We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, courteous family run palace on a hill”
Review of Wildercombe House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wildercombe House
Ranked #1 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

For me this was a long weekend away from the pressure-cooker career. Driving into Devon is a delight in itself but reaching the hotel was simply divine. Anne-Maria and Barry run a very personal, very friendly service. You immediately feel both welcome and special. The hotel itself is a pleasure to spend time in - breakfast - YUM! - and makes a great base if you're travelling around. I'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidJRodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 447 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights, as we drove up St Brannocks road and passed dated Guest Houses we wondered what we were going too, when we arrived at WH we knew it was going to be something special. We were warmly greeted by Barry who checked us in showed us round and took us to our room, we were up graded as the room we had booked was being decorated, we were in room 8 it was perfect all the fixtures and fittings are top of the range there is plenty of storage, large flat screen TV, arm chairs, tea and coffee making facilities. The bed was comfortable with luxury bedding pillows and quilt, the bathrooms have very high standered fixtures and fittings towls and bath robes and soft and comfy. Breakfast was wonderful large verity of cearals, fruit, yogurt, nuts, meats, cheese etc and cooked breakfast to order which was better than any 5* hotel we have stayed in. Ann Marie and Barry are always available to give you advice on the area and go that extra mile to make sure you have a comfortable stay. We will defiantly be staying at WH again and have no hesitation to recomeneding staying at this 1st class haven in Devon.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very nice guest house with an amazingly huge luxurious room. It was quite pricey but you can see why with the lovely rooms, bathrooms and views. Breakfast had a fair choice and was nice. Shower has to be the most fancy thing there! Wonderful! Lots of special little touches like bathrobes etc. Bed was so squidgy! We wanted to buy the duvet! Not too far from the town, about a 15-20 min walk. Very tranquil and relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DipaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

What else can I add - everyone has said how nice the rooms are. Probably the best hotel or guest house room I have stayed in. The breakfast was good. There was a wifi repeater in the room which meant hat the room was illuminated with green flashing lights all night so had to down-power it when trying to get to sleep! Plenty of disabled rooms for those who need them.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derrybeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here to attend a wedding at The Tunnels Beaches, we could not have picked a more perfect place for a special weekend away together. The rooms are lovely with special touches like bathrobes, flannels and the most luxurious soft bed sheets I have ever slept in, these special thoughtful touches really make your stay. The owner is another special part of Wildercombe House she is extremely welcoming and puts you at ease as soon as you arrive. Breakfast was excellent and I enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere looking out to sea, i personally enjoyed hearing the news on the tv in the background as it helped to create a relaxed atmosphere whereby you felt you could chat and not feel you were being overheard. I could write pages and pages on why this place is so perfect in fact I am still lying on the bed now as I write this, and really don't want to leave in a minute :(

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura34999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The owners, Anne-Marie and Barry, are dedicated to high-quality service. A very committed and friendly couple who deserve to recoup (and more!) all the money they must have recenty invested on refurbishing this lovely hotel.

I went with my disabled 92-year old mother and her room was the best she had ever been in for her requirements.

I should also like to make a special mention of the dinner we had, cooked by Barry. We had asked for rack of lamb to be served with vegetables and I had visions of overcooked meat and soggy seaside greens. I have not lived in the UK for 38 years but, goodness, how things have changed! We had a very generous portion of rosé lamb and the vegetables were al dente, just as they should be. Barry had also concocted a delicious thyme, honey and mustard sauce (offputtingly described as gravy I think on the menu!) that was a perfect complement to the meat. My congratulations!

Breakfast was also stupendous, Superb assortment of fresh fruit and hearty English items including black pudding which I love!

Just one minor criticism. Why have a television set on while people are eating? Nobody at breakfast was watchingt the TV news which was just providing a barely audible background noise ("airstrikes.. Syria.. Cameron.. Irak" etc etc) which was not a perfect accompaniment to a perfect breakfast!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phalarope55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Staying at Wildercombe House was fantastic. Everything was spotless, nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast was brilliant. Ann Marie made us feel very comfortable and recommended us a nice restaurant to eat at, even calling to book us a table. They has obviously spent a lot of money revamping the house and it shows. I would recommened it to anyone staying in or around Illfracombe

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amesm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1.1 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
1 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
459 reviews
1 mi away
The Collingdale Guest House
The Collingdale Guest House
#2 of 52 in Ilfracombe
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Olive Branch
The Olive Branch
#7 of 52 in Ilfracombe
190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Epchris House
Epchris House
#6 of 52 in Ilfracombe
205 reviews
0.9 mi away
Torrs Hotel Ilfracombe
Torrs Hotel Ilfracombe
#10 of 52 in Ilfracombe
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildercombe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildercombe House

Address: Wildercombe House St. Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: $73 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wildercombe House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high upon an idyllic spot in the seaside town of Ilfracombe, Wildercombe House enjoys sweeping views across the valley, out to sea, and Ilfracombe town, which has the added bonus of being a working fishing harbour. A former Gentleman’s Residence built in 1885, Wildercombe House offers award winning Bed and Breakfast accommodation with light, spacious rooms which have been completely refurbished throughout providing our guests with the highest levels of quality and comfort. Free, super-fast Wi-Fi is available throughout the entire building and outside areas. Whether your choice is to walk, cycle or drive, Wildercombe House is here for you to enjoy a luxurious stay and as a base for exploring the delightful countryside, local beaches, historic sites, and Exmoor National Park. Maybe you just want some ‘time out’ away from it all, time for you…… Wildercombe House is the ideal place to stay; a perfect retreat to rest and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wildercombe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildercombe House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing