We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“got what we payed for”
Review of Devon Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Devon Bay Hotel
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Long Eaton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“got what we payed for”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We purchased a 2 night internet deal, and feel we got value for money. We had read some reviews prior to staying, and were a little wary of what to expect! The staff were friendly and polite. The room was adequate, although the shower cubicle left alot to be desired! We feel for what we payed, it was quite satisfactory- the breakfast was nice, with a good selection. It didn't bother us that most of the other guests were elderly, and that the entertainment was aimed at them ( although I got " shussed " at, when I ordered a drink while bingo was on!! ). The hotel is located very close to the shops and the harbour. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay, and if we found another cheap deal, would definitely stay again, but wouldn't pay full price.

Room Tip: You don't get a choice, but didn't enquire when booking, so not sure if you can choose. Woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    139
    125
    88
    76
See reviews for
43
297
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Having purchased a two night internet deal for £89 for two people including breakfast, we certainly got value for money. The Grosvenor was exactly what we expected, a typical seaside hotel catering for mainly coach parties and elderly people which was what we experienced. Our criteria for this trip was somewhere to sleep and as long as it was clean it would meet our expectations. The Staff without exception were very helpful and friendly and the best bit about our stay. The Breakfast was very nice, good selection of cereal, fruit juices, full English, Kippers etc. Although our room/bedding was clean and recently painted it had seen better days. The furniture was very old chipped mdf board with the headboard just screwed to the walls with no attempt to hide the screws etc. It was incredibly scruffy. Likewise the bathroom was clean, but the mould on the mastic around the shower and basin that couldn't be scrubbed off should have been replaced. The whole place needs serious money spent on it. Had we spent more to stay there we would have been disappointed, we were not expecting five star for two star prices. Obviously the Grosvenor is catering for a market but needs to embark on a bit of maintenence.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gill541208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ilfracombe hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The warmest of welcomes, attentive and caring staff. A lovely well proportioned and clean room with ensuite shower room, wall mounted flat screen TV with tea/coffee making facilities. Plenty of hot water and wardrobe hangers! Good and substantial value for money breakfast and evening meals and the loveliest elderly guests ever to share some of our time with - really enjoyed our stay - just what we wanted from the rat race of London!

Room Tip: 3rd floor front - had double glazed windows, very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naaran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
479 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Just come back from a stay at the Grosvenor. It is located in a prime position in Ilfracombe and you can literally walk out the front door onto the sea front. Like most of the buildings in this town it is either georgian or victorian and the inside is dominated by large rooms and high ceilings. Yes it is a bit tired in places but it is well decorated, spacious and spotlessly clean. The dining room seats about 50 and the foyer and lounge has comfortable chairs and settee's. There is some form of entertainment most nights ( a guitarist and music request show) when we were there, and the entertainment is basic. However it would appear that alot of the guests come in on coach trips and by the very nature are middle aged or elderly, and this seems quite acceptable to them. Drinks are reasonably priced (£1 for a bottle of water. £3.70 for a pint of cider) and the food is again very reasonable, and you can get a three course meal for about £15. We had roast lamb one night and cod mornie the next. The food was well cooked, hot and delicious, and the breakfasts were also great! In my opinion the hotels greatest asset is it staff. They are all very very friendly, curteous, helpful and good at what they do. When you stay there you have to remember that this is a small seaside hotel that gives a good product for around £49 per person per night including breakfast. You are not paying Ritz prices so what you get in my opinion is really good value for money. Also I can't believe I have read revues that complain about the seagulls! What do people expect to find at the seaside?

Room Tip: The lift stops at the third floor so if you are old , disabled or just unfit then get a room on floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank geronimo1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

we stayed three nights [two via groupon] and paid for one at normal rate. having read some scathing reviews from
posters we were a bit dubious about booking,however the only downside was parking which with a little planning we overcame.the management and staff were curtious ,friendly and helpful. room was spacious ,food was excellent and
what some called a rabbit warren of stairways i would call quirky,mealtimes were manic but the staff coped superbly,
would we revisit ,certainly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dannyjknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were bought a groupon voucher by as a present - and lord knows why we booked this hotel! it was for 2 nights - away from the kids! had to hike to our room, and when we got there we were gobsmacked! not only was it run down - but it stank of cigarette smoke. The bathroom was very grubby looking - with no shower. I refused to take a bath in it. Another revelation was seagulls don't sleep - the first night was kept awake by the bloody things - second night was fine - I bought some ear plugs! breakfast the next morning was spent on our phones trying to find another hotel. The only meals we had were breakfast which was fine. The staff were friendly, although one young waiter did not seem to have any comprehension of what tomato sauce was. All I can say is im glad we didnt pay full price - although the oldies seem to like it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nighthawk79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My wife and have just spent a couple of nights at this hotel and quite frankly had no problem with it. Yes, it's a bit run down and yes, it caters for coach trips for the elderly and yes, the evening entertainment is cheesy but the place has character! Our room was basic but it was clean and functional. The breakfast was as good as we expected and the staff couldn't have been any more polite, even under pressure and while dealing with the odd 'moaners' who seemed to expect preferential treatment (you get them everywhere!). Perfect for a base while you explore the beautiful Devon coastline. Bottom line is if you expect 5 star treatment, go to a 5 star hotel! We certainly wouldn't have a problem returning there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drummie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.1 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
261 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
322 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Bay Hotel

Property: Devon Bay Hotel
Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AF, England (Formerly Grosvenor Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Devon Bay Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Devon Bay Hotel. Its Stately Victorian exterior fully compliments the stylish and characteristic interior, blending old and new styles to create a unique and exciting environment. Our large and airy restaurant looks out to the front of the hotel, serving freshly prepared breakfast and dinner every day. We also have a large bar and comfortable lounge areas, which are great to sit and enjoy a drink and relax. The Devon Bay Hotel is ideally located in the bustling centre of Ilfracombe, minutes from the cliff tops and beautiful sandy beach, meaning guests have everything they need within walking distance. Our aim at Devon Bay Hotel is to ensure that your stay with us is pleasurable. You will always receive a friendly warm welcome, whether you are visiting us for lunch or dinner, a function or an overnight stay. Whether business or pleasure, why not make the Devon Bay Hotel first on your list of new venues to visit - we look forward to welcoming you. Step outside and you are on the Promenade with its many shops, cafes, and the Landmark Theatre complex. Open all year around, we offer Christmas and New Year Packages and our nightly entertainment ensures that your visit to the Devon Bay Hotel will be enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Devon Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Hotel Ilfracombe
Devon Bay Hotel Ilfracombe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing