We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic House”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Hot tub in pool room
View of house from the bottom lawn
Lounge with 60' flat screen Sky tv and dvd
Luxury kitchen, with granite worktops and marble flooring and 7 burner range
Kitchen seating area
Kitchen
Lounge
Conservatory, perfect for relaxing on a sunny day
One of the family bedrooms - also has cot not shown in photo
Games room with full size snooker table and dart board
Plenty of toys to keep the little ones occupied
View from the top of the garden
The alpaca in their enclosure in the grounds of the Grange
Meet Ben, Hector, David, Sammy and John!
Ilfracombe Harbour, just 10 minutes walk from the house
Local beach, Saunton Sands
Kite surfing at Saunton
Newly refurbished pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Ilfracombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gerry F
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic House”
Reviewed August 10, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Have just arrived home after a wonderful stay at Bicclescombe Grange, there were 13 of us celebrating a 70th birthday with grandparents, children and grandchildren with ages from 3 years to 70 years. The house is immaculate with everything you could possibly want on a family get together . If the weather is iffy you have the indoor pool and hot tub for recreation, as well as snooker , darts and table tennis. You have 25 minute walk into Ilfracombe Town and Harbour where there are lots of things going on, and beautiful beaches within 15 minute drive.
We stayed one week but wished it was longer, the owners Allison and Andrew who live close by were very helpful with tips and nearby locations to visit.
Hope to visit again in the near future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2018
Thank you for your review, Gerry. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you for your next family celebration. Allison & Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMitch7...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed February 8, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Wow, first thing that strikes you is the size of the place, it’s massive. All of the rooms are furnished and decorated really nicely, all very comfy and cosy. All of the amenities you could need in the kitchen are catered for, the barbecue was a nice touch, the alpacas were well enjoyed by the animal lovers in the group. The pool and hot tub are just immense. The dining room, master TV, kitchen, garden area, it’s all just incredible.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 9, 2018
Thanks Mitch, really glad you liked the house. Hope to see you again in the future.
Andrew & Allison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerryhugh...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great place for a big amount of people to stay”
Reviewed February 5, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
2
people found this review helpful

This place is crazy big man, we stayed the weekend just gone for a stag do for loads of us and it was great, there’s everything you need. A legit swimming pool with loads of equipment to have fun with, a hot tub, a good garden, a very big bbq, a massive dining room, kitchen is big, living room is big and there are so many bedrooms and bathrooms and small annex rooms we kept finding a new room every day basically?

There’s a real nice touch of small extras too like loads of cutlery, plates, cups, glasses which is great for lots of people and so many kitchen utensils etc for everything you need!

The house is a good distance from the high street/town centre for a few drinks out and a short drive to woolacombe which is nice (probably really nice in summer!)

My only 1 small issue was this shower in the main upstairs bathroom wasn’t very good but there were so many other showers about it really didn’t matter at all and if that’s really the only issue I can point out then you know it’s legit.

The TV in the main living room is massive too, we’re all NFL fans so watching the Superbowl on that thing was epic! Having sky q in other rooms like kitchen etc was a real nice touch too!

The house seems really kid friendly too, cots in some of the rooms and loads of kids toys in storage, I HAVE KIDS and this would be an epic place to go with other friends and their kids for time too!

Thanks a lot!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 7, 2018
Thanks for your lovely review, Jerry. Glad you all enjoyed your stay. There’s definitely a knack to that shower in the main bathroom - it needs to start on cold in order to maintain the water pressure before turning up to hot. We’ll have to put a sign up! Glad everything else was ok and we hope to see you all again another time. Andrew & Allison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben N
1 review
“Fantastic house with everything there being of the highest quality - made Christmas perfect”
Reviewed January 3, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

This is a fantastic house that comfortably housed 17 of us. Christmas was just about perfect and everyone had a wonderful time with us rarely needing to go out with the children loving the pool, some of the adults enjoying escaping to the snooker room and others relishing the peace and quiet of the conservatory. The kitchen was really very well equipped with quality equipment and there was plenty of room to enjoy the food prepared in the dining room (kids and adult tables). All in all – excellent.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2018
Thanks for your lovely review, Ben. We are so glad you enjoyed your Christmas at Bicclescombe Grange. We hope you will visit again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelOut...
TravelOutThere
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Christmas at the Grange”
Reviewed January 2, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

A wonderful Christmas week spent at the Grange over Christmas. The owners went to the trouble to decorate the house extensively (4 trees in total!!!) and we very much enjoyed our experience!

Pool is great for kids and adults to play in, Snooker room was a hit and kitchen/dining facilities perfect for large group size! Very well equipped (including 2 dishwashers was a saviour).

We also enjoyed quadbiking at KeyPitts farm.

Hope to return soon!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2018
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that your Christmas at Bicclescombe Grange was a success. We hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bean2CV
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
Reviewed November 29, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This is the second time we have been here. Great location, fabulous facilities. 22 of us and you wouldn't have guessed. The house is just perfect for a large group. We noticed the extensive work done on the house since our last visit, and this has just enhanced the already fabulous facilities.
Great pool and hot tub. Used extensively! Kitchen was the main focal point for everyone and wasn't too much of a squeeze when filled with 22 adults.
Great place to either relax (which we did) or to enjoy a party (which we did).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2018
Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and liked the improved facilities. We hope you will be back for a third visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana K
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great place for Birthday celebration”
Reviewed October 31, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

It was the swimming pool that attracted us to this property and we were certainly not disappointed. We were a group of 9 adults and 8 children ranging from 11 months to 14 years, the house had something for everyone and was very child friendly
The kitchen was a great meeting place one down side was getting round table by door as it was a squeeze to get in.
More than enough crockery and cooking utensils, however could have done with more serving dishes.
Dining room huge we put the tables into a T shape which meant everyone could sit round and still reach food in middle of table
The conservatory was the place where people seemed to gather for afternoon tea and pre dinner drinks it was comfortable and light plus once we had found the heater it was warm.
Little children loved the toy cupboard and the large TV was popular.
Bedrooms were all good except the downstairs room was very cold and the shower was need easily useable, the hot water pipes running round the shower were a danger.
The one thing that drove me crazy was the doors slamming shut throughout the house I know this could not be helped as they were fire doors but it was still frustrating. Also I think the house could have been a little warmer.
Overall a great place for a family or large gathering, plenty of little quiet corners along side communal rooms.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2017
Thank you for your review and for your valuable feedback. We'll certainly get that ground floor shower looked at as we discussed during your stay. We'll also check the serving dishes as we did have plenty! Sorry to hear you felt the house wasn't warm enough. It has just turned colder outside so we will increase the standard temperature on the thermostat to remedy this. Hope to see you back again for the next big birthday! Andrew & Allison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing