We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding quality, not bettered in the West Country”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Norbury House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
stoke-on-trent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Outstanding quality, not bettered in the West Country”
Reviewed July 24, 2011

From the moment you arrive at Norbury House you know you are in the right place. The hosts Paula and Adam stop at nothing to provide you with a break to remember. The welcoming Tea/coffee and biscuits are just a taster of the fantastic service to follow. Even the gorgeous dog Bovril makes you feel at home. The rooms and decor are a breath of fresh air, they are very stylish indeed.
When you go down for breakfast your tastebuds are in for a treat. The breakfast is by far the best we have had over the years. Paula and Adam make you feel like friends and it is genuine, they really know how to look after you. My strong advice is to look no further than Norbury House, you will struggle to find better.

Room Tip: Everyone is catered for, whether they be singles, couples or families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnorourke62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    36
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
61
163
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Had a short break here en route to visit family in Plymouth. Norbury House is a great B&B and Adam and Paula are excellent hosts - friendly and helpful without asking/giving too much information. Our room, on the second floor, was spacious and comfortable with a nice ensuite - the shower worked perfectly, contrary to some comments I've read.
Breakfast was excellent - a good choice and good quality food. Adam recommended restaurants to us and was happy to book tables too.
The location was perfect - lots of free, safe parking on the road if you don't want to negotiate the car park, an easy walk down into the town (and the walk back uphill provides some necessary exercise after all that good food!) and the coastal path is just out the back entrance to the garden.
Enjoyed Ilfracombe, even tho' it is rather down at heel in places and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youngatheart6248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We had not travelled to this lovely part in England since 3 yrs due to our new part time home in Shanghai China. Having been back we can cleary recommend Paula and Adam's Norbury House as THE TOP CHOICE in that whole area. There you have everything from seaviews, good restaurants, good beaches close by and also these awesome drives through the exceptional landscapes around this gorgeous Hotel. Congrats to Paula and Adam to achieving this! ...and we will always be back...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shimao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2011

the guest house was fantastic in every way, lovely hosts, good breakfast and brilliant standard of bedroom.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unders1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed here in June after travelling from Australia. We had photos in our planning folder of Norbury House, Ilfracombe Harbor and Bovril (the gorgeous Labrador). We were expecting something special and we certainly got it!
From the minute Paula welcomed us we felt at home. Our room was lovely, overlooking the sea and Ilfracombe, clean, bathrobes on the door and flat screen TV ( a blessing for Wimbledon!)
Breakfast in the morning was fabulous with fresh fruit and great hot meals cooked to order. Adam was a great host and even booked a meal for us in town at a great seafood restaurant he recommended.
After breakfast we were trusted to take Bovril for a walk along the cliffs (off lead!) Actually he led us and waited if we were dawdling a bit to take in the beautiful views then made sure we got back home.
We would be back in an instant, it was great. Thanks Paula, Adam and of course Bovril.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee_and_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I stayed here in May with my family and we all loved it! The hotel is wonderfully decorated and clean. The room we stayed in (number 5) had a beautiful view over Ilfracombe. The bed was really comfortable and ameneties in the hotel were very good. Breakfast in the morning couldn't have been better, there was lots of choice and everything was fresh. The owners are really nice and friendly and nothing was too much of a trouble for them. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone travelling to Ilfracombe.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RvaSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2011

In Ilfracombe for our son's wedding at the Tunnels Beaches and took all the rooms at Norbury House for 3 nights. Guests all family, with an age range from 26 to 83. A very warm welcome was followed by excellent service throughout our stay. The owners Paula and Adam are so warm and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. All guests were made to feel very comfortable and it felt like you were in your own home. The hotel has so much character with many period features and the rooms are delightful. The view of Ilfracombe from the lounge is brilliant. The breakfast choice is superb and the full English that I had every day (!) was delicious. Norbury House would be my first choice if I returned to Ilfracombe. Finally, Bovril the black labrador was beautiful and perfectly behaved.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaterhamJacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1.0 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbury House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbury House Hotel

Property: Norbury House Hotel
Address: Beechwood Hotel Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Norbury House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Norbury House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbury Hotel Ilfracombe
Norbury House Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing