We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what we expected and more!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Norbury House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Norbury House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
1 review
“Exactly what we expected and more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

Firstly apologies for writing so late!... I dont really know where to start! The converted house was beautiful, the very personal touches made the place feel very homely. The owners Adam and Paula were extremely friendly and couldnt do enough for us, on arrival we were issued a map of the local area and places of local interest, restaurants etc were all drawn on for us. Prior to arrival i contacted the hotel via email and explained that during the stay it was my partners birthday and would they be able to place some balloons in our room, i received a very quick reply saying that this would be no problem and if i required anything else just to let them know.

We stayed in Room 8 (i think?!) it was on the top floor and had a huuuuuge bed. The room was very well decorated and had everything you could have needed! (and was also decorated in balloons and streamers!) The en suite was very presentable and the whole room was very clean. No problems at all!

The breakfast was lovely, all freshly cook and we even made slight ammendments to our dishes and nothing was ever was too much trouble, everything was cooked and prepared by Adam and Paula themselves.

The rest of the hotel was also very presentable and clean with a lounge, kitchen etc, the mini grand piano in the conservatory looked brilliant

We ate at a recommended restaurant called 'Clarets', highly reccommended! It looks nothing from the outside but inside its much bigger than it apears and the food was fantastic!

The only down side to the trip was the weather, but we still enjoyed our stay very much and we'd like to thank Adam and Paula for a lovely stay and for being so friendly. Nothing was ever any trouble. They did everything so well and so effortlessly. The personal touches in the hotel make it and i can't do anything but praise them both and their hotel.

We definately would like to go there again.. fingers crossed the weather may be better!

Thanks both...and not forgetting Bovril!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JdvWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    36
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
60
163
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

Paula and Adam the onwers made us feel very welcome indeed, and despite the weather we had a enjoyable great stay. we had a huge spacious room with a great view of ilfracombe. short walking distance to town center. superb breakafst served with a smile. we would definatley recommend to fellow couples looking for a relaxed atmosphere and comfortable surroundings. well done Paula & Adam

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coolerpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2009

Fantastic victorian house thats been lovingly converted into a great B&B by Adam & Paula. Very friendly welcome, lovely room, great service and delicious breakfast! A great coastal walk can be accessed from the back garden and takes in some great sites. We walked all the way along to woolacombe and it was definitely worth the effort. The house is an easy 10 minute stroll down to the harbour so is well located. Bovril the dog has to get a mention as he was gorgeous!! definitely worth a visit and good value for money - we would recommend it

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine3227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend --Essex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

Warm Welcome from Adam on arrival
Adam pointed out all the local attractions, beaches and restaurants which was a great help.
Our room (Room 7) top of house was very spacious, plenty of light and great view over Ilfracombe.
Breakfast cooked by Adam was great, full English, loved the different mushrooms.
Will defiantly go back to Norbury House. Highly recommended to everyone including families.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GemmaSouthend_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

Was very impressed with Adam and Paula, leaders in the new boutique B & B market and one of the good things emerging from the credit crunch. The house is well located for views, a quick walk into town and the coastal path which runs from behind Norbury House. The house is a tasteful combination of Victorian era meets modern chic, but never crosses the line into any pretentions. Adam and Paula are friendly, professional and very efficient and I knew it was no accident that they knew what they were doing - they run a B & B school, which I'd go to if I was going to open one up.

The house was spotlessly clean, I was very impressed that I never had to ask for sheets and towels to be refreshed - they just were! Paula is a great cook and breakfasts isn't just bacon and eggs it's a menu equal to any fashionable Soho breakfast haunt. We loved the fact they pimped out their dog 'Bovril' who took us for a walk to Lee and back.

Ilfracombe has none of the British 'kiss me quick' tackiness. Charming - and we found loads to do.Gorgeous walks, great restaurants, good local cinema showing all the latest releases. On Wednesdays at a nearby farm the famous sheep dog, 'Mist' puts on a display which is not to be missed! (This dog has his own books and TV show.)

If any could be improved on it would be great if P & A could arrange a masseur/beautician for treatments in the hotel and have an agreement with a local gym/spa for guests to use on a daily basis. So us media loveys' could really have our London comforts.

Highly recommend this place and will go.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miquelon332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

On arrival Paula gave us a very warm greeting and we were offerred a drink as soon as we arrived which was a lovely touch after a long journey. Paula kindly informed us of some local attractions and advised us on the best places to eat in the evening and even booked a table for us. The bedroom was clean and comfortable with complimentary bottled water on the first night. The decor was modern and contemporary with a real boutique feel. There was plenty to eat at breakfast with a fantastic choice. The cooked breakfasts were beautifully cooked by Paula and it all tasted so fresh. Bovril the labrador is friendly and you can even take him for a walk along the coastal path.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel as it was so relaxing and Adam and Paula were absolutely fantastic. I could not fault any aspect of our stay!! Will definitely be returning and have recommended it to friends!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Birdola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

We had a fantastic stay at Norbury House. We had a very warm greeting and were offerred a drink as soon as we arrived which was a lovely touch after a long journey. We were welcomed into a light and contemporary lounge area where Adam kindly informed us of some local attractions and advised us on the best places to eat in the evening. The bedrooms were clean and comfortable with complimentary bottled water on the first night and DVDs to keep us entertained! The decor was modern and contemporary with a real boutique feel. There was plenty to eat at breakfast with a fantastic choice. The cooked breakfasts were beautifully cooked by Paula and it all tasted so fresh.
An added bonus was taking the labrador, Bovril for a morning walk along the coastal path to the village of Lee. It was a great work out for both of us and Bovril! He was so much fun and was like our guide taking us to the village!
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel as it was so relaxing and Adam and Paula were absolutely fantastic. I could not fault any aspect of our stay!! Will definitely be returning and have recommended it to friends!

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LondonCat76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1.0 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
1.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbury House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbury House Hotel

Property: Norbury House Hotel
Address: Beechwood Hotel Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Norbury House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Norbury House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbury Hotel Ilfracombe
Norbury House Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing