We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”
Review of Wildercombe House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wildercombe House
Ranked #1 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Ann-Marie and Barry gave me the honour of installing blinds in several locations throughout this fine hotel, The refurbishment of the property was amazing, no expense spared and the building is as magnificent inside as it is outside.
The fixtures and fittings are of the best quality and the place is disabled friendly. I would and have recommended the hotel to my friends and anyone else for that matter.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevanUKBlinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

301 - 307 of 447 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed one night and were made most welcome and upgraded to room 4. The room size, facilities and bathroom were all excellent, although it would have been nice to have 2 armchairs in the room.
The public rooms are impressive and the bar cosy, but perhaps the billiards table would be better sited in the entrance hall and the lounge made into a cosier place.
Dinner was the real disappointment: we had to book and choose our main course in advance and chose each of the only 2 fish dishes. We were shocked that the vegetables were frozen peas and sweetcorn and the fish (tuna and salmon) was sprinkled with dried dill; there was no sauce. For around £14, these main courses were poor value and uninspired. Breakfast was good with perfectly poached eggs, but the yoghurts were long life, made in Germany, the toast from a standard, medium loaf.
The South West is a foodie heaven (we live there) Wildercombe House is missing a trick by not sourcing more food locally and using fresh seasonal fish and vegetables: Yeo Valley yogurts and Miles tea and coffee are available from just up the road in Somerset.
Ann Marie has 'service' just right and was attentive and friendly without being intrusive. We might stay again, but we would eat dinner out next time!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank B_and_P787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Anne-Marie and Barry Marsh are a lovely, helpful and friendly couple, who know how to look after their guests. The standard of their accommodation is first class and it was a pleasure staying in their wonderful house. The food was excellent and I had a great time staying with them.

My en-suit room was of the highest standard and even had bath robes provided; I was very impressed and lucky to have stayed in such a lovely place.


If you want to stay in good standard accommodation then look no further, I sincerely hope I can return here in the future. Thank you for your hospitality and company during my stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordymac1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Barry & Anne Marie are perfect hosts. Wildercombe is clean, fresh and calming with excellently proportioned rooms. The house retains much of its period features but in a modern contempary way.
Wish we could have stayed longer.
Thankyou for the hospitality

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellymark44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Clean, tidy, friendly, amazing breakfast. Good understanding of business visitors including 7 am breakfast. Quiet room and slept really well. Lovely welcome and relaxed atmosphere. enjoyed the druids fliud beer. Thank you Ann-Marie

Room Tip: just relax and enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Everything was just perfect : warm welcome, beautiful house, quite & comfortable room, very nice furniture and decoration, wise advices for restaurant, efficient service (taxi, calls, ...), awesome breakfast, excellent beer...
I just hope to come back for private vacation !

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcc244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stay quite frequently in ilfracombe as we have friends their so we try and stay at a variety of places but wildercombe by far tops the lot! Welcoming hosts, immaculately clean in every room, modern but cosy... Our room was fab! We loved the slate wall in the bathroom. The only thing we had trouble with was the plug in the bath (didn't work) but the hosts were very accommodating and resolved this as soon as they could. Breakfast was lovely a huge range of fruits, breads, cheeses etc as well as a delicious range of cooked foods. This was yum! Bar the bacon being a little under done for my taste. Already we have recommended to friends and family to stay at this hotel and we plan to book another stay in the summer months :)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1.1 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
1 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
459 reviews
1 mi away
The Collingdale Guest House
The Collingdale Guest House
#2 of 52 in Ilfracombe
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Olive Branch
The Olive Branch
#7 of 52 in Ilfracombe
190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Epchris House
Epchris House
#6 of 52 in Ilfracombe
205 reviews
0.9 mi away
Torrs Hotel Ilfracombe
Torrs Hotel Ilfracombe
#10 of 52 in Ilfracombe
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildercombe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildercombe House

Address: Wildercombe House St. Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: $72 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wildercombe House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high upon an idyllic spot in the seaside town of Ilfracombe, Wildercombe House enjoys sweeping views across the valley, out to sea, and Ilfracombe town, which has the added bonus of being a working fishing harbour. A former Gentleman’s Residence built in 1885, Wildercombe House offers award winning Bed and Breakfast accommodation with light, spacious rooms which have been completely refurbished throughout providing our guests with the highest levels of quality and comfort. Free, super-fast Wi-Fi is available throughout the entire building and outside areas. Whether your choice is to walk, cycle or drive, Wildercombe House is here for you to enjoy a luxurious stay and as a base for exploring the delightful countryside, local beaches, historic sites, and Exmoor National Park. Maybe you just want some ‘time out’ away from it all, time for you…… Wildercombe House is the ideal place to stay; a perfect retreat to rest and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wildercombe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildercombe House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing