We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful relaxing break”
Review of The Collingdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Collingdale
Ranked #2 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Llanelli, Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A delightful relaxing break”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I had the good fortune to find this gem of a hotel and are so glad we did.Everything about it was perfect for our stay from the location with stunning views across the harbour to the tasteful decor and high quality produce in the delicous breakfast.The quaint harbour is a mere five minute walk down a picturesque lane complete with fishing boats and lobster pots I cannot recommend the Collingdale highly enough and look to return for a longer stay very soon Rob and Wendy a

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobnWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    63
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
56
205
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Very hospitable hosts, helpful and friendly. Lovely room with a sea view! I had a very good night's sleep and Sharon very kindly passed on the makers of the duvets and pillows to me as, being hypoallergenic, they suited me perfectly! Delicious breakfast! Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from a short break from Collingdale and l must say we had a wonderful time,Sharon & Darly have a lovely guest house they are great hosts,the room was spotlessly clean and well furnished the breakfast was cooked to order it was excellent,once again thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tregella15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed overnight before a trip to Lundy - early breakfast not a problem and was excellent. Room was comfortable with lovely fluffy, soft towels and both Sharon and Daryl were warm and friendly hosts. Sharon recommended and booked us into a local restaurant where we had a superb meal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My stay got off to a great start - having arrived far too early I was given the most friendly welcome. The location is perfect - positioned not far from the High Street yet with the quick 'back entrance" that takes you down to the Harbour in minutes. Beautiful views of the harbour and Verity. The rooms are clean and comfortable, generous provision on the drinks tray in the room, the breakfast excellent and all in all a really good place to stay. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I visited Collingdale for a 2 night stay this month.
Without any doubt,this is the "Best" Hotel I've ever visited.
The hosts, Sharon & Darryl are extremely friendly & welcoming.Nothing was too much trouble.Sharon was very helpful/knowledgable about Ilfracombe/Lundy.
Lovely,warm,clean room.The drinks tray was superb,with bottled water & local tea.
Morning breakfast is fantastic,spoilt for choice,lovely sausages & mushrooms. You can eat your breakfast with a lovely sea view, in a wonderful decorated dining area.
I can see the hosts have done so much to make their guests welcome/comfortable.
Thank you Sharon/Darryl for a pleasent visit,I will see you again in 2014 on my way to Lundy.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

After a trip to Lundy we arrived at the Collingdale and Sharon welcomed us by name, a nice touch. The room was small, pretty and comfortable with a wonderful view of the harbour and sea. The bed was very comfortable and the choice of breakfasts was excellent with poached egg and smoked haddock a special treat, as well as the tasty full English,cooked to perfection. Upstairs from the breakfast room has a very welcoming lounge with comfortable sofas and TV and next door is a cosy intimate bar. The location of the hotel is excellently placed for discovering Ilfracombe and the harbour and as we did, Lundy.

Room Tip: They have no swimming pool but I couldn't remove the one dot and didn't want to give a terri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.1 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 53 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.9 mi away
Epchris House
Epchris House
#8 of 53 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Collingdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collingdale

Property: The Collingdale
Address: 13 Larkstone Terrace, Ilfracombe EX34 9NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Collingdale 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Collingdale is an AA 4 star rated Victorian guesthouse, and are proud to have received an AA Breakfast Award. Beautifully situated directly on the South West coastal path, with miles of uninterrupted views from our balcony view rooms across the harbour, Damien Hirst's statue 'Verity' and magnificent cliff top scenery of Hillsborough Nature Reserve. We are just a few minutes walk to the beach and the beautiful historic harbour with its excellent selection of restaurants, shops, cafes and galleries and the ferry to Lundy Island. The town centre, Landmark Theatre and famous Tunnels Beaches are also within easy walking distance. Furnished to a high standard throughout with a cosy bar and an elegant dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Collingdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collingdale Hotel Ilfracombe
The Collingdale Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing