We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and superb B&B”
Review of The Woodlands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Woodlands
Ranked #14 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here selected the hotel from previous Trip Advisor reviews and they were right. The location was ideal and a short walk from the town centre and harbour,
The rooms, we had one standard and one premier they were clean,comfortable and ideal.
The breakfast was excellent and the service we received could not be faulted.
The location is also a short distance from the coastal path which has some of the most dramatic views to be had anywhere in the UK.
The next time we visit Ilfracoombe we would not look elsewhere but book the Woodlands again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 120 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at the Woodland Hotel (Ilfracombe) from 18th September to 20th September 2012. Very nice welcome from Christine and Chris, parking was a challenge (on a steep hill) but grateful to have a parking space in a convenient spot outside front door. Could not fault the quality of the food or service, probably the best breakfast we have had for a while. Bed Linen was gorgeous and soft (Egypt's Cotton), very nice pillows as well. We stayed in room (2), we had the luxury of nice weather so we could sit outside on the Balcony, nice to have a choice of tea's and a biscuit after a long journey. The room was tight on space (Pine furniture?) and the bathroom although very clean was also extremely economical on space, (Homer Simpson would not have got past the sink and partition) the shower had plenty of room though with very good soaps and body wash. We reported a fault with the very hot water (Could have been scolded) from the shower head when we left, only had to turn on the flow regulator (not the hot and cold regulator) to have a hot shower. Hope the problem will be fixed as it may cause injury. The hotel is very convenient to to the town, only 15 minutes down the hill. The Ilfracombe fryer serves a great plateful of fish & chips. And the walk around the cliff is well recommended.

Room Tip: There is a room with a Balcony and more room (I think it was room one) £75 quoted. I would return to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcolmWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Room 3 is very very small. The bathroom is ok (good shower) and the toiletries are very very nice. Unfortunately in the room there is space for the bed and that is it. We had large suitcases and that was a problem.

Breakfast was very nice, freshly cooked. We did not get to enjoy the garden but it looked lovely. You are close to the Coast Path and can walk into town. The car park is very steep and small spots but there is plenty of space on the street where it is free parking.

We might stay again but ask for a bigger room!

Room Tip: room 3 is tiny, call up and ask for large room (seems that booking through booking.com guarantees yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank london4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed hear for one night on our way home from Cornwall and it was booked very last minute as a pit stop. I agree with a lot of the comments already made. I don't know if it is just me, but I can't stand old pine furniture and could not wait to leave the bedroom. It was clean and tidy and had views of the lovely garden. We had a good sleep and a hot shower which is all that we needed. I would not stay here again but it is fine if you just need a bed for the night. We had a look around Illfracombe whilst we were there but were not impressed, it is in need of investment to give it a face lift.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenJ008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Was a little worried when we booked and were given Room 3 which showed as being basic. Phoned to check that it wasn't how imagined but was told that they hadn't had any complaints. First nights deposit was paid so we decided to try it rather than lose a deposit. When we arrived we were asked to pay up front. When we got to the room, my worst fears were confirmed. The bathroom was too small to fit the washbasin in so it was in the main room and it felt as if we were in the servants quarters. The redeeming factor of the stay was having access to a lovely bathroom. We were booked in for 4 nights but had to leave after 3 because of the claustrophobic feeling of the room. The gardens are beautiful but,other than being in them, the only way to view was standing at a window. The owners are pleasant and breakfast enjoyable. Also, be aware that the parking is on a steep gradient - I was glad I had an automatic car.

Room Tip: As described Room 3 is not a pleasant room - views are very restriced
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed in this lovely B&B for five days. From the moment we arrived and Christine welcomed us, until the moment we left and got waved good bye by Chris (Christine's husband), we were completely satisfied with everything. The room was spacious, quiet and comfortable. The location of the B&B is very convenient and yet quiet. The breakfast was plentiful and of good quality and the owners were very helpful and charming. The garden is also very nice, although we didn't get to enjoy it a lot because of poor weather.
If I ever go back to Ilfracombe, I will be going back to the woodlands. Thank you specially to Chris for indulging us with our "special requirements" for breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Almunecarvillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Just got back from a wonderful weekend in ilfracombe.and this b and b made it even better.ilfracombes a lovely place and ghis is set close enough to the action,but out the way enough to be quiet and relaxing.

Christine,Christopher and Robin do a fantastic job keeping the rooms clean and cooking to a very high standard.Theyre also extremely friendly.very helpful and keen to keep you happy.

The room itself had everything you need for a short break away, and was very clean and tidy.

The gardens really are the gem of the building and surroundings.long garden with loads of trees and open spaces and plenty of pretty plants ,flowers and even a running stream at the bottom

.i actually think you could charge non-guests for garden use

thankyou all

we will see you again

Leah & leigh barrett (room 1)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leighbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.9 mi away
The Collingdale Guest House
The Collingdale Guest House
#2 of 52 in Ilfracombe
394 reviews
0 mi away
Epchris House
Epchris House
#6 of 52 in Ilfracombe
205 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#15 of 20 in Ilfracombe
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
657 reviews
2.1 mi away
High Ways House
High Ways House
#1 of 1 in Mullacott
13 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands

Address: Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: $98 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woodlands 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly and helpful team here who are always ready to ensure that you enjoy your stay in our clean and peaceful Guest House. Whether for a romantic escape or an activity break you will find the Woodlands an ideal place to unwind. You can be sure of comfortable accommodation. The building was recently refurbished to a high standard and provides modern facilities without losing its Victorian charm. All bedrooms are en suite with television and tea and coffee making facilities, most have garden views and some have balconies. We have a range of accommodation to suit your needs: twin, standard, premium & deluxe doubles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Woodlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlands Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing