We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The Collingdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Collingdale
Ranked #2 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
glos
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Collingdale which was an ideal location for exploring Ilfracombe and doing coastal walking. Very friendly welcome and lots of useful information on the area, including good places to eat in the evenings (lots of good restaurants in the town to suit all tastes). The rooms are very clean, comfortable and spacious and the breakfasts were excellent - freshly cooked and friendly service. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    63
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
56
205
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
2 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed two nights. The welcome was warm (despite three lots of guests arriving at the same time). Sharon made me feel at home immediately. Very well located for the coast path or for just walking into town. Quiet comfortable, spacious room with decent en suite. All very clean. Fantastic views over the harbour. Can't fault it and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We booked a short stay (3 nights) at the Collingdale and received a very warm welcome ! Sharon had excellent knowledge of local places of interest, walks and where to eat etc. The double room was very clean with the most comfortable bed & pillows! We had a sea/harbour view which was superb. Breakfast was amazing each day with a huge choice and cooked to perfection! The hotel is located in walking distance for the town centre and harbour with the amazing statue of Verity by Damian Hirst. Parking was free also outside the hotel. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Sea/Harbour view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Collingdale is an excellent B&B. A warm reception upon arrival, the rooms are clean and a good size, and the views are amazing (not to mention the breakfast!). A great location with plenty of good walks nearby. At the end of these walks you'll usually find a tea room where you can indulge in the local produce (all very fresh!). Whether for a couples retreat or a family holiday the Collingdale in Ifracombe will cater to your needs.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fletcher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Wales uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Booked over phone,very friendly and helpful,booked a double and family room only for one night ,rooms lovely ,very clean decor very nice in keeping with the property,the owner very helpful ,breakfast and service excellant .it was a pity that due to circumstances we arrived late and left to travel home straight after breakfast that we didn't see that much of the resort,but it s in an ideal place to see everything.we will go back again ,and alo the prices were good.

Room Tip: Family room on ground floor very good,we had a sea view on top floor,lovely,but a lot of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamelaNewportWalesuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at the Collingdale for a weekend. We had a warm welcome with a complementry bottle of wine for our stay. The view is amazing and I can definitly recommend the full Devon breakfast.
The Location is ideal to walk to the harbour and the town center. Lots of recommendations for good restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reisender4631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Hubby,son and myself have just returned from north Devon what a wonderful place to stay. Clean comfortable, friendly and the breakfast !!!!! We shall be back. Location could not be better family room is a family room with a proper single bed which makes a change .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann_Marie749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.1 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 53 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.9 mi away
Epchris House
Epchris House
#8 of 53 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Collingdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collingdale

Property: The Collingdale
Address: 13 Larkstone Terrace, Ilfracombe EX34 9NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Collingdale 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Collingdale is an AA 4 star rated Victorian guesthouse, and are proud to have received an AA Breakfast Award. Beautifully situated directly on the South West coastal path, with miles of uninterrupted views from our balcony view rooms across the harbour, Damien Hirst's statue 'Verity' and magnificent cliff top scenery of Hillsborough Nature Reserve. We are just a few minutes walk to the beach and the beautiful historic harbour with its excellent selection of restaurants, shops, cafes and galleries and the ferry to Lundy Island. The town centre, Landmark Theatre and famous Tunnels Beaches are also within easy walking distance. Furnished to a high standard throughout with a cosy bar and an elegant dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Collingdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collingdale Hotel Ilfracombe
The Collingdale Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing