We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“enjoyable stay”
Review of Devon Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Devon Bay Hotel
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“enjoyable stay”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband & myself spent 4 nights here ( 3 of which were on a groupon deal). the hotel is in a very good position although built on a hill, our roon was on the first floor up a flight of steps, however when we looked out of the window we were on ground level. Also some of the corridors to the bedrooms are noticably sloping so its safe to say its a very querky hotel. The hotel is dated but spotlessly clean and the staff are very helpfull & friendly. It does cater for the coach type holidays so plenty of elderly, however they were full of chatacter & funloving. At meal times you have a choice of 3 starters, 3 main & 3 deserts, all served by friendly staff. Entertainment every night (some beter than others). We would stay again if travelling to Ilfracombe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie-John66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    139
    123
    87
    76
See reviews for
42
297
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Look, I don't mind a bit of traditional 1970s English culture. I was brought up on it. I stayed in places like the Grosvenor as a child. Frequently. Scarborough. Skegness. Torquay. And yes these establishments remain, like amusement arcades, candyfloss and 'kiss me quick' t-shirts. Timeless. Check out the Walpole in Margate for a great example of reinventing that gorgeous tradition of typical Englishness, done with style, class and affordability.

But here...we were stuffed into an attic room. A dirty noisy boiler in the corner, behind a door. Ripped bed covers. Hair in the sink. Mold on the slipmat. Splashes of endless 'white stuff' on the bathroom door. Half a mini bottle of used body wash. No phone, and on the top floor too. No remote for the tv. Dirty teapot and filthy kettle. Disgraceful. A refusal (finally reversed) to allow us to leave our luggage for a few hours after checkout as they were 'too busy..don't you have a car?'. Unless you want the Fawlty Towers experience...avoid.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdeCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ilfracombe hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Justgo Holidays and stayed at the Grosvenor Hotel which offered good food and friendly staff.

The hotel is in a good location.

Must also say a Big thank you to Dave the Justgo coach driver we sat in the front seats he is a carefull caring driver felt 100% safe with him hes a credit to Justgo Holidays

Highly recomended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cretabot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Having read the reviews on trip advisor my husband and I did not know what to expect on our three day break at this hotel.

We had a really great stay. The staff were most helpful, the bedroom spotless and comfortable, and the meal we had on the first night was excellent. Frank in the dining room took good care of us, and the service was amazingly prompt, even though the hotel was full. Breakfast too was very good, my husband had porridge, and I had full English, and not a glimpse of fat was on the plate.

The Hotel is situated near the Gallery, which we visited, and the harbour with it's controversial statue of a pregnant lady, which was wonderful. We took advantage of the situation to visit instow, Westward Ho, and Bideford, and went to Lynton for a ride on the Steam train, and had a cup of tea at the little station.

Okay, the Hotel needed some updating, but with excellent service, good meals, very clean bedroom with tea and coffee facilities, and very helpful staff, we really enjoyed our stay, which was excellent value using the voucher. We would definitely revisit.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor, and used the lift as we are both disabled. We had an upgrade and ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WesleyDebenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

would NOT go back
was ok for what we paid breakfast was good evening meal first night was adiquet but poor 2nd nght..lumpy matresses
not siutable for infirm lift only to first floor
steep and narrow stairs.fire doors lock open.and keys in from other side
current owners have been there for 40 years and it shows needs love and attention
main ball room was comfy bar prices average
GODS WAITING ROOM

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tracyfaiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I was expecting Fawlty Towers after reading some reviews so was pleasantly surprised. We stayed 2 nights on a kgb deal, the dinner was tasty and the breakfasts too. We slept well on a comfortable mattress and liked the shower head of water. Two suggestions for the owners, provide a larger TV (ours was computer screen size and too far away). Also the carpet and chair were badly in need of a professional clean. Apart from that we were content staying there (so convenient for sea and shops) and think it was good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Windlers0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I had the unexpected pleasure of joining a coach party which used the G as its base for a long weekend in August. Imagine my surprise on arrival that we not only had coffee/tea awaiting us but luggage boys who took our cases to the room!

As Trickster9 has pointed out very succintly, the hotel was perfectly adequate for what you pay for it. In my case, it was very reasonable as breakfast and an evening meal were included. And unlike some of the reviewers on here found the food both wholesome and varied. It beggars belief that people buy deals on KGB and then expect the establishments to serve up Michelin star meals. As I state I have travelled widely and stayed in many hotels and found this one of the friendliest and honest to boot. The owners I found to be not only courteous but friendly and helpful. Those who wish to criticise the hotel appearance and staff should try running it themselves for a week and see how difficult it is to deal with customers who pay little but expect perfection! And no, I am not related to the owners or friends and it is unlikely I will travel to Ilfracombe again, though I did find the resort a hidden gem of N Devon. I would recommend taking a dip in the Victorian open air swimming pool and taking a walk on the coastal path.

Finally, I would like to thank the hotel for spending their hard earned money on evening entertainment for the guests. The standard was reasonable and better than surrounding hotels as their guests joined us on more than occasion.

In summary, if you want 4/5 star accommodation and food then look elsewhere and pay your monies. If you want a cheap and cheerful break at bargain prices then the G is the place to go.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amscorpio888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.4 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.9 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Bay Hotel

Property: Devon Bay Hotel
Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AF, England (Formerly Grosvenor Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Devon Bay Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Devon Bay Hotel. Its Stately Victorian exterior fully compliments the stylish and characteristic interior, blending old and new styles to create a unique and exciting environment. Our large and airy restaurant looks out to the front of the hotel, serving freshly prepared breakfast and dinner every day. We also have a large bar and comfortable lounge areas, which are great to sit and enjoy a drink and relax. The Devon Bay Hotel is ideally located in the bustling centre of Ilfracombe, minutes from the cliff tops and beautiful sandy beach, meaning guests have everything they need within walking distance. Our aim at Devon Bay Hotel is to ensure that your stay with us is pleasurable. You will always receive a friendly warm welcome, whether you are visiting us for lunch or dinner, a function or an overnight stay. Whether business or pleasure, why not make the Devon Bay Hotel first on your list of new venues to visit - we look forward to welcoming you. Step outside and you are on the Promenade with its many shops, cafes, and the Landmark Theatre complex. Open all year around, we offer Christmas and New Year Packages and our nightly entertainment ensures that your visit to the Devon Bay Hotel will be enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Devon Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Hotel Ilfracombe
Devon Bay Hotel Ilfracombe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing