We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Torrs Hotel Ilfracombe
Ranked #10 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had a lot of difficulty trying to find a reasonable priced hotel that would accommodate my husband and I as well as the two young children, so we were extremely happy when we found the Torrs Hotel. We only stayed one night but really wish it could have been more! The owners were all very friendly and welcoming when we arrived, took our bags up to our room and even gave us the wifi password (very handy especially in a place with barely any phone signal).

The room itself was lovely, obviously a lot of work has been done to renovate. The bathroom was a little dated but seems those are on the list for renovation. There was tea, coffee and even fruit shoots for the children. The bed was very comfortable, and the side room with the bunk beds for the kids was fantastic cause we could shut the door, know they were safe but still watch tv and relax.

The breakfast was lovely in the morning. Cereal as well as a huge full English Breakfast and lots of toast, perfect for our family who love a good breakfast. Our youngest finished quickly and wanted to go play, Marie, Abu and Pam were lovely and sat with him in the living room where there were lots of toys whilst the rest of us finished. Very much appreciated!

All in all, a lovely stay and as I said before wish we could have stayed longer as we really loved it there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chelle_H90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingdon-Ward, Public Relations Manager at Torrs Hotel Ilfracombe, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Hi, thanks for your review and helpful comments. Sorry for taking a while to respond. I am up to speed with the Trip Advisor system now and working through them.
You are absolutely right about the bathrooms, every one is due for the same fabulous makover treatment that the rooms themselves have had. It was just essential to open for the season and what a season it is turning out to be. So busy.
If (and when?) you return in 2015 you should expect co-ordinated white suites and tiles to the ceiling. Wherever possible the rooms will have bath and shower not just one or the other.
It is particularly nice to be commended as a family hotel as the Torrs was always intended to be as family friendly as possible. We look forward to welcoming again any time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Torrs Hotel Ilfracombe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 124 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2014

The Torrs hotel was the perfect location for my Granddaughter 1st Birthday party, without Marie and Abu it wouldn't have been so magical, the hotel is beautiful and the food was fantastic, all the guests loved it, thankyou so much, was amazing , will highly recommend to everyone xxx

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clairefox2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingdon-Ward, Public Relations Manager at Torrs Hotel Ilfracombe, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Hi, I know that as a friend of the owners you were unlikely to give us a bad review, but thank you nevertheless. I also know that it was a good party and the five stars are deserved.
Sorry to take so long with a response. Still getting the hang of all this.
Who would have thought back then that we would be turning prospective guests away at the doors because of already being fully booked for the night?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We chose this hotel as it was very near an elderly relative we were visiting over Easter. What a hidden gem.As the previous review said they have recently redecorated and they are still tweaking here and there. We were greeted by Marie,Abu & Pam as well as they're children which immediately made us feel very welcome.The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the Harbour. We were shown up to our room(no 5) which had a wonderful view of the town and as it was sunny a sea view.The room had Tea/coffee facilities and amazing hot chocolate .The room did not have a hairdryer but all you had to do was ask and it would have been available to borrow for your stay. The bathroom was small with a power shower .Very adequate for our needs.As we were the only guests we decided to put in our order for breakfast the night before.The first day I asked for poached egg on toast and my partner a full English. There were cereals and grapefruit available along with wonderful fresh coffee and tea.When our breakfast arrived it was delicious and there was plenty of it.Toast was also served.It set us up for the day. As neither of us are big breakfast eaters,we either just had toast or asked for smaller portions during our stay .Abu was happy to oblige.We felt that if we had asked for something that was not on the menu,they would be happy to supply it for you if they could..We were originally booked in for four nights but asked if we could extend due to my relative being taken ill.That did not seem a problem,we ended up staying 8 days and felt it was very good value for money compared with other hotels we had stayed in Ilfracombe. There is a fully stocked bar and a lounge with a large TV and a Wii connected.We noticed there were also some children's toys.We did not have an evening meal due to our circumstances but wished we could have as the menu looked exciting. In our opinion this hotel would be great for families couples or a group of friends on a break.We will definitely be staying again and have no hesitation in recommending it to our friends if they are in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lilibeth61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingdon-Ward, Public Relations Manager at Torrs Hotel Ilfracombe, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Thank you for your glowing review, and apologies for taking so long to respond.
A lot is new to us as we have never run a hotel before. It seems we are getting most things right.
It is worth noting that, until a mutual friend/relative recommended us, you had no connection at all with the Hotel so it is very gratifying to be given five stars across the board. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for four nights at the beginning of April and were blessed with sun throughout. Although not yet fully opened after new management and two years of extensive redecoration we received a warm welcome from Marie and Abu Kanu to what I can only describe as a gem of a hotel. Being a typically grand Victorian seaside hotel the rooms are all huge (being the only guests we were able to see the whole hotel). All of them are beautifully decorated and, if the beds in all the rooms are as good as the one we slept in (room 3), very comfortable - and the hospitality trays are all Fairtrade (the hot chocolate is to die for). If you want modern or minimalist hotel this is not the hotel for you, but for warmth, friendliness and comfort I don't think this can be beaten. And the food deserves a special mention. Abu is a trained chef and his kitchen produces food that would not be out of place at a top starred London restaurant. Good portion sizes and a wonderful choice, together with perfect presentation and a genius for matching flavours meant we ate nowhere else in a town that does have some wonderful restaurants. The fish dishes are particularly good. Do yourself a favour and stay there.

Room Tip: Please note that Ilfracombe is a VERY steep town. The hotel is near the front (about a 10 minute slo...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hadleightraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingdon-Ward, Public Relations Manager at Torrs Hotel Ilfracombe, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you for our first review. It has taken a little while to get round to responding, particularly as all the reviews so far have been so positive.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay of course, and thank you for recommending room 5 in particular which has barely been empty since.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sympatours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enore F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 4Familienreisende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.2 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
431 reviews
1.1 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
437 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
271 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torrs Hotel Ilfracombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrs Hotel Ilfracombe

Address: Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: $90 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run child friendly hotel en suite rooms and flexible party sizes. Set in a secluded part of town within easy walking distance of the sea front and high street. Under new ownership, it has been fully modernized and tastefully redecorated throughout, while retaining as many original features as possible. It is owned and run by an experienced chef, and has a fully licensed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Torrs Hotel Ilfracombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrs Hotel Ilfracombe Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing