We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very friendly, clean and comfortable B&B which we will stay in again.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Woodlands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Woodlands
Ranked #15 of 55 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A very friendly, clean and comfortable B&B which we will stay in again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Woodlands is situated in a peaceful location, yet only a fifteen minute stroll away from Ilfracombe Harbour and shops, (up-hill on the way back to the B&B). This is a very clean and comfortable B&B and the hosts, Chris and Christine, were very friendly and helpful in giving advice about places to visit, both locally and a little bit further afield. We stayed for three nights, and we can say the breakfasts were first class! Our bedroom (Number 2) and en-suite were on the small side, and if we were really well built it might have been a struggle to move freely in the en-suite. Having said that, we had a balcony which we could sit out on, and the views across the garden were tremendous. We will certainly stay at The Woodlands again when we visit North Devon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueHalford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    23
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
78
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights due to a wedding at the tunnels which was only a 6-10min walk away down hill (not so good up hill on way back being late and tired)
The room we stayed in 4 was extremely comfortable with huge bed crisp sheets nice en suite and large enough for a good size tv with leather couch.
So you asked why only 3 stars, well sadly we had quite a lot of noise from the guest sleeping in the room above us, with lots of thumping floor boards and chatting late into the night and could here there TV set when on. Also the room could do with maybe a black out blind or darker curtains it was very light which woke us up early but that might just be me being light sensitive.

Breakfast was lovely cannot fault the food very hot fresh eat as much as you like, the only thing I didn't t like was being asked to order breakfast the night before from a list ,either full English or
continental and also what time you will be eating. I didn't like that because I really didn't t know and felt pressured in keeping to the time slot which was frustrating.
The breakfast room was pleasant but very quite no atmosphere and our conversation was whispered because of this.
Would I stay again proberly not due to the breakfast arrangements.

Room Tip: Room 4 was big and comfortable but no balcony which I would have liked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Woodlands is a grand old house in the Torrs Park area overlooking the lovely town of Ilfracombe and very easy to access the coastal path walks from. Chris and Christine are friendly, helpful hosts and the full English breakfast well cooked and made using locally produced, quality products. Our room (11) was large and comfortably furnished with crisp white bedding and large fluffy towels. The garden was a delight to behold.
It's an easy walk downhill into town but, if you're too tired to face the drag back up the hill, taxis are cheaper than parking for a few hours.

Room Tip: Overlooking the garden is lovely and some even have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marygreencroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this spotlessly clean B&B. Our room had lovely views of the garden. It was perfectly situated for visiting the town. We were staying because of a friend's wedding at Tunnels Beaches and that was a very short walk away, even in heels! The room was comfortable and excellent value for money. Breakfast the next morning was delicious. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Ilfracombe.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed for just one night and even though the rooms were compact they were comfortable, spotlessly clean and slept very well indeed. The parking is a bit tight so if you can reverse down the drive do so as it may ease getting out again because there's not much room and the drive is very steep. That said there's plenty of parking in the road and that's safe as well. Maybe I just like the challenge? The staff are friendly and personable. The breakfast was really nice and there was lots of it. The food was obviously very good quality and very nicely cooked. If we ever go back to Ilfracombe this will be top of our list !!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rjpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, Cornwall
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights, a long weekend for my wifes birthday, had a lovely welcome from Christine, she upgraded our room after finding out it was a birthday stay, that was really appreciated. We were given room 4, absolutely wonderful. Breakfast was lovely with quality ingredients. All in all a great place to stay . We would recomend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LARTER1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night for a friends wedding at Tunnels Beaches and was very pleased. The room was quite small but had everything you need - T.V, kettle with tea & coffee, ensuite shower etc. The room was clean & tidy as was the whole place. The staff were very welcoming & friendly and the breakfast we had was great too with a good selection of options. Location was very handy as well, particularly for Tunnels Beaches which was only a 5 minute walk to the bottom of the hill. The on site parking is limited and is very steep but there is plenty available of the road too. Overall very pleased!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goonerjon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1.0 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#12 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 55 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Collingdale
The Collingdale
#3 of 55 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands

Property: The Woodlands
Address: Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woodlands 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly and helpful team here who are always ready to ensure that you enjoy your stay in our clean and peaceful Guest House. Whether for a romantic escape or an activity break you will find the Woodlands an ideal place to unwind. You can be sure of comfortable accommodation. The building was recently refurbished to a high standard and provides modern facilities without losing its Victorian charm. All bedrooms are en suite with television and tea and coffee making facilities, most have garden views and some have balconies. We have a range of accommodation to suit your needs: twin, standard, premium & deluxe doubles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Woodlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlands Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing