and the shower was no more than a dribble of water. We were upgraded upon arrival though which was kind! I would definitely recommend this park for any age group, its fantastic for those with children and of course, those without (like Martin and I). We will definitely be coming back to John Flower's Ilfracombe, hoping to see the same team of Stripey's to make our next stay as entertaining as this one!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank natcole1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic 5 star review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our entertainments, the team of Brian, Molly, Lucy and Sam are all doing a brilliant job, and work extremely hard to ensure everyone has a great holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Immingham
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We spent three nights at the Park, and were pleasantly surprised. Our accommodation was spotless and contained everything we needed (including a dishwasher)

Situated at the top of a steep road into town, you will need a car unless you are super fit - but we were told it is only £3 for a taxi back from the harbour if you decide to walk down

I have no complaints and am rather surprised at one of the very damning reviews.

As a base for checking out the area, it was absolutely fine (and considering we got it on a cheap deal through the local paper - cost us less than £60 for three nights - it was a bargain)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynneth44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving us such a lovely review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed to all departments.

We simply do not understand why some people choose to post negative reviews, when all the staff work really hard to make everyone feel welcome. However, we are all individuals and we can all have vastly different opinions on the same subject. We welcome all reviews because sometimes constructive criticism can be useful for making improvements for the benefit of future guests

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
0.6 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
309 reviews
0.6 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
377 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
335 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#5 of 8 in Combe Martin
540 reviews
3.2 mi away
Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilfracombe Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilfracombe Holiday Park

Property: Ilfracombe Holiday Park
Address: Marlborough Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8PF, England (Formerly John Fowler Ilfracombe Holiday Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Ilfracombe
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilfracombe Holiday Park has everything you could want on a family holiday. A 56’ heated pool, a sauna, children’s play areas and an internet cafe provide you with all the comforts of home and more. Relax in our pool during the day, and then head to the Exmoor Club for the evening’s entertainment, free to everybody staying at our Ilfracombe Holiday Parks. This park is set at the top of the valley Ilfracombe lies in, so you get views right down over the town and out to sea, exactly what you’d expect from a Devon holiday. If you don’t want to deal with cooking on holiday then our Farmhouse Kitchen Restaurant can cook you up a wide variety of fare, from low price snacks to full grills and specialty dishes. We even offer takeaways. If you are going to cook for yourself, our onsite shop sells everything you’ll need, and there’s a Tesco superstore just a five minute walk away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
John Fowler Ilfracombe Holiday Park Hotel Ilfracombe
Ilfracombe Holiday Park Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing